Jump to content


Photo

Ms-28 Help


  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 04:54 AM

having a bit of a problem with flashing this dam drive, ive read all the tuts on doing it and dont want to mess with the vvc or whatever it was. i have modded both ms25 and 47d's in the past

i have a edited mtkflash file for my pc, but everytime i go into flash the drive i get the master slave thingy but when u turn the xbox on it doesnt start flashing like it shows in the tut. it just sits there and i get the should be 70 error.

can some1 tell me what i might be doing wrong? ive been tryin for hours to get this.

thanks

#2 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 05:22 AM

o and by the way it keeps tellin me 51 should be 70. everything i read says should be 80.

still lost here

#3 R.MnTnA

R.MnTnA

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 05:47 AM

Did you use the 0800 Disc?

#4 kowrip

kowrip

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:LOTS OF STUFF !
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 05:56 AM

QUOTE(R.MnTnA @ Dec 29 2006, 05:54 AM) View Post

Did you use the 0800 Disc?


It sounds like he's flashing it for the first time, so the 0800 disc doesn't apply yet.

What timing are you using ? Does the SATA line with the DVD drive appear in the MTKFLASH list before you power down the 360 ? Do you choose the correct choice, then wait 10 seconds and then turn on the 360 ? Is your SATA cable OK ? Silly as it sounds, I had been using a bad SATA cable and was confused as to why mine was hanging. After switching the cable, it worked on the first shot.



#5 queener

queener

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 06:00 AM

what chipset are you using to flash ur m28?
i sucessfully flashed my m28 with via vt6421 chipset

I think u need that chipset to flash m28. I went to tigerdirect to get the sata card, ppa inl.

i got 70 instead of 80 as well, but i am still able to flash my sammy.

#6 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 06:19 AM

im gettin closer but still same results. i have a built in chipset with my dell e510. i have mtkflash working with my ms25 drive. my coards are all good. i can see the drive in my bios when i have the xbox on before i start my pc. ive disables my ide drives and no success.

i start up my pc and go to dos mode, start up my xbox and put in samread 1234567 12345, see my chipset in slot 3 and shut 360 off. hit 3 and wait for a few seconds and turn the 360 back on, and get 00/70, if i dont turn the 360 off i get 51/70

#7 queener

queener

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 06:28 AM

did u try the 10 seconds trick?

#8 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 06:50 AM

did exactly what the 10 second trick said to do and got 00/70 because when i selected the chipset of mine my xbox was off, anfd when i turn it back on 10 seconds later nothing happens

#9 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 07:36 AM

in samread, when it askes for the serial number are you suppose to put in 1234567 12345 or are u suppose to put in the number on the back of your xbox? xxxxxxx xxxxx

and also in samread and samhack are you suppose to put in your serial insted of the on thats already in there?

might help toards my problem cause i changed the numbers to the serial on the back of my console but still nothing, going to try some other method besides the 10 second trick

#10 DrDim

DrDim

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 December 2006 - 08:19 AM

It doesn't matter, if you for example write SAMREAD 1234567 12345 you are going to get a folder in the folder backups called 1234567 and in that folder you will get a folder called 12345. But it's smart to use the serialnumber on your 360 if you are going to flash more drives so you mix up the different orig.bin for the different 360s.

#11 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 08:26 AM

thanks for clearin that up for me. do i absolutley have to add /sata to both files?



#12 telo{+}

telo{+}

    X-S Expert

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 December 2006 - 08:59 AM

I'm having an extremely similar error.

Using:

MS-28 (original firmware)
VIA 6241A
Bootdisk maker's edited MTKFlash and downloaded MTKVia
trying to load Xtreme 5.1D
ASUS P5B-Dlx Mobo with C2D

On every attempt I am getting MTK to find the Via primary drive.

If the Xbox is on before the PC the via bios screen hangs on detecting drive, then eventually fails that. Proceeds to boot.

I can load MTK just fine, If I hit escape I am getting 51 should be 70. (Need 80)

If I turn the xbox off, hit the MTK menu item, and then wait 10s, turn box back on the correct SST chip is found then it hangs at "Reading..... 00%". Never any progress.


Have tired with and without /SATA, tried SAMREAD, etc etc, have NO IDEA whats going on here!

QUOTE(Jer4251 @ Dec 29 2006, 08:33 AM) View Post

thanks for clearin that up for me. do i absolutley have to add /sata to both files?


From what I understand /sata works for some people and is not required for others. Might as well try both.

#13 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 09:15 AM

ive tried with and without /sata, ive tried with the 360 on first and turning it on in dos mode, what firmware version is everyone using? everytime i try to use the 28 as 25 i get an error in the boot maker, so i just pick xtreme51a. and in xtreme boot maker it doesnt find my sata controller so i swap out mtkflash with my edited one for my chipset.

dont know what else to do.

edit: my chipset is showing up as via 8337

Edited by Jer4251, 29 December 2006 - 09:26 AM.


#14 telo{+}

telo{+}

    X-S Expert

  • Last Chance
  • PipPipPip
  • 510 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 29 December 2006 - 09:43 AM

QUOTE(Jer4251 @ Dec 29 2006, 09:22 AM) View Post

it doesnt find my sata controller

edit: my chipset is showing up as via 8337


Do you have the drivers loaded ? And boot maker still isn't detecting ?

You have flashed other drives with your MTKFlash and chipset ?

#15 Jer4251

Jer4251

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 271 posts
  • Location:Savannah
  • Interests:360's F-Bodys
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 29 December 2006 - 09:45 AM

tried it again, its actually 8237, i have flashed 2 ms25's multiple times and a hitachi 47dj once.

i dont know what boot maker wont list my chipset.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users