Jump to content


Photo

Xbox 360 Av Cable Interference Lines


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 KboxMod

KboxMod

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 April 2007 - 09:34 PM

Hi everyone. When I power on my xbox 360 everything runs fine, but I get lines the scroll across the screen like there might be interferece. I can still play games, but the lines are really anoying. Any thoughts? Any help will be greatly appreciated!

#2 solidus28

solidus28

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 April 2007 - 02:16 AM

I have a similar issue. THere is constant 'noise' (white bars moving across the screen and sometimes the screen will 'roll'). I have posted about this issue in the past and people pointed to my tv. I have a Sony 57" CRT RPTV. I have had the TV looked at. I have had the 360 replaced under warranty twice and have tried 2 different component cables. I have narrowed it down to two things, but I'm still confused. I have a Scientific Atlanta 8300HD cable DVR provided by Bright House. It has also been replaced and I have had it connected with component cables at one time and HDMI at a different time. In addition to all that, I used to use a Pelican HD selector box, but have recently purchased a Sony STR-DG1000 A/V Receiver and am able to run most of my devices through that. THe cable box is connected via HDMI to the receiver and the receiver connects to the TV by HDMI. The 360 is connected directly to the TV via component. Previously they were both routed through the Pelican box via component video. WIth both devices connected, I get major interference on the input the 360 is hooked up and minor interference on the other inputs. If I disconnect the cable box, all is well. If I disconnect the 360, all is well. SInce everything has been replaced, I'm really not sure what the problem is, but it is quite annoying. Any ideas? Feel free to ask questions as I'm sure there will be some.

#3 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 06:12 AM

QUOTE(KboxMod @ Apr 12 2007, 06:41 AM) View Post

Hi everyone. When I power on my xbox 360 everything runs fine, but I get lines the scroll across the screen like there might be interferece. I can still play games, but the lines are really anoying. Any thoughts? Any help will be greatly appreciated!


try moving the cables or plugging into a different input. does the interference change when you move the cables around while the xbox is on?

QUOTE(solidus28 @ Apr 12 2007, 11:23 AM) View Post

I have a similar issue. THere is constant 'noise' (white bars moving across the screen and sometimes the screen will 'roll'). I have posted about this issue in the past and people pointed to my tv. I have a Sony 57" CRT RPTV. I have had the TV looked at. I have had the 360 replaced under warranty twice and have tried 2 different component cables. I have narrowed it down to two things, but I'm still confused. I have a Scientific Atlanta 8300HD cable DVR provided by Bright House. It has also been replaced and I have had it connected with component cables at one time and HDMI at a different time. In addition to all that, I used to use a Pelican HD selector box, but have recently purchased a Sony STR-DG1000 A/V Receiver and am able to run most of my devices through that. THe cable box is connected via HDMI to the receiver and the receiver connects to the TV by HDMI. The 360 is connected directly to the TV via component. Previously they were both routed through the Pelican box via component video. WIth both devices connected, I get major interference on the input the 360 is hooked up and minor interference on the other inputs. If I disconnect the cable box, all is well. If I disconnect the 360, all is well. SInce everything has been replaced, I'm really not sure what the problem is, but it is quite annoying. Any ideas? Feel free to ask questions as I'm sure there will be some.


well your problem sounds like interference within the tv...thats not a good thing

#4 RBJTech

RBJTech

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 714 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 11:41 AM

Grounding has a major influence on interference - a couple of things to try.

1. Are ALL the devices plugged into the same local extention sockets ? Or do you have one plugged into the wall whilst another is plugged into a different socket ?

The grounds should all be as close together as possible - your amp 'may' have a grouding point - in which case it's well worth connecting this to ground as well.

I believe the Xbox 360 PSU has a 'floating ground' which means it's not actually connected to ground directly - so this may have an impact, I'm not sure.

2. Keep ALL signal wires away from the mains wires - you will get mains interference @ 50Hz (or whatever US mains voltage runs at..) especially if they run in parallel with them (never cable tie them together!) Wires that cross @ 90 Degress are generally fine - but keep them as far away as you can get them ideally ...

3. RF (radio frequency) is rarely a problem on short wires, but it WILL be picked up on coiled wires - so uncoil any wires, it may look neater but you've just made an antenea to pick up RF ... wink.gif

I hope this helps ...

Edited by RBJTech, 13 April 2007 - 11:42 AM.


