Jump to content


Photo

Any Theories On Running Xp On 360


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#16 torne

torne

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Reverse engineering, Linux, crazy operating systems voodoo, embedded development
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 25 January 2008 - 03:30 PM

QUOTE(X-hacker @ Jan 23 2008, 07:42 PM) View Post

The moral of my story is... never say never. The current rate things are happening, I think it will be possible...

Except, ya know, there was nothing preventing Linux from running on the Xbox 1 other than the security system, and as we all know by now security systems will always be cracked.

Windows can't run on the 360 because it's the *wrong architecture*. It will never ever work unless MS happen to release a PPC64 version of Windows smile.gif

You can fire up Linux and run Bochs or another emulated PC program, and run Windows in that. That works right now, in fact smile.gif It's just not possible for it to run natively.

So, er, do say never, and do say impossible, if you have any clue at all.

#17 SuperLicious

SuperLicious

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 6 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 February 2008 - 06:17 PM

Although I will NEVER run OS operationing systems on ANYTHING. I don't see why Linux, Plus TinyXP, couldnt run. The xbox 360 has a very powerfull processor, so i dont think much speed would be decreased.

#18 IId3fi13rII

IId3fi13rII

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Interests:Women and Halo
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 26 February 2008 - 04:47 AM

Wow some of you people just dont understand..

The 360 has a very powerful processor indeed yet it is a power pc based CPU (The thing that carries out instructions and intreprets coding and actions of the user!!).

The Windows platform has always only been coded for the x86 and x64 architecture of intel and amd chips.

therefore, linux which has been ported to ppc can run on it but emulating windows takes a overhaul because all those instructions have to be re-written to work with the ppc platform.

Its like towing a F-350 with a 96' Escort..

Its not gonna work to well.


#19 HotKnife420

HotKnife420

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,196 posts

Posted 28 February 2008 - 06:39 PM

QUOTE(IId3fi13rII @ Feb 26 2008, 05:23 AM) View Post

Wow some of you people just dont understand..

The 360 has a very powerful processor indeed yet it is a power pc based CPU (The thing that carries out instructions and intreprets coding and actions of the user!!).

The Windows platform has always only been coded for the x86 and x64 architecture of intel and amd chips.

therefore, linux which has been ported to ppc can run on it but emulating windows takes a overhaul because all those instructions have to be re-written to work with the ppc platform.

Its like towing a F-350 with a 96' Escort..

Its not gonna work to well.


For those who still don't understand...

A CPU (Processor) contains 'instructions' (think of this as the language) for how the computer talks to the operating system (OS). A PPC set of instructions will vary greatly from an x86 based set, etc. Pretend for a moment that Windows is 'English' and MacOS is German. If your computer is using a 'German' instruction set, it can't very well interpret commands given to it in English, so it simply will be unable to execute (run).

Programs that were only available on a previous format sometimes get 'ported', which is esentially like 'translating' the program. These are also projects that are 'open source', which means that the code that was written is available to everyone, so another programmer can use it.

Windows is not an open source project, however. Were they to release the source code, then maybe you could cross fingers, but until then...

#20 BombTester

BombTester

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Location:Houston,Texas
  • Interests:LED Work and SMD Work
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 05 November 2008 - 06:48 AM

WTF you talking bout Ive seen windows xp on the xbox 360 on someones harddrive check youtube and king kong exploit

#21 Arakon

Arakon

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,336 posts

Posted 05 November 2008 - 05:01 PM

that was XP running on a linux emulator. when I say running, I mean crawling. without being able to do jack shit with it cause it has no sound or 3d support. and only on the old, exploitable consoles too.

and why exactly are you digging up a thread that is 9 months old?

#22 Robborboy

Robborboy

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 November 2008 - 03:04 AM

QUOTE(X-hacker @ Jan 23 2008, 02:42 PM) View Post

A little off topic, but hey, I'll post it anyways...

I remember back in the day when I first saw the screenshots of the Xbox 1 with Linux loaded and working. I posted the screenshots and some info on a forum called all-forums (if I remember right...).

You know what? I was slated by nearly every member of that group calling me a f***ing liar, and that I'd knocked up the images myself. To put the cherry on the cake, they banned me from the forum for apparently posted utter BS....

Sure enough, when it became public and people started jumping on the Linux bandwagon, they profusely appologised and unbanned me. I sent all the admins PM's telling them where to stick it blink.gif

The moral of my story is... never say never. The current rate things are happening, I think it will be possible...

Oh ye of little faith...


Great lesson. It will happen, that is what hackers do. Just give it some time.

#23 torne

torne

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Reverse engineering, Linux, crazy operating systems voodoo, embedded development
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 November 2008 - 02:07 PM

*bashes head against desk*

#24 Robborboy

Robborboy

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Kentucky
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 November 2008 - 08:21 PM

QUOTE(torne @ Nov 7 2008, 08:43 AM) View Post

*bashes head against desk*

I didn't realize this was a necro. Anyway, the only thing I was saying was that I have seen closed source windows programs cracked for powerpc MACs, and I would not be surprised to see someone do it to windows.

#25 torne

torne

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Reverse engineering, Linux, crazy operating systems voodoo, embedded development
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 November 2008 - 11:59 AM

QUOTE(Robborboy @ Nov 7 2008, 07:57 PM) View Post

I didn't realize this was a necro. Anyway, the only thing I was saying was that I have seen closed source windows programs cracked for powerpc MACs, and I would not be surprised to see someone do it to windows.

No, you haven't. Making Windows binaries run on PowerPC without the source would require *writing them again from scratch*. If you have seen such programs running on PPC Macs they are running under a PC emulator, which the 360 can also do if you boot Linux on it; it's just slow.

You can't just change a few things around. Every single byte of compiled code would have to be replaced. Trust us, please. smile.gif

#26 chiodin

chiodin

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 24 December 2008 - 04:17 PM

hum.. thinking about it, a lot of time anyone wrote aboute vmware on linux, but, exists a vmware version for ppc? Bochs exists, but vmware I dont saw yet.

merry christmas

#27 torne

torne

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 684 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Reverse engineering, Linux, crazy operating systems voodoo, embedded development
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 05 January 2009 - 05:20 PM

vmware is a virtualisation system, not an emulator: it can only run an x86 OS on an x86 computer. Bochs and qemu are emulators, and thus can run an x86 OS on any computer (if bochs/qemu have been ported).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users