Jump to content


Photo

Gamecube Digital Audio?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Rustmonkey

Rustmonkey

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:Laurel, MT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 March 2007 - 06:37 AM

Ok, I've seen refs on the web about how people have added an optical out to a gamecube that features the "Digital AV Out" plug (which mine so happens to have). I have the component cables to go along with the 'cube, but have been dying for optical out (if only for less wires running from my switch box to my reciver). So if anyone knows the pinout to enable an optical out port, I'd greatly appreciate it - or if someone has a tut' that I can simply rock biggrin.gif

thanks!


EDIT: And for curiousity's sake, I suppose a Dreamcast only output analog audio correct??? It is totally incapable of digital?

Edited by Rustmonkey, 15 March 2007 - 06:39 AM.


#2 Rustmonkey

Rustmonkey

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:Laurel, MT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 March 2007 - 04:20 PM

Ok, after some more searching, I found a schematic for what I need (along with a page which describes the pinouts). Anyway, I'll need to brush up on my schematic reading abilities and see if I can find the correct chips as well. We'll see what happens... or if anyone is interested, I'd let someone build it and pay you for labor and parts... if you're interested biggrin.gif

Either way, here's a copy of the schematic along with some links...

Digital Audio = http://gamesx.com/wi...av:nintendogcda
Pinouts = http://gamesx.com/wi...ntendodigitalav

IPB Image



#3 Rustmonkey

Rustmonkey

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:Laurel, MT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 March 2007 - 05:15 AM

Well, I've found most of the components, but I'm having a hard time finding the crystal... we'll see what happens.

#4 protomind

protomind

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 April 2007 - 09:02 PM

I am interested in this project as well.....

#5 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 10 April 2007 - 09:21 PM

I managed to find the right crystal on digikey.com you don't have to use the exact same part number, as long as you use the same value and type.

I'd consider doing this but the A/D converter alone is about the cost of a 2nd gamecube, and at this point my GC has been retired to the old 25" CRT in the living room while the Wii has taken it's spot in the home theater room. Not really worth the price of entry at this point.

I'd love to add an optical port to the Wii or the DC though love.gif

#6 Rustmonkey

Rustmonkey

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Location:Laurel, MT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 April 2007 - 03:24 AM

Yeah, the price of the chip certainly is holding me back right now... just bought a house, so this has been put on the back burner for quite a while... sleep.gif

#7 protomind

protomind

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 April 2007 - 01:04 PM

Whoa, this mod is suddenly less interesting




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users