#5 nyczlilthug

nyczlilthug

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 11:35 PM

ive got the same problem, But myns is more complicated, my tv isnt an HDTV but it supports the HVAV component cables but when i switch the switch to hdtv my whole screen is scrambelled but when its on standard tv switch BUT still connected the way HDTV's are threw the 5or 6 HDAV cables it works but i get the scramble/wave lines slightly like the Thread starter described, i tried using standard tv setup i still got the lines and im sticking with the TV switch but with the hdAV component cables in the back? my tv does have the hd av component cables in the back but when i go with hdtv switch its all scrambelled, what i really want to know is how to get rid of those lines i tried switching my power supply wire from the 360 togo straight to the wall outlet instead of the multi power outlet i got the weird noise to go away but still getting the lines, i gotta alot of wires and stuff near my 360 maybe i sohuld try moving it out and see what happens but i dont even know

#6 aeris316

aeris316

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 July 2007 - 03:50 AM

Having same problem. I get rolling lines on the bottom 1/4 of the screen. It only happens every 10 minutes or so, almost not noticeable but enough to bug the heck out me. Using the above suggestions, I isolated the AV lines from any power lines and plugged everything into a common outlet. I also tried it with and w/o an APC power supply. I had it hooked up to a Sony receiver for audio and a 40" Samsung HDTV that does 720p. Isolating the 360 from the other wires and removing the Sony receiver from the picture seemed to help a little. I plugged all AV component cables into the Samsung TV, but the problem still persists, albeit not as much.
The problem cropped up when I added the HD-DVD drive. Thinking it was the drive, I disconnected it as well.. notta. I'm wondering if it may be something to do with the HD-DVD driver updates.
I'm thinking about offloading this 360 for a Elite, but I dunno if that will fix the problem either. Guess it could be one of two things at this point, the TV or the xbox.

#7 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,465 posts
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 25 July 2007 - 02:29 PM

I think you're all having different issues

1. Are you sure the "rolling" is not just screen tearing? Does it happen in some games but not others? does it happen in the dashboard or watching movies or just games?

screen tearing is usually when you see the image on the screen split in two creating a horizontal line where half of the image is a frame behind. So when you move side to side it make it look like the image is being cut in two and shifted to one side.

This split can appear anywhere on the screen and it will usually appear and moved up and down a bit and then disappear for a while.

There is no solution for screen tearing as it's caused by how the game was programmed.

2. using component output on a non HDTV... The reason you're seeing a gabled image is because your force feeding your TV a signal it doesn't understand. I've heard that you should switch component cables to the "TV" position if you want 480i playback out of the component leads... I've not tested this myself so I cant confirm. I do know for a fact that the lowest they can go when switched to the "HDTV" position is 480p and your non-HD CRT probably doesn't support that

3. Interference... Interference is a funny thing... it's around 100% of the time and if it becomes a problem it's usually the fault of some shitty components lack of being able to block normal incoming interferences.
Things to check

Things to check
#1. make sure you're not using shitty cables. If they're not the originally supplied cables then I'd make them a suspect

#2. did you remove any of the metal cage surrounding the Xbox 360's internals? if so... it's there for a reason

#3. do your AV cables run along side power cables for distances longer than 6 inches?

#4. are you using an AV switch? Are you using a receiver to switch AV channels?

#5. does your power cable (for any of your components) have a ground prong that has been removed, or used "adapted" to remove the ground prong from use?

#6. Are all of your devices plugged into the same wall circuit (if you shut the one breaker off would it turn off all your components)?

#7. Are you using a surge protector or power splitter with any components? Are your components all using the same surge protector or power splitter?

#8. Are you using a power conditioner with any of your components?

^ answer those 8 questions and I'll tell you what to try to fix your interference issues.

#8 davidherson

davidherson

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 August 2007 - 02:35 PM

Hi to you all. I have the XBox 360 and being an engineer by profession I thought I could sort this one out alone, but right now I am a little confused. I am experiencing "humbars" ONLY when I plug the audio cables (Red + White) into the processor. I have followed the advice (8 steps) re the earthing points as well as all the other possible causes but with no success.

My hardware is as follows:[/u]

1. XBox 360 using the cables that came default with the box
2. Samsung 40 inch LCD TV
3. Yamaha RXV459 Processor. Has all the in's and out's including optical input

Here is my fist setup:

1. Connected the XBox Y, Pr and Pb high definition outputs from the XBox directly to the corresponding input of the Yamaha RXV459 as well as the Red and White audio cables.
2. Powered everything up and getting "humbars" together with the picture.
3. Realising that this was a grounding issue I started to disconnect various elements to try and locate the "problem area"
4. When I disconnected the White and Red adio cables from the Yamaha the lines dissapeared. Great but now I did not have audio.

Here is my second setup:[u]

1. Connected the XBox Y, Pr and Pb high definition outputs from the XBox directly to the 40 inch corresponding inputs.
2. Kept the Red and White audio cables connected to the Yamaha.
3. Still getting the "humbars"
4. Disconnect the Red and White audio cables and in business without audio.

My final setup

1. Connected the XBox Y, Pr and Pb high definition outputs from the XBox directly to the 40 inch corresponding inputs AS WELL AS THE Red and White audio cables.
2. JACKPOT...but now all I have is audio coming from the LCD speakers. I want to wake my neighbour....

Possible solution:


1. Would it be worth my while investing in the optical audio cable????

If not, what could you suggest....Assistance would be deeply appreciated.

