Jump to content


Photo

Can I Install The Xlink Kai Engine On My Router?


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 AngryFace

AngryFace

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 25 March 2007 - 11:17 PM

I have it running on XBMC so I am able to select games and everything from my xbox while the engine is running on my computer. Can I install xlink kai engine on my router so I will never have to run it on my pc to play? If so, what is the file called that I would need to install on my router and where can I get it? Will I be able to get online in xlink kai any time I want as long as my router is on? Will it slow down the internet for the computers in my home network? Will my firewall built into the router still protect every computer in my home network?

#2 MeanMF

MeanMF

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 139 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 March 2007 - 02:30 AM

If your router is compatible, the latest builds of DD-WRT (v24, 2/28/07 or later) come with kaid preloaded on them. Check it out at www.dd-wrt.com.

It won't slow things down any more than running Kai on your PC, and it doesn't affect security any differently either.

Edited by MeanMF, 26 March 2007 - 02:30 AM.


#3 LycoLoco

LycoLoco

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 75 posts

Posted 26 March 2007 - 04:12 PM

Also, if you decide to do this after finding out that you have a compatible router, read ever single last word in the wiki. If you screw up your router while flashing it, you'll have a new doorstop.

http://www.dd-wrt.co...D-WRT_Docu_(EN)

Hope this helps!

#4 freesafety13

freesafety13

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 April 2007 - 12:38 PM

I would like to add that my WRt54GL has dd-wrt_v.24_beta_generic on it and it doesnt have the kai engine on it. Am I missing something here.

#5 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 April 2007 - 01:45 PM

24 is still beta .. did you try 23 ?

#6 freesafety13

freesafety13

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 April 2007 - 03:59 PM

yeah, it's not on 23. Thats why I switched to v.24. I'm wondering if I need to use the dd-wrt v.24 wrt54G or GS firmware. I own a GL but it is only compatible with generic. It would be great to start and stop the engine without having to go to my pc to do it.

#7 MeanMF

MeanMF

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 139 posts
  • Location:Connecticut, USA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 April 2007 - 05:14 PM

It should be there on v24.. You might be better off asking in the DD-WRT forums: http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/

#8 freesafety13

freesafety13

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 April 2007 - 12:31 PM

yeah, I've tried their forums without any luck. And as of Fri. April 27th I cant even get onto the dd-wrt webpage, I believe its down.

#9 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 April 2007 - 03:09 PM

page works fine here .. just downloaded the latest v24 build this morning .. didn't notice if it has kaid in it yet but i'll check it out tonight ..

http://www.dd-wrt.com/

#10 sephiro499

sephiro499

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Baltimore, MD
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 May 2007 - 05:53 AM

Did they fix KAID support in v24? I have v23 and the kaid support is buggy at best. Normally after a few matches you have to stop and restart the kaid service in ddwrt since it just stops working.

#11 Reaper67

Reaper67

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 June 2007 - 07:04 PM

Do I need to have my Pc on to work

#12 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 June 2007 - 08:15 PM

not unless your router can run kai .. only the Linksys WRT 3.1 or earlier are able to .. other routers may be able to if you can flash to DD-WRT and run kaid.. www.dd-wrt.com ..

#13 hfmls

hfmls

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 424 posts
  • Interests:BENFICA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6d
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 November 2010 - 04:26 PM

i have in my wrt54g v2.2 router v24 and i have kai option, i have an option to put ports user and pass.
i activated all in router, no what do i have to do guys? do i still need kai running in my pc?
thank you

#14 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 16 November 2010 - 07:46 PM

you need to load kai on your computer to have a UI .. if your using an older XBMC build or the 360 dash with kai built in you do not need to open it on the computer. the router is the engine.



#15 distort1

distort1

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Interests:pm for info
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 December 2010 - 04:21 AM

i read somewhere that kai support for routers was discontinued, but the dd-wrt firmware still has it built in someversions. So does it still work? I tried but could not get it to work on my router.

Edited by distort1, 14 December 2010 - 04:29 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users