Jump to content


Photo

I've Got My First 78


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Textbook

Textbook

    X-S Hacker

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,552 posts
  • Location:Near Flint, Michigan
  • Interests:Xbox and Computers
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 09:52 AM

Well hello everybody. It's been a long time since I've been the one asking for help and not giving it instead. This hasn't been much fun the last two nights.

So, I got my first Hitachi 0078FK drive to play with, and I expected no problems at all. I was going to be using my MSI K8T Neo-V with onboard VIA VT8237 chipset. I had read through the 78 thread and have seen people that have used this chipset to flash their drives. I had used this same chipset on all the other Xbox 360 drives with no problems at all. Slax 1 even worked with it!

The first thing I try has nothing to do with my motherboard at all. I wanted to see if my SATA > USB adapter would work or not, because so far nobody has been able to get the X360USB or generic SATA > USB adapters working. So, I hook up the 78 drive to my notebook with the adapter, run Slax 2, it puts the drive into ModeB just fine, Windows picks up the drive perfectly, and 360 Firmware Toolbox locks up on the read. All to be expected, and all working just how others had reported.

Switch over to the desktop with the VIA 8237. Drive isn't detected in BIOS, and Slax fails to put the drive into ModeB. Slax gives me this:
QUOTE

sata_via 0000:00:0f.0: routerd to hard irq line 11
ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xE000 ctl 0xE102 bmdma 0xE400 irq 16
ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xE200 ctl 0xE302 bmdma 0xE408 irq 16
scsi2 : sata_via
ata1: SATA link down 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 0 Scontrol 300)
ATA: abnormal status 0x7F on port 0xE007
scsi3 : sata_via
ata2: SATA link down 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 1 Scontrol 300)
ATA: abnormal status 0x80 on port 0xE207


I tried a brand new SATA cable, both ports on the motherboard, setting the SATA to SATA mode, setting it to RAID mode. I tried every version of the Slax CD, but I highly doubt that's the problem. When I do have the drive hooked up, my POST sits at detecting IDE drives for about 2 minutes before finally saying "None".

I was able to use this same motherboard for every Samsung and Hitachi drive before this. I have never needed anything else, no problems at all.

With no idea what else to do, I try upgrading my PC BIOS. I was already having problems, then they got a lot worse. A bad BIOS flash. My desktop now reboots every 3 seconds, no bad BIOS flash recovery, I have to RMA the board and wait a month before I get it back.

It doesn't end there .. I go out to the closest computer place and they only have one AMD 754 board .. an MSI with VIA VT8237. Since it's the only board they have, I buy it and cross my fingers.

Brand new board, same old problems. Drive doesn't detect in BIOS, and Slax fails to put the drive into ModeB. Tried different sata cables, both ports, all three Slax CD's.

grr.gif

#2 nibbles

nibbles

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts

Posted 22 December 2006 - 11:30 AM

Id say its a problem with your sata, best bet would be to try a different card as ive read of problems with the 8237s (the onboard ones atleast).

Edited by nibbles, 22 December 2006 - 11:31 AM.


#3 Textbook

Textbook

    X-S Hacker

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,552 posts
  • Location:Near Flint, Michigan
  • Interests:Xbox and Computers
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 07:16 PM

Well, that's TWO 78 drives now. Neither recognized in BIOS and neither put into ModeB using Slax. Looks like VIA and 78's don't mix well, or at least some of them.

#4 jabroniekilla

jabroniekilla

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,008 posts
  • Location:VT
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 07:24 PM

have you or anyone tried the VIA6421 chipset?
sorry if its a dumb idea.

#5 KIPPERMAN32

KIPPERMAN32

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 22 December 2006 - 07:39 PM

I had similar problem with same chipset on a gigabyte via board m8. resolved by powering the just 360 after the post screen on pc,boot slax 2, then reset pc. otherwise the pc would hang on detecting ide. after that, all reading and writing went as plan.hope this helps.

BTW when im mode b then, it didn`t hang on reboot after reset, just loaded up windows fine.

Edited by KIPPERMAN32, 22 December 2006 - 07:48 PM.


#6 Textbook

Textbook

    X-S Hacker

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,552 posts
  • Location:Near Flint, Michigan
  • Interests:Xbox and Computers
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 08:06 PM

I've tried that as well. In fact, that's how I've always done it is powered on right when I see the <ISOLINUX> before Slax loads. It still didn't put the drive into ModeB. I'll keep working at it, maybe try a MS25 in 0800 mode to ModeB 78 hotswap and see if that works.

