Jump to content


Photo

Restoring Original Firmware (ms25)


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 glitchman

glitchman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 April 2007 - 01:58 AM

Hi


i want to restore the original firmware on my ms25

But i encountered some problems. I read some tutorials and followed them closely. Here are the steps i took prior to flashing.

- Made bootdisk

- Copied mtkflash183c to bootdisk

- Copied orig.bin to bootdisk

My motherboard is an epox EP-9NDA3+ with nforce3. So all should work fine.

So then i connected my pc with my xbox using a sata cable

I hooked it up on sata1

Typed in dos mtkflash w /m orig.bin

Then I get a screen where i should choose a drive

1 IDE Sec Master
2 IDE Sec Slave
3 NV nForce3 Pri Master
4 NV nForrce3 Pri Slave

The first 2 are my hdd's

I have both chosen option 3 and 4 but it just wont start the flash.

The onyl thing i see is:

9f0, Master/Slave, a0

After that there is just no activity of the floppy disk or anything else

When i press esc i get an error saying port 00 should be 70 or something.
So my question is: What am i doing wrong here



#2 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 April 2007 - 02:23 AM

use xtreme boot maker to prepare your USB key / floppy

rgds, soso

#3 glitchman

glitchman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 April 2007 - 12:02 PM

I tried to use xtreme bootmaker 0.5.3 RC1 but is doesnt work



I have a ms25 but in the bootmaker menu the samsung part is disabled, the part where it says "report as: samsung-TS-H943A-ms25". Only the hitachi part it enabled. So i can only open hitachi firmware.



#4 glitchman

glitchman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 April 2007 - 12:30 PM

nevermind it works now, ive created an usb boot stick

But the question is where to put the orig.bin on the disk. Do i have to copy it in the "Backups" folder?







#5 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 April 2007 - 01:32 PM

no put it in the root
and follow the Flashing the hacked.bin in this MS25/28 Flashing Tutorial .
obviously use the command mtkflash w /m /sata orig.bin (not hacked.bin)

rgds, soso


#6 glitchman

glitchman

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 21 April 2007 - 02:46 PM

Thanks m8

but still no luck for me

I did everything you said. When im in dos i typed mtkflash w /m /sata orig.bin

Now i see the following

1 XTREME Sec Master
2 XTREME Sec Slave
3 NV nForce3 Pri Master
4 NV nForrce3 Pri Slave

Only with option 2 i get some other results than before.

It says:

Flash type: ""SST(SST25VF040)(SERIAL)"

Updating...00%

So i doesnt go any further than 00%


Edited by glitchman, 21 April 2007 - 02:46 PM.


#7 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 April 2007 - 03:04 PM

that doesnot look good, disconnect all other drive.

it should say sst39...
try port 1


you will need to use a 0800 disc to deactivate the firmguard first (if you are not using a VIa chipset)

rgds, soso




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users