Jump to content


Photo

Quick Tutorial: Iprep 101 / Xtreme Boot Maker 5.3 & 3.6


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#16 mysteryman101

mysteryman101

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 04:27 PM

When I add ixtreme v1.2 firmware bin file to iprep101 it says it is not a valid firmware. Is there any way around this? Thanks

EDIT: Got it sorted now needed the def updates.

Edited by mysteryman101, 10 June 2007 - 04:40 PM.


#17 Johnneke

Johnneke

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 06:39 PM

QUOTE(sosotiit @ Jun 10 2007, 03:23 PM) View Post

the cd options is NTFS4Dos so it will keep your PC harddisk active, and that is where the info will be written.

also note that some people had problems with that appraoch, not saying it will not work biggrin.gif , just some had more difficulties than usb.

-soso


Ive been looking this up and Ive read about the problems and solutions. Now my question, wouldnt it work also when using more advanced boot cd's like hirens bootcd 9.0? Is there a special reason as to using avira's ntfs4dos instead of other bootable cds.

#18 chaot1c

chaot1c

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 137 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 June 2007 - 03:20 PM

do you have the xtreme boot maker definitions with ixtreme 1.2?

#19 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 18 June 2007 - 04:33 PM

isn't the url at the bottom of post number 1 wink.gif

-good luck
soso

#20 BluRx

BluRx

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:33 PM

Can I use a Sandisk USB thing instead of a USB drive?

#21 bhar

bhar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 10 July 2007 - 12:46 AM

When i try to load the ixtreme10a.bin into iprep nothing happens at all. There is no error msg but nothing loads.

When I try another samsung bin file it also will not load. What is going on?

Thanks,

-Brett

#22 DisTreSs

DisTreSs

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 11:22 AM

Hi,

I am new to flashing but my box was already flashed to 5.3 by a friend.
I just picked up the 1.2b FW myself this time and have iPrep ready with the corresponding xml.
I have an Asus P4V800-X with 8237 southbridge and thus a matching SATA onboard controller.

As stated in the iPrep tutorial, this should be supported in one form or another:
# Via 8237
# Some 8237 will sometime appear as DUAL Standard IDE controller

However, this is not the case for me... blink.gif
When selecting custom I get the VIA bus master IDE controller as default and can also select the primary IDE or Secondary IDE. None of these are supported by MTKflash (message appears when either of these 3 is selected) sad.gif

I have nothing attached to the SATA ports at this time as my Boot Hdd (and all other Hdds) are connected to my P-ATA connectors.
Is this where things are going wrong or is it that the onboard SATA is not supported?
Do I have to connect the 360's drive tot the sata port while prepping the USB? That would not seem very logical to me...

If anyone could help, it would be much appreciated!


#23 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 11 July 2007 - 02:29 PM

is the sata even active in your bios? if so the drive should be seen

-soso

#24 DisTreSs

DisTreSs

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 07:14 PM

QUOTE(sosotiit @ Jul 11 2007, 03:05 PM) View Post

is the sata even active in your bios? if so the drive should be seen

-soso


There is no way to enable/disable SATA in bios unfortunately, so it should theoretically be 'on'....


#25 DisTreSs

DisTreSs

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 07:42 PM

nevermind... uninstalled and reinstalled VIA Raid drivers.... everything in working order now wink.gif


#26 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 July 2007 - 02:11 AM

iprep definitions v5

definition of 1.2C

#27 c33v33

c33v33

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 August 2007 - 09:09 PM

For XBM 5.3 method: I've flashed MS 25 several times using a Memorex 512 USB flash drive successfully. Didn't have my flash drive with me, so I used a Sony memory stick (the ones used for Sony cameras) plugged into an Epson R300 USB printer that reads removable media. I could boot using that & flashing worked.

#28 Ol!ver

Ol!ver

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 20 August 2007 - 06:45 PM

I'm getting the import failed message in XBM but I've inserted the new xml file and it's still not working. Using iextreme 1.2. Cheers

#29 TE1F3R

TE1F3R

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 05 November 2007 - 08:34 AM

im wanting to flash my 360 with Xtreme 53 firmware...will this XBM 5.3 method be good for this?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users