I think I saw a board at the computer shop with the Nforce chipset. If I can't get this tonight, I'll probably get that.

@jabroniekilla, I actually used to have a 6421L chipset but I sold it to somebody who badly needed it. I figured my onboard 8237 was fine, it was working on all other drives, I saw no reason to keep the card when I had a nearly identical onboard. Now I wish I hadn't sold it.

Thanks for the replies.

#7 jabroniekilla

jabroniekilla

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,008 posts
  • Location:VT
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 08:16 PM

If I lived Near Flint Mich, I would bring my 6421 over for you to try it.

Edited by jabroniekilla, 22 December 2006 - 08:17 PM.


#8 foaley77

foaley77

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 10:03 PM

QUOTE(Textbook @ Dec 23 2006, 04:43 AM) View Post


@jabroniekilla, I actually used to have a 6421L chipset but I sold it to somebody who badly needed it. I figured my onboard 8237 was fine, it was working on all other drives, I saw no reason to keep the card when I had a nearly identical onboard. Now I wish I hadn't sold it.

Thanks for the replies.


My Via VT 6421 works fine with the 78 I just had to leave the tray open after I got the login screen for Slax 2 for it to show up in windows

Hope you get it working


#9 Xbox360Guru

Xbox360Guru

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 10:48 PM

I know they say the SIL chipset won't work sometimes with the 0078FK but my SIL3112a (Adaptec card) worked fine. So far, I've done 4 0078 drives with it, all 100% successful. SLAX 1 put it into modeB, slax2 didn't.

#10 foaley77

foaley77

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 December 2006 - 10:57 PM

QUOTE(Xbox360Guru @ Dec 23 2006, 07:25 AM) View Post

I know they say the SIL chipset won't work sometimes with the 0078FK but my SIL3112a (Adaptec card) worked fine. So far, I've done 4 0078 drives with it, all 100% successful. SLAX 1 put it into modeB, slax2 didn't.


Did it say anything about a bad dump or anything with the Sil

Edited by foaley77, 22 December 2006 - 10:58 PM.


#11 playedalive

playedalive

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 December 2006 - 12:16 AM

QUOTE(foaley77 @ Dec 23 2006, 12:04 AM) View Post

Did it say anything about a bad dump or anything with the Sil


Yeh ive been trying to get it to work with the same chipset on board and keep getting a bad cheksum error. What drivers do you have installed for the sata? Do you have the nforce drivers installed ect..?

#12 Textbook

Textbook

    X-S Hacker

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,552 posts
  • Location:Near Flint, Michigan
  • Interests:Xbox and Computers
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 December 2006 - 12:05 PM

QUOTE(Xbox360Guru @ Dec 22 2006, 04:55 PM) View Post

I know they say the SIL chipset won't work sometimes with the 0078FK but my SIL3112a (Adaptec card) worked fine. So far, I've done 4 0078 drives with it, all 100% successful. SLAX 1 put it into modeB, slax2 didn't.


Hmm.. Adaptec card.. I might have to pick that up at my Best Buy tomorrow. Thanks for your post, I didn't know anybody got SIL working. I guess it's worth a shot.

#13 wastedwardy

wastedwardy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 December 2006 - 12:34 PM

I've got the same 3112a card by the looks of things - mine donesn't work at all (bad checksum etc)

How'd you get it to work?

#14 foaley77

foaley77

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 446 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 December 2006 - 02:03 PM

QUOTE(wastedwardy @ Dec 23 2006, 09:11 PM) View Post

I've got the same 3112a card by the looks of things - mine donesn't work at all (bad checksum etc)

How'd you get it to work?


Get a Via card as most Sil chips won't work


QUOTE(playedalive @ Dec 23 2006, 08:53 AM) View Post

Yeh ive been trying to get it to work with the same chipset on board and keep getting a bad cheksum error. What drivers do you have installed for the sata? Do you have the nforce drivers installed ect..?


I didn't end up using my Sil 3512 as it gave me the bad cheksum error and I got 2 different keys each time I dumped the firmware I ended up using my Via 6421


#15 Xbox360Guru

Xbox360Guru

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 December 2006 - 12:42 AM

I've got the default Windows XP Drivers provided by Adaptec for my SIL3112a. I never installed the CD-ROM drivers that came with it. Of the 4 drives I've done, I've gotten the same key twice, and flashed. Maybe it's the default driver. Coule be that I have the Set PCI Priority mode set in the BIOS. I don't know why mine is working when you guys are having bad checksums.
Did you guys use SLAX1 to get the drive in modeB or Slax2?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users