Jump to content


Photo

Tried To Flash My Ms25 ---getting E66 Error


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 johnny666x

johnny666x

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 28 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 March 2007 - 12:29 AM

I just tried flashing my MS25 drive with what apparently was the VANILLA 5.2b fw. (somebody just told me to use some other version of the file - )...


What do i do now? I tried to run samread to flash it with the new version of it, but it seems to freeze.

Can someone please help me out and tell me how to fix this? thank you!

#2 Grim187

Grim187

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 March 2007 - 04:44 AM

QUOTE(johnny666x @ Mar 5 2007, 03:36 PM) View Post

VANILLA 5.2b fw.

no such thing

You probably have a ms25 right?, if so then you have flashed a ms28 based firmware (Xtreme 5.2 or what ever you used) and there for made your drive look like a ms28, after the fall update this is bad.

You will need to burn off the 0800 disk on to a dual layer (or use the 10 sec trick if you have a via card) and flash an Xtreme 5.2 with your key and spoofed as a ms25 (assuming that your drive is an ms25 that is).

ps use fwtoolbox to spoof the firmware

#3 johnny666x

johnny666x

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 28 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 March 2007 - 02:34 PM

yeah, i have a MS25 and flashed it with the Xtreme5.2b fw ( i didnt know that was ms28 fw - i thought the 5.2x fixed the e66 error)...

..i tried to burn a copy of the 0800 disc but i get a power calibration area error (i got that when i tried to burn a game too)......does anyone know how to fix that and/or why im getting it?? Im using Verbatims , a Pioneer 108 drive, and IMGBURN. (for the 0800 disc it also asked me if i wanted it to be put on 2 layers or just 1, what should i have done?)



hmmm....spoofing the fw? lol...havent heard that one yet sad.gif Hopefully i'll find some good info on what you are talking about so i can get my 360 back in shape smile.gif

#4 johnny666x

johnny666x

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 28 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 March 2007 - 09:10 PM

okay....you said i need to flash an Xtreme5.2 with my key....

is that file xtreme52x.bin OR there is also one called 52x-ms25.bin

And when you say i need to flash it with my key - do you mean that i just do the normal SAMHACK <sn>?? Or is there something else.....?



And when you say i need to spoof it ..... that im totally clueless on.... when do i use that fwtoolbox to spoof it, and how, etc??


Sorry about all the questions




#5 Grim187

Grim187

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 March 2007 - 11:01 PM

QUOTE(johnny666x @ Mar 6 2007, 12:17 PM) View Post

okay....you said i need to flash an Xtreme5.2 with my key....

is that file xtreme52x.bin OR there is also one called 52x-ms25.bin

And when you say i need to flash it with my key - do you mean that i just do the normal SAMHACK <sn>?? Or is there something else.....?
And when you say i need to spoof it ..... that im totally clueless on.... when do i use that fwtoolbox to spoof it, and how, etc??
Sorry about all the questions

i use fwtoolbox for everything, its a nice little prog, open your orig.bin in fwtoolbox copy the key then open xtreme5.2z.bin (z being a,b,c or d witch ever you perfer) then paste your key, click tools>spoof firmware, select ms25 and click spoof, it will give you a ok message, transfer that firmware to your floppy (usb stick, or main dir of you hdd what ever dir your flashing from) and flash it

#6 jabroniekilla

jabroniekilla

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,008 posts
  • Location:VT
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 March 2007 - 11:06 PM

do as Grim said for the f/w.
as for the 0800 disc, with 5.2 you can burn it to a single layer dvd-r. That should help your calibration problem.

#7 johnny666x

johnny666x

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 28 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 March 2007 - 11:16 PM

awesome. i'll try it out. Thanks A LOT for answering my questions. I really appreciate it.

#8 johnny666x

johnny666x

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 28 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 March 2007 - 06:34 PM

GRIM, THANK YOU!!!


I just did it!


My chipset seems to be a pain in the a$$. I have to boot up and connect the SATA cable as normal, then try it and it never recognizes my drive, so i reboot with the sata still connected and THEN it sees it (and i had to run the 0800 disc twice)


But i could have NEVER done it without your spoofing instructions. Thanks SOOO much!!

#9 Grim187

Grim187

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Yakima, Washington, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 09 March 2007 - 07:19 PM

QUOTE(jabroniekilla @ Mar 6 2007, 02:13 PM) View Post

do as Grim said for the f/w.
as for the 0800 disc, with 5.2 you can burn it to a single layer dvd-r. That should help your calibration problem.

i was always under the understanding that the 0800 and the unlock triggers where on the 2nd layer, ive burnt out a singal layer disk and tried it with 4.2 and i could never get it to work, was this changed with 5.x?

#10 Lice_01

Lice_01

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Location:New York City
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 March 2007 - 09:16 PM

QUOTE(Grim187 @ Mar 9 2007, 01:26 PM) View Post

i was always under the understanding that the 0800 and the unlock triggers where on the 2nd layer, ive burnt out a singal layer disk and tried it with 4.2 and i could never get it to work, was this changed with 5.x?


Yep, 5.x + firmware Introduced single layer support. So now even original Xbox Backups work ^^

#11 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 09 March 2007 - 09:51 PM

QUOTE(Lice_01 @ Mar 9 2007, 04:23 PM) View Post

Yep, 5.x + firmware Introduced single layer support. So now even original Xbox Backups work ^^


-since 5.0, the enable0800 is supported on SL. It seems to be hit and miss, many people have to finally put it on DL.

-Xbox1 game bup work on SL: Not the backup that were done for the xbox 1 (with xbe patched), It has to be unmodified file on a SL.

rgds,soso

Edited by sosotiit, 09 March 2007 - 10:16 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users