Jump to content


Photo

Guitar Hero 2 X-plorer not Broken - Patch Coming


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:49 PM

Guitar Hero 2 X-plorer not Broken - Patch Coming
Posted by XanTium | April 13 09:49 EST | News Category: Xbox360
 
From xboxic.com:


While Guitar Hero 2 is an excellent game, it has been plagued by hardware problems, being that the guitar's whammy/tremolo bar does not function properly. Word has just reached us though from Activision that it's not the guitar that's broken but the software.

DIY-artists have already supplied remedies involving taking the guitar apart yourself, but as it turns out it's just anti-cheating software gone hyperactive. Game developer Red Octane's official word on the subject:
"On learning of potential issues with the whammy bar on the Xbox360 guitar, we immediately began extensive testing of both the guitar and the software to isolate any issues with whammy bar functionality and the corresponding causes. Our testing identified a specific software element that may, in certain situations, cause the whammy bar to lose responsiveness. Given that this is a software-driven, an patch is being developed to fix the issue and will arrive as soon as possible via download on Xbox Live. We will confirm soon a target date for this download."


Full Story: xboxic.com




#2 troyBORG

troyBORG

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:21 PM

I dunno what people are talking about with the whammy bar looses responsiveness.

I have one of the guitar numbers that supposedly has the problem. And I have no problems at all (other then being horribly out of practice).

#3 dvsone

dvsone

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 455 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:21 PM

Only thing is it's going to cost you 500 points. biggrin.gif

#4 DanITman

DanITman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:38 PM

QUOTE(dvsone @ Apr 13 2007, 09:28 AM) View Post

Only thing is it's going to cost you 500 points. biggrin.gif


This is great.... smile.gif

I'm still laughing.

#5 0794

0794

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,095 posts
  • Interests:medicine, engineering, Jeeps, technology, automobiles, and just about everything...
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:54 PM

the patch won't cost anything...red octane has handled this problem with great integrity so far...

i still wonder why if this is a software problem that only certain model number guitars are affected AND loosening some screws actually improved the "defective" guitars responsiveness?

#6 brywalker

brywalker

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 366 posts

Posted 13 April 2007 - 03:12 PM

Too bad those that can't get on Live (no broadband) get it shoved up the ass.

Great work.

Shoddy software and scamming on DLC.

Red Octane, go fornicate your mothers.

#7 mlapaglia

mlapaglia

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,343 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 04:02 PM

QUOTE
the patch won't cost anything...red octane has handled this problem with great integrity so far...

i still wonder why if this is a software problem that only certain model number guitars are affected AND loosening some screws actually improved the "defective" guitars responsiveness?


i'm pretty sure they were joking... biggrin.gif

well either way, getting the problem fixed is free! w00t

#8 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 04:12 PM

Did they not Beta test this product?

#9 ILLusions0fGrander

ILLusions0fGrander

    third echelon agent

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,500 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Post Apocalyptic DC Vault No. 101
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 04:24 PM

QUOTE(bucko @ Apr 13 2007, 09:19 AM) View Post

Did they not Beta test this product?


it was a pretty direct port, im sure they assumed everything would go well?

who knows with these big companies nowadays.

#10 feflicker

feflicker

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,626 posts
  • Location:Scottsdale, AZ
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 04:29 PM

OK, NOW it makes sense why they didn't recall the controllers sleep.gif

#11 eatshitanddie

eatshitanddie

    X-S Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 91 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 April 2007 - 05:05 PM

QUOTE(brywalker @ Apr 13 2007, 10:19 AM) View Post

Too bad those that can't get on Live (no broadband) get it shoved up the ass.

Great work.

Shoddy software and scamming on DLC.

Red Octane, go fornicate your mothers.




Take it 2 a friends house?

#12 GhaleonX

GhaleonX

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 13 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 April 2007 - 06:21 PM

QUOTE(brywalker @ Apr 13 2007, 09:19 AM) View Post

Too bad those that can't get on Live (no broadband) get it shoved up the ass.

Great work.

Shoddy software and scamming on DLC.

Red Octane, go fornicate your mothers.


I'm sure they could offer the update on the website. The BC updates are like that, so why not?

#13 dux ducis

dux ducis

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 April 2007 - 07:01 PM

QUOTE(brywalker @ Apr 13 2007, 10:19 AM) View Post

Too bad those that can't get on Live (no broadband) get it shoved up the ass.

Great work.

Shoddy software and scamming on DLC.

Red Octane, go fornicate your mothers.


You, kind gentleman, are a poet.

#14 JustDanMI

JustDanMI

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 665 posts
  • Location:Hazel Park, MI
  • Interests:outdoors and gaming
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 April 2007 - 09:31 PM

QUOTE(troyBORG @ Apr 13 2007, 09:28 AM) View Post

I dunno what people are talking about with the whammy bar looses responsiveness.

I have one of the guitar numbers that supposedly has the problem. And I have no problems at all (other then being horribly out of practice).


Same here. I have one of the model's that's supposed to bad, but mine works fine.

#15 sicknasty413

sicknasty413

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,590 posts
  • Location:Central VA
  • Interests:Modding... video games... eating... sleeping... computers... and those things we call women.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 April 2007 - 12:12 AM

I have a 95065 [correct?]

I do not experience any problems with my whammy bar.

Launching the "Star power" [or whatever it's called] can sometimes be unresponsive...

Every once and a while my fret buttons will drop. For example- I'll just be holding down the blue one, and I'll hold down the strum thingy [for a chord]..and randomly during the chord, the button [on the screen] just goes up [as if i let go]..sometimes going up and down, up and down [as if I'm strumming]...idk, some weird occurrences.

Hopefully this patch will fix all.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users