Jump to content


Photo

TheSpecialist's HDDHackr v0.90 - Adds Support for 120GB Drives!


  • Please log in to reply
123 replies to this topic

#31 sbmd

sbmd

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin
  • Interests:Computer System Administration
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 April 2007 - 10:49 AM

Good work man. Thankx.

#32 autche

autche

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 23 April 2007 - 11:40 AM

$179 for MS 120 GB HDD or perhaps $259 for 2 120 GB HDD. Seems that an individual could clone his own official MS 120 GB HDD and have 2 HDD. If a person already has a 20 GB HDD, they could use that housing with the HDD clone and switch back and forth between the two HDD in the same machine with no suspected XBOX LIVE problems, right?

#33 kneehighspy

kneehighspy

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Location:usa
  • Interests:vintage console coding (vectrex, 5200, colecovision) vintage pc coding (apple ][, c64 & amiga 1000).
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 12:10 PM

well here's the drive i ordered a few weeks ago and it's the lat version:

WD1200BEVS-00LAT0


NewEgg 120GB LAT Version



#34 RBJTech

RBJTech

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 714 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 01:52 PM

QUOTE(autche @ Apr 23 2007, 11:47 AM) View Post

$179 for MS 120 GB HDD or perhaps $259 for 2 120 GB HDD. Seems that an individual could clone his own official MS 120 GB HDD and have 2 HDD. If a person already has a 20 GB HDD, they could use that housing with the HDD clone and switch back and forth between the two HDD in the same machine with no suspected XBOX LIVE problems, right?


As long as you never use both at the same time (on different machines obviously..) - then yea that sounds logical to me .. smile.gif

#35 cerealkillajme

cerealkillajme

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Den
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 02:03 PM

QUOTE(cohan @ Apr 23 2007, 09:35 AM) View Post

Can this be used to install Linux with the King Kong exploit? And will the harddrive be limited to 120gb when you format it to ext?


Once you format it to Linux it's whatever size the drive normally would be, you could already do this with the linux hack (put any size drive in you want).

#36 ThunderStruck_U

ThunderStruck_U

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 April 2007 - 02:24 PM

QUOTE(bigmac_375 @ Apr 22 2007, 10:21 PM) View Post

YESSSSSSS thanks alot specialist! now i dont have to pay almost $200 for that hdd!


I am a bit confussed here, maybe I have completely missed something. You still must have the original code from a 120gig HardDrive. So you still need to purchase Microsofts 120 then extract the key and format the replacement HD with that key. Unless I missed the boat it is unique to the HD and is differant on all of them? So you must still own a Micro$oft 120 gig drive right? Some of you are acting like you can just go out and buy a HD and make it work without this key. Am I clear on this? Attack at will!



#37 Icekiller2k6

Icekiller2k6

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 23 April 2007 - 02:43 PM

QUOTE(ThunderStruck_U @ Apr 23 2007, 02:31 PM) View Post

I am a bit confussed here, maybe I have completely missed something. You still must have the original code from a 120gig HardDrive. So you still need to purchase Microsofts 120 then extract the key and format the replacement HD with that key. Unless I missed the boat it is unique to the HD and is differant on all of them? So you must still own a Micro$oft 120 gig drive right? Some of you are acting like you can just go out and buy a HD and make it work without this key. Am I clear on this? Attack at will!



the key is floating around but like said on the second page asking for this is illegal even this post is maybe enough reason to ban me if so ^^ i'm srry



#38 ThunderStruck_U

ThunderStruck_U

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 April 2007 - 02:58 PM

QUOTE(Icekiller2k6 @ Apr 23 2007, 08:50 AM) View Post

the key is floating around but like said on the second page asking for this is illegal even this post is maybe enough reason to ban me if so ^^ i'm srry



Banning for keys, gee all we where talking about was keys.... I have alot of keys, House keys, Car keys keys keys.......we don't need no stinking keys. Soon we will be afraid to squeeze out a terd couse Gates maybe in the toilet looking up...LOL........... let me go look I need to have a movement. I would never ask for an Illegal key, the meer asking would be Illegal. .....bla bla Barf.

#39 Knasen

Knasen

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 04:02 PM

This is cool news indeed. Not that I need a bigger drive for the moment, but I guess some people do and that they are happy.

#40 BillMan

BillMan

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 April 2007 - 04:27 PM

sleeping.gif

That is great great work, however, wouldn't it just be easier to make that file and be able to download it from somewhere so everyone doesn't have too?

And no, I dont have a 360 just look'n out for the noobs

#41 dmanjohn

dmanjohn

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 517 posts
  • Location:Ajax, Ontario, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 04:50 PM

QUOTE(bucko @ Apr 23 2007, 06:03 AM) View Post

Nice, now I want to see someone build a 1TB 360 with a hard drive switch box cool.gif


This gives me a idea smile.gif

#42 feflicker

feflicker

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,626 posts
  • Location:Scottsdale, AZ
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 06:09 PM

So far the only reason to do this is so that you could buy a 120GB drive, clone it, and have a bunch of 120GB drives (of which you can only use 1 at a time)?

I guess that will be useful for some people, but for me there isn't 120GB of stuff I want off xbox live lol. I'd rather download HD stuff to my PC and stream it then have tons of HDD's laying around...

I would suspect that MS$ will eventually add some sort of firmware check to make sure the drive is "original". Don't the drives have manufacture codes, etc? The probability of them doing this is only in the 1/4 range though I suppose...

All that being said, still pretty cool that they figured this out. Good work.

#43 pholly

pholly

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 646 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 06:38 PM

QUOTE(RBJTech @ Apr 23 2007, 09:37 AM) View Post

The latest news on this prior to the 120 Gb version I believe, was that a cloned HDD SS on Xbox-Live would get banned (original and any clones). So unless you want to fill the 120 Gb with locally obtained material and keep it off Live, then I fail to see the buzz here. It's not like anybody is going to publically give away their SS - if they do then it'll be banned within hours...

The SS is COPYRIGHT because it contains a PNG of the Microsoft logo - MS were very clever here - copy it and you are copying a 'copyright' not just a series of 1's and 0's ... sad.gif


Wouldn't it be possible to copy a blank png over it or would that corrupt the ss file? Also, would it be legal to remove that png part of the file and make par files to repair the file then give those out? Lastly, would I get banned for cloning my drive when I get my elite and playing online with the clone or is this unknown at this point?


#44 zikronix

zikronix

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 858 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 April 2007 - 06:45 PM

QUOTE(ThunderStruck_U @ Apr 23 2007, 02:31 PM) View Post

I am a bit confussed here, maybe I have completely missed something. You still must have the original code from a 120gig HardDrive. So you still need to purchase Microsofts 120 then extract the key and format the replacement HD with that key. Unless I missed the boat it is unique to the HD and is differant on all of them? So you must still own a Micro$oft 120 gig drive right? Some of you are acting like you can just go out and buy a HD and make it work without this key. Am I clear on this? Attack at will!



I would like some confirmation on this as well.

#45 dmitri

dmitri

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 247 posts

Posted 23 April 2007 - 07:15 PM

QUOTE(feflicker @ Apr 23 2007, 05:16 PM) View Post

I would suspect that MS$ will eventually add some sort of firmware check to make sure the drive is "original". Don't the drives have manufacture codes, etc? The probability of them doing this is only in the 1/4 range though I suppose...


That wouldn't be wise of Microsoft.. That would lock out future hardware manufactures unless they issues a dashboard update. I think the cost savings of switching HDD vendors far outweighs thwarting 300 hackers looking to save $100..

-dp




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users