Jump to content


Photo

Open Tray Error, Need To Reflash Help!


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 January 2007 - 09:24 AM

Now i flashed a 360 with xtreme 4.2 now it wont play any DVD's Original or Backups, It only plays cds, it has been working fine for a few days but now all i get is the open tray error.
I have attempted to reflash but i need to use enable 800 and because its a ms28 we use the 10 second method during this time there is no good time to insert the disc.
i can do it without the enable 800, and it says flashing and flashes the 4 banks but when i turn my xbox on after it says flashed it is as if nothuing happend and i think nothing did happen because of firmguard.

How do i reflash or upgrade to 5.2 because i am having alot of trouble with dam MS28 Drives BAH!!.

i have the balckups and i used 360sam to flash it to 4.2

#2 wolfienuke

wolfienuke

    X-S Member

  • Moderator
  • Pip
  • 129 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 January 2007 - 10:12 AM

QUOTE(timofren @ Jan 7 2007, 12:31 AM) View Post

Now i flashed a 360 with xtreme 4.2 now it wont play any DVD's Original or Backups, It only plays cds, it has been working fine for a few days but now all i get is the open tray error.
I have attempted to reflash but i need to use enable 800 and because its a ms28 we use the 10 second method during this time there is no good time to insert the disc.
i can do it without the enable 800, and it says flashing and flashes the 4 banks but when i turn my xbox on after it says flashed it is as if nothuing happend and i think nothing did happen because of firmguard.

How do i reflash or upgrade to 5.2 because i am having alot of trouble with dam MS28 Drives BAH!!.

i have the balckups and i used 360sam to flash it to 4.2

Use 0800 disk OR 10 second trick... You don't have to do both...
For 0800 method, insert Dual Layer 0800 disk (since you don't have 5.x yet), wait 10 seconds, eject disk (do not turn off power), and flash... It's that simple! Or you can just use 10 second trick if you don't want to burn a 0800 disk.

#3 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 January 2007 - 10:16 AM

Flashed Back to Original, Does Not Boot Anythnig But Music CD,
Flashed To 5.2 Has A Crack At Reading then after 10 sec says open tray
WTF IS THIS A PROBLEM WITH THE DRIVE THAT IS MICROSOFTS FAULT NOT MINE??

#4 Knasen

Knasen

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 January 2007 - 10:41 AM

We need more info here. Does it not even boot original games or not only backups ? Can you play a movie DVD and watch it ? How exactly did you flash ? Did you inject the key from the original firmware into the hacked firmware (manually or with some tool) before flashing ?

#5 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 January 2007 - 10:49 AM

V: MS28 Worked Fine No Problems
Flashed to 4.2 with 360 SAM
Worked for 2 weeks with little or no problems
Now Does Not Boot: DVDs, Orignal Games, Backups (open Tray Error) But Will Boot Music CDs
Flashed Back to Original Same Problem Only Boot Music Cds
Flashed to 5.2 Same Problem, But It has a longer try at reading.
I think its A Faulty Drive And Its Microsofts Problems and their is no way to fix it without a new drive.
Thats My Opinion

#6 mauris

mauris

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 January 2007 - 10:55 AM

Hello, I have the same problem, but for me it's a Hitachi 78..

My post here : http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=576827

#7 hlpoulsen

hlpoulsen

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 January 2007 - 12:54 PM

Hi i also have a problem maybe this is a wrong thred, but anyway.

I have an ms25 flashed it with xtreme 3.2 or 4.2 cant rememder ( it went fine, and it works), but now i want to flash it with 5.2b then when i have typed mtkflash w /m x52b.bin it says "port: d480, master/slave: d0" and freezes. Can someone please help me with that sad.gif

BTW i have onboard sata and it does find it in bios
I used xtreme boot maker 0.3.6 took fw xtreme 5.2b made a new file from orig.bin with x360sam

#8 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:03 AM

Cant Some1 On this forum help are all u all noobs

#9 Grim187

Grim187

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 January 2007 - 08:21 AM

can someone say dead motor

that's about the only thing i can think of, Cd's spin at alot slower speed then DVD and aren't as heavy, i bet if you replaced the motor of the drive it would work perfectly

i remember almost a year ago now i was reading this thread where this guy's kid put in 2 games at once and all the sudden it could only play Cd's, I'm not saying that's what happened in your case but I'm about %98 sure its the motor, i have seen quite a few dead motors (Samsung and Hitachi)

i would look around the bst or maby on ebay for one

#10 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 15 January 2007 - 06:40 AM

Is this an easy task to replace a motor, and can i rip the motor out of a normal pc dvd drive also where can i buy this motor?

#11 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 16 January 2007 - 11:09 AM

help

#12 mantagtj

mantagtj

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 January 2007 - 12:29 PM

I have a MS28 what a poo drive anyways I had 4.2 runnin on it for ages then it stopped booting here and there got open tray errors the one day I stuck one of my originals in and it said that this needed to be put into a 360!!!! I put it down to my laser there are 2 in the drive dvd and cd I think and the dvd one went to heaven so i got a new drive for 50 quid off ebay.

#13 Knasen

Knasen

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 January 2007 - 12:31 PM

If you have your key or original FW saved you could always try buy a replacement dvd (samsung or hitachi doesnt matter) , inject your key in a fitting FW and flash the replacement drive with it and put into your console. That should solve all problems related to faulty dvdrom/FW.

Edited by Knasen, 16 January 2007 - 12:31 PM.


#14 timofren

timofren

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Australia Victoria Melbourne
  • Interests:Halo Hacking & Lan Parties
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 24 January 2007 - 10:59 AM

Can i take a motor out of an ordinary dvdrom??

#15 KIPPERMAN32

KIPPERMAN32

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts

Posted 24 January 2007 - 01:11 PM

No-one here heard of the rubber band mod then? This will sure fix ur open tray errors on sammy drives.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users