Jump to content


Photo

Loud Sammy Drive


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Racing.Ray

Racing.Ray

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 December 2006 - 06:31 PM

Hi!
I've been wondering if it is normal that the Sammy is quite loud when reading Backup Discs in 4.2a...

#2 the soul poet

the soul poet

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 December 2006 - 06:43 PM

QUOTE(Racing.Ray @ Dec 19 2006, 05:38 PM) View Post

Hi!
I've been wondering if it is normal that the Sammy is quite loud when reading Backup Discs in 4.2a...


If it is louder than your originals then it may be bad media, what do you use and how was it backed up?

A little more information when you post will help alot. Try 4.2B if you feel it's too loud, I was always a 4.2A user until recently. I decided try it for quieter, you don't get too much difference in speed.

I use Verbatim media burned at 2.4x using a LG DVD -RAM drive. tongue.gif


#3 Racing.Ray

Racing.Ray

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 December 2006 - 06:48 PM

Sorry, I use 2.4x Verbs with a Pioneer 111D.
Since I'm a bit unhappy with the long loading times already (Are backups slower than Originals?), I decided to stay with 4.2a, since I don't have any incompatibility issues which would force me to use 4.2b.

#4 cerealkillajme

cerealkillajme

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Den
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 December 2006 - 06:53 PM

Yeah backups normally take slightly longer to load than originals. Quiet mode isn't just for incomptiblilities, I've always ran quiet mode because I like it, the drive noise bugs the shit outta me. Also most people that use quiet mode don't use it cause thier backups don't work in loud mode.

#5 Racing.Ray

Racing.Ray

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 December 2006 - 06:55 PM

So is the speed difference very noticable? for instance instead of waiting 5secs it would take ten?

#6 cerealkillajme

cerealkillajme

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Den
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 December 2006 - 06:58 PM

No, more like 1-2 seconds extra per loading time. If it normally is 5 seconds to load it would be 6-7 normally on a backup. Not very noticable.

#7 Racing.Ray

Racing.Ray

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 December 2006 - 07:02 PM

Okay I'll flash to 4.2b then, thanks for the help guys!

Or should I go 5.0b? huh.gif

#8 cerealkillajme

cerealkillajme

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Den
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 December 2006 - 07:20 PM

5b, might as well update to x5 FW while your at it.

#9 Racing.Ray

Racing.Ray

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 December 2006 - 07:30 PM

weird...
mtkvia crashes when i try using it with the hacked 5b

-loaded 0800, then removed disc and switched off 360
-created bootfloppy with hacked 5b and mtkvia (using via 6421 pci chipset)
-booted off disc, turned on 360 and started flashing with "mtkvia w /m xtrem50b.bin"
-it gets hooked at "Port dc00, Master/Slave: a0"

Any ideas?

#10 the soul poet

the soul poet

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 391 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 December 2006 - 08:47 PM

QUOTE(Racing.Ray @ Dec 19 2006, 06:37 PM) View Post

weird...
mtkvia crashes when i try using it with the hacked 5b

-loaded 0800, then removed disc and switched off 360
-created bootfloppy with hacked 5b and mtkvia (using via 6421 pci chipset)
-booted off disc, turned on 360 and started flashing with "mtkvia w /m xtrem50b.bin"
-it gets hooked at "Port dc00, Master/Slave: a0"

Any ideas?


I have MS28 so all could be different I tend to unplug the sata lead from the pc and then plug it back in and it usually starts flashing.

#11 Racing.Ray

Racing.Ray

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 December 2006 - 09:20 PM

Okay I got it all sorted out... After trying over and over again it miraculously worked again. Booting up I got an E66 though, so I followed the "hex sm82 to sm52"-trick and reflashed, and it worked like a charm! smile.gif

Thanks again yall for your help! 5.0b is running perfectly, nice and quiet! biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users