Photo

Will Be Buying 2nd Xbox360 For Linux (usa)

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 halo3guy

halo3guy

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 14 May 2007 - 06:51 PM

Hi folks,

I think I'm going to buy another xbox 360, to run Linux on it. I have no real use for Linux apart from running a full blown media center on top of it (i.e. similar to XBMC, mythTV etc). Ideally I'd love homebrew (like XBMC) but I don't know if the scene is going anywhere in that direction anytime soon.

I've hacked the DVD-ROM firmware on one to run backups, and as such I'm up to speed with the scene. I'm new to the linux-on-360 scene though.

So the question, as the title suggests, how can I ensure, by looking at the packaging box/labels outside to find out if the kernel on the machine inside the box is a vulnerable one or a patched one? I'm assuming that there is still some inventory out there based off the old kernel.

Thanks !

Edited by halo3guy, 14 May 2007 - 06:52 PM.

#2 ydgmms

ydgmms

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,023 posts

Posted 14 May 2007 - 07:35 PM

QUOTE(halo3guy @ May 14 2007, 01:27 PM) View Post

Hi folks,

I think I'm going to buy another xbox 360, to run Linux on it. I have no real use for Linux apart from running a full blown media center on top of it (i.e. similar to XBMC, mythTV etc). Ideally I'd love homebrew (like XBMC) but I don't know if the scene is going anywhere in that direction anytime soon.

I've hacked the DVD-ROM firmware on one to run backups, and as such I'm up to speed with the scene. I'm new to the linux-on-360 scene though.

So the question, as the title suggests, how can I ensure, by looking at the packaging box/labels outside to find out if the kernel on the machine inside the box is a vulnerable one