Jump to content


Photo

PlayStation 3 Gets Downloadable Tekken 5


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 PS3Scene

PS3Scene

    X-S Freak

  • Admin
  • 1,453 posts

Posted 27 December 2006 - 08:56 PM

PlayStation 3 Gets Downloadable Tekken 5
Posted by XanTium | 27-12-2006 14:56 EST

 
From gamasutra.com:


Previously available only in arcade and PSP formats, Namco Bandai's Tekken 5: Dark Resurrection has been released in Japan as a fully digitally distributed PS3 title over Sony's PlayStation Store.

Running at full HD (in up to 720p or 1080p) at a promised 60 frames per second, the new version of the 7th iteration in the long-running Tekken series makes boss character Jinpachi Mishima playable for the first time.

The Dark Resurrection download weighs in at 830MB, and is available for 2000 yen ($16.80) on Sony's Japan store, and $125HK ($16.07) on the Hong Kong store. The U.S. will likely see its own version of the game appearing stateside in due time, but no announcements have yet been made.


Read More: gamasutra.com




#2 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 27 December 2006 - 10:22 PM

Correct me if i am wrong, but NO game can run at 60 frames per second on a 1080p30 tv i wish sony would stop with the bs. grr.gif

#3 epsilon72

epsilon72

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:updating my interests section of my profile
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 28 December 2006 - 01:40 AM

QUOTE(mlmadmax @ Dec 27 2006, 02:29 PM) View Post
Correct me if i am wrong, but NO game can run at 60 frames per second on a 1080p30 tv i wish sony would stop with the bs. grr.gif


I wish the bs would stop too, but I have to admit that high-definition Tekken 5 sounds pretty cool. It sucks that there's no online multiplayer support though - if they had that I'd definitely buy it (since I don't have a PSP, and thus don't have Tekken 5 DR).


#4 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 28 December 2006 - 01:47 AM

Explain to me why it's a big deal that a single PS2 game is re-released (in Japan only mind you) and able to render in HD

... isn't that something the PS3 was supposed to be able to do with the disc you already own?

#5 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 28 December 2006 - 02:20 AM

QUOTE(twistedsymphony @ Dec 27 2006, 04:54 PM) View Post

... isn't that something the PS3 was supposed to be able to do with the disc you already own?


Yes it absolutely should be something the PS3 already does, along with up converting standard DVDs and along with having a scaler capable of up converting to a set resolution and.... well shit don't get me started.

Edited by mlmadmax, 28 December 2006 - 02:24 AM.


#6 osotogari

osotogari

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 December 2006 - 06:05 AM

I got to have this.
anyone know any way to DL the jap version any tricks out, like some people were doing it on the 360 before.
this sucks the japs get all the good stuff 1st

#7 Pheidias

Pheidias

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 December 2006 - 09:33 AM

Twisted shouldn't you atleast read the topic before going in attack mode? Tekken 5: Dark Resurrection isn't a ps2 game.

And yes a game can run at 60 frames in 1080p. A game can run at any resolution at any framerate. That some tvs can't handle 1080p60 or that some cables can't has nothing to do with a games ability to run at that framerate and resolution. So stop with the BS mlmadmax tongue.gif

#8 alsybub

alsybub

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,315 posts
  • Location:South Coast, UK PlayStation3 Version: v1.0 Nintendo Wii Version: v1.0
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 January 2007 - 01:20 AM

I downloaded it and I live in the UK.

You create a HongKong account and enter your credit card details with a false address.

It's $125HK

You then add $40HK twice (because of some wierd screw that makes fail if it is anything over) and then you go to buy the game and it will allow you to pay the $45HK difference.

I have played it a surpsising amount. It's good fun if you like the series and I'm gonna grab me another sixaxis so I can kick my friends asses!

#9 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 02 January 2007 - 07:22 PM

QUOTE(Pheidias @ Dec 28 2006, 12:40 AM) View Post

And yes a game can run at 60 frames in 1080p. A game can run at any resolution at any framerate. That some tvs can't handle 1080p60 or that some cables can't has nothing to do with a games ability to run at that framerate and resolution. So stop with the BS mlmadmax tongue.gif


Good god man, you have absolutely no Idea what you are talking about. laugh.gif love.gif sleeping.gif tongue.gif sad.gif muhaha.gif

#10 Pheidias

Pheidias

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 07:04 AM

Well niether do you when you say 1080p at 60 frames are impossible.

#11 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 08:06 AM

I did not say 1080p at 60 frames was impossible I said it wasn’t possible on a 1080p30 HDTV and guess what that is all there is right now. So why would they say it plays at 1080p at 60 FPS when that is not possible on any HDTV?

Also a game can't run at any resolution or at any frame rate there are limitations to all variables. You can't play a game on your PC at 5050 by 2020 it just isn't possible at the moment. Just like you can't play a game at 1080p at 60 fps right now the technology doesn't exist yet hence it being BS.


#12 Pheidias

Pheidias

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 02:00 PM

Acctually there are lots of monitors that can handle 1080p at 60 frames no problem. You're just trying to find BS where there are noone.

But I guess somewhere in that statement they say something about that you have to play on 1080p30 hdtvs?

Edited by Pheidias, 03 January 2007 - 02:05 PM.


#13 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 03 January 2007 - 11:58 PM

You are wrong and you will never get it.

There are no 1080p60 HDTV's in existance right now and there are also no 1920 by 1080 native resolution moniters.

whatever i'm done

#14 Pheidias

Pheidias

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2007 - 07:09 AM

Heh you're funny smile.gif

And kinda stupid


#15 mlmadmax

mlmadmax

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 870 posts
  • Location:California
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 04 January 2007 - 09:13 AM

You know what fuck you

If i am wrong than post a link and prove me wrong don't start slinging names over the internet like a little bitch.

I have to take what you say with a huge grain of salt since most of your poasts are anti everything and rarely contribute to anything.

Back on topic i have played this game a bit and it is fun, worth the 15 bucks or whatever it is. Graphics are nice not quit on par with the likes of DOA but it was a lot less expensive.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users