Regards









#9 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,465 posts
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 14 August 2007 - 02:07 PM

QUOTE(davidherson @ Aug 13 2007, 10:11 AM) View Post

Possible solution:[/u]

1. Would it be worth my while investing in the optical audio cable????

If not, what could you suggest....Assistance would be deeply appreciated.

Regards


if your receiver accepts optical inputs then you should definitely go that route, without question.

if you get them from monoprice they're not all that expensive either: http://www.monoprice...r...0229&style=

FWIW those monoprice cables are higher quality than the Monster crap BestBuy sells.

#10 Jupiter2375

Jupiter2375

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 October 2007 - 12:56 AM

QUOTE(KboxMod @ Apr 11 2007, 02:10 PM) View Post

Hi everyone. When I power on my xbox 360 everything runs fine, but I get lines the scroll across the screen like there might be interferece. I can still play games, but the lines are really anoying. Any thoughts? Any help will be greatly appreciated!



If the static lines only appear after 10-15 minutes of playing, you might want to check your power brick. This power supply unit is super hot that it can actually deform (almost burn) the bottom of its plastic case if you place it on the carpet while playing your game for hours. I have to open the case up and set its fan, which is attached to the top cover of the unit, in such a way that it blows right on top of the electronic components near its outlet. In my case, I think one or more of those components are either not actually meeting their operating temperature specifications or simply defected.

Anyway, with the case open and the fan blows right down to the components, the unit has a proper ventilation, and it can provide a clean voltage to the Xbox. Now I can hardly see those static noise lines.

I'm ordering a new unit now but not sure if it's going to give me the same problem again in a few months. The problem with this unit is in its case and ventilation designs. There are not enough openings around the case to allow more air to cool the unit down, and the fan is unable to move enough air in and out of the unit when the case is close. If the new unit has the same problem again, I'll have to modify the case to add an extra heatsink (one that is used to cool down the CPU in a desktop computer) on top of the existing ones.

#11 Jupiter2375

Jupiter2375

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 October 2007 - 06:00 AM

QUOTE(KboxMod @ Apr 11 2007, 02:10 PM) View Post

Hi everyone. When I power on my xbox 360 everything runs fine, but I get lines the scroll across the screen like there might be interferece. I can still play games, but the lines are really anoying. Any thoughts? Any help will be greatly appreciated!


My new PSU has arrived. Guess what...it's even worst than my old one. Now I have static noise all over the screen, so bad that I can't even see the graphics sometimes. So, the "dirty" power supply unit appears to me the source of all static issues (white dotted lines scrolling diagonally, horizontally or vertically across the TV screen) that have been going around here. At least my old works very good if I keep it cool by leaving the case open and blowing air onto its circuit board with its own fan, which is glued to the upper half of the case.

#12 Jrocker23

Jrocker23

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 November 2008 - 06:04 PM

QUOTE(KboxMod @ Apr 11 2007, 04:10 PM) View Post

Hi everyone. When I power on my xbox 360 everything runs fine, but I get lines the scroll across the screen like there might be interferece. I can still play games, but the lines are really anoying. Any thoughts? Any help will be greatly appreciated!


Im having the same problem, but i know the interference is coming from my verizon fios dvr(hdmi connection). If I disconnect the fios box the lines are gone. If I hook up my friends 360 via HDMI, I have no lines at all but when I hook up my 360 with vga or component i get lines. My 360 has no hdmi so I dont know what else to do..

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance

#13 Cliffclof

Cliffclof

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 November 2009 - 05:19 AM

Hello I fixed mine after I had plugged I into an sd projector tv using different xbox cables. It had lines and horrible quality and would not display 1080. It looked horrible but I didn't notice it until I checked here. I unplugged everything blew out the xbox and moved the power cords checked all the connections and when I plugged it back in. Walla. 1080 and beautiful. I had forgotten how it looked.

#14 cryingdady

cryingdady

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 November 2009 - 04:00 AM

thanks for shairng!

#15 under420dog

under420dog

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Location:Lake Geneva,WI
  • Interests:anything....
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 December 2009 - 10:16 AM

well in some cases noise lines dark waves means a bad cap somewhere PSU,TV,360 ect (or a leaking diode skip this for now)
i have been repairing electronics for over 25 years and still use a esd(inline cap checker so you don't have to pull the caps out)(esd is custom built rare find) to check caps inline and find brand new caps shorted,leaking or just dry....its a long process but worth looking into...

easy way of checking is get caps similar 6.3 volts 2200uf (examples) and just touch them to the caps (make sure the match up in volts and uf very close) and pos and neg are on right...the unit can be on and this will guide you into a direction of seeing whats going on,clearing the problem up a bit...then just de-solder the cap and replace it...

P.S damm KboxMod you opened up a can of worms...sort of speaking...lol

Edited by under420dog, 01 December 2009 - 10:25 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users