Jump to content


Photo

Getting XNA Game Studio Express to run in Windows Vista


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 February 2007 - 03:27 AM

Getting XNA Game Studio Express to run in Windows Vista
Posted by XanTium | February 8 21:27 EST
 
From letskilldave.com (Microsoft's Community Manager at the Game Technology Group):


For those of you that already have Windows Vista and want to run XNA Game Studio Express on it, I have a few steps that you can follow to (hopefully) get a successful installation. I want to be clear on this though: XNA Game Studio Express is not officially supported on Windows Vista. If you follow my steps, you are doing it on your own volition and nobody can officially support you. In addition, don't send me email telling me you followed the steps and it doesn't work, or that it deleted your favorite movies or other visual entertainment, or that it made your bread go moldy, etc.. I do NOT guarantee success, I am merely offering the steps that have worked for me and others.


Check out the full instructions on letskilldave.com




#2 Xbox 360 Genius

Xbox 360 Genius

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Location:California
  • Interests:Just out of curiosity... but do people actually read these things?
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 February 2007 - 03:44 AM

So who where even has XNA Game Studio Express installed on their computers? smile.gif

#3 EvilRabidPenguin

EvilRabidPenguin

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 58 posts

Posted 09 February 2007 - 05:06 AM

I have it installed, but I'm not planning on upgrading to Vista at the moment.

#4 Xbox 360 Genius

Xbox 360 Genius

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Location:California
  • Interests:Just out of curiosity... but do people actually read these things?
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 February 2007 - 07:45 AM

Same here, I even have Vista Business, but until they have full support, I don't see the need to upgrade happy.gif

#5 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 09 February 2007 - 02:01 PM

Or Just wait for official support. I see the instructions make you login as an administrator account to install it, you might as well use XP.

#6 gamehunter101

gamehunter101

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 09 February 2007 - 09:28 PM

xna is just there to push all those little coding languages ms is making(and also to make starters who use it lazier)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users