• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Slapnutzz

Slapnutzz

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 December 2006 - 01:26 AM

First off.. I'm new to the xbox.. but not new in the general sense.

First thing i noticed when I opened up the 360 was the tiny area covered by the exhaust shroud.

Now.. I've been overclocking since overclocking was incepted. So I know heat.

By placing the cpu and gpu next to eachother on the same pcb they were asking for trouble. Cooling them together was a death wish. That area must get WELL over 100 degrees C more than the surrounding board. No wonder xboxes are failing. Traces, pins and solder all have different makeups and thusly expand and contract at different rates. It's not that it's a manufacturing defect.. It's an engineering defect. <<Can't be fixed unless they start using lower power cpu's and gpu's.

And the broken connection is always between the solder and trace, so it's impossible to see.

Heat gun works because it reconnects.. that simple.. but it WILL fail again.

Everybody has bent a piece of metal back and forth till it got easier and easier and then snapped. Thats what's happening to the xboxes.

My advice would be to cut the cover up and give it some real heat sinks with fans or leave it on 24/7 so it can't cycle from hot to cold..

This has prolly been said before.. Just think it's important.

#2 XxEriCxX

XxEriCxX

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 142 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 December 2006 - 01:30 AM

HAHAHAAH thats funny lol soo true but i think u can stop the REal heat on the mother board with artic sliver works likes the balls have had my xbox 360 for about 6 months only had 1 freeze soo im Knocking on wood right now lol

Edited by XxEriCxX, 30 December 2006 - 01:31 AM.

#3 Elemino

Elemino

X-S Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 547 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 30 December 2006 - 05:00 AM