Jump to content


Photo

360's Guitar Hero II guitar works in Windows, Frets on Fire


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2007 - 06:28 PM

360's Guitar Hero II guitar works in Windows, Frets on Fire
Posted by XanTium | April 7 13:28 EST | News Category: Xbox360
 
From joystiq.com:


The USB-equipped X-plorer guitar that ships with the just-released Guitar Hero II for Xbox 360 has some interesting tricks up its nonexistant but metaphorically convenient sleeve. Randy tipped us off that the guitar controller works in Windows Vista, but we had to check for ourself. This image was captured in Windows XP.

Of course, we quickly fired up freeware PC clone, Frets on Fire, to see if we could manage to get these two to play nicely together. Sure enough, after a minute of changing the control configuration, we were able to rock out! Unfortunately, while Mac OS X recognized the device immediately, it failed to be detected as an HID-compliant gamepad by either GamePad Companion or the open source Xbox 360 Controller driver.


Full Story: joystiq.com




#2 mlapaglia

mlapaglia

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,343 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 07 April 2007 - 05:50 PM

i can see it now, a bunch of people standing around a laptop computer with this thing plugged in rocking out... on a airplane. haha

i dont play guitar hero, but this sounds cool.

#3 sicknasty413

sicknasty413

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,590 posts
  • Location:Central VA
  • Interests:Modding... video games... eating... sleeping... computers... and those things we call women.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 April 2007 - 05:53 PM

Cool beans.

I have Guitar Hero II...I have Vista...I should try this out!

Guitar Hero II is pretty kick ass. I suck at it..but, it does kick ass.

Guitar Hero must turn people into the biggest "Rocker" posers ever.. lol. ::sees myself becoming one::

Oh, btw, for those who don't know and have this game- There are 2 different models of guitars out in the wild. One guitar, model number: 95055, is commonly known to have a faulty whammy bar. Model number: 95065 is said to have fixed this issue.

How do you differentiate between the 2? Model number: 95055 has the pedal jack on the same side as the power/USB cord. Model number: 95065 has the pedal jack on the same side as the Mic port.

There is no way to differentiate between the retail boxes, AFAIK. The first GHII that I bought had the 95055 model guitar. On the back of the retail box, it had the model number 95055. Then I returned it and failed to find a retail box with the model number 95065 on the back of it. Giving up, I just took my chance and bought a random GHII from Circuit City. Luckily, it has the 95065 guitar...even though it says 95055 on the box...


Thought I'd share that...Not sure if it's pinned somewhere or something.

Edited by sicknasty413, 07 April 2007 - 05:53 PM.


#4 ILLusions0fGrander

ILLusions0fGrander

    third echelon agent

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Post Apocalyptic DC Vault No. 101
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 April 2007 - 07:58 PM

yeah, just picked it up at circuity coty, guy at register messed up.

it comes with 1600 MS points free at CC, plus i had a 15 off 100 so i got a datel headset adapter for the 360 controller, somehow... 89.99 + 9.99 - 15 = 75 bucks after tax :?

#5 HSDEMONZ

HSDEMONZ

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Admin
  • 12,220 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2007 - 08:46 PM

For those wishing to play FRETS of FIRE...

http://pictures.xbox...0.225-win32.zip

#6 ILLusions0fGrander

ILLusions0fGrander

    third echelon agent

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Post Apocalyptic DC Vault No. 101
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 April 2007 - 09:00 PM

QUOTE(HSDEMONZ @ Apr 7 2007, 01:53 PM) View Post

For those wishing to play FRETS of FIRE...

http://pictures.xbox...0.225-win32.zip


trying it now biggrin.gif thanks HSD

will i need specific drivers?

Edited by ILLusions0fGrander, 07 April 2007 - 09:03 PM.


#7 HSDEMONZ

HSDEMONZ

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Admin
  • 12,220 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2007 - 09:47 PM

QUOTE(ILLusions0fGrander @ Apr 7 2007, 02:07 PM) View Post

trying it now biggrin.gif thanks HSD

will i need specific drivers?


I have Vista Home Premium.. worked without a hitch. It would be nice if someone can confirm it works equally well on XP...

#8 dannyboyuk

dannyboyuk

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts
  • Location:South London
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2007 - 09:57 PM

It was instantly recognised when I plugged it into XP, then took about a minute and a half to install the drivers (presumably via the internet), and then it was installed. It recognised my Live headset as a seperate device too!! I'm just about to have a go with this Frets On Fire now, but so far it seems that XP is a go too!!

**EDIT**

I was getting no sound from my PC speakers initially, which phased me for a few moments. If you install it with the Live headset plugged in, it automatically changes your PC's main sound output to the headset. All you need to do is go to the control panel and change it to your regular sound card. But yes, once you reconfigure the keys in the Frets On Fire option menu, it works fine in XP!! Confirmed.

Edited by dannyboyuk, 07 April 2007 - 10:04 PM.


#9 foozballz

foozballz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 April 2007 - 10:00 PM

I plugged it into my computer. I'm running Windows XP 64-bit. No drivers were found at first, but it knew that it was "Guitar Hero X-plorer". After clicking on 'next' to search for drivers from windows update, the guitar installed. So, YES, it works in windows XP.

#10 ILLusions0fGrander

ILLusions0fGrander

    third echelon agent

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Post Apocalyptic DC Vault No. 101
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 April 2007 - 10:02 PM

QUOTE(HSDEMONZ @ Apr 7 2007, 02:54 PM) View Post

I have Vista Home Premium.. worked without a hitch. It would be nice if someone can confirm it works equally well on XP...



yep, plug and pray works perfect on XP pro SP2 smile.gif

#11 busbeepbeep

busbeepbeep

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 65 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2007 - 11:59 PM

QUOTE(sicknasty413 @ Apr 7 2007, 11:00 AM) View Post

Oh, btw, for those who don't know and have this game- There are 2 different models of guitars out in the wild. One guitar, model number: 95055, is commonly known to have a faulty whammy bar. Model number: 95065 is said to have fixed this issue.


Thanks for the info... I picked up a copy at Sam's Club yesterday and the whammy bar works fine. I was wondering what all the fuss was about, and seeing your post led me to find my guitar says 95065 on the back.

My guitar works on my both my desktop and laptop with Windows XP. I love Frets on Fire and the near limitless song selection.

Edited by busbeepbeep, 08 April 2007 - 12:05 AM.


#12 xbox modder 222

xbox modder 222

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 222 posts
  • Location:Sugar Land
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 April 2007 - 12:43 AM

I am running windows xp home edition with the 95065 model guitar and confirms this definately works:
To clear up the vague intructions go to in Frets on Fire
Main Menu/Settings/Key Settings/ then just go to fret one press Return(default control) then just press the green button on your X-plorer controller and repeat for the rest of the fret buttons and change the return button to the strum button on your controller and your set. Hope this helps
Does anyone know how to get more songs into this game? or how to maybe make them? any help would be apprieciated

Edited by xbox modder 222, 08 April 2007 - 12:44 AM.


#13 sektor1062

sektor1062

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 115 posts

Posted 08 April 2007 - 02:03 AM

QUOTE(xbox modder 222 @ Apr 8 2007, 12:50 AM) View Post

Does anyone know how to get more songs into this game? or how to maybe make them? any help would be apprieciated

i havent personally made one yet but song folders go into C:\Program Files\Frets on Fire\data\songs.
You can get them however you choose... ph34r.gif

#14 juan_2006

juan_2006

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 08 April 2007 - 02:18 AM

Sweet biggrin.gif I think im gonna buy this and play it on my pc, when i get a 360 ill play GHII biggrin.gif

ps: You guys should add that XP works fine on the front page.

#15 sektor1062

sektor1062

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 115 posts

Posted 08 April 2007 - 02:42 AM

QUOTE(juan_2006 @ Apr 8 2007, 02:25 AM) View Post

Sweet biggrin.gif I think im gonna buy this and play it on my pc

The pc game (frets on fire) is free. HSDEMONZ posted a DL link. You can use your keyboard dont forget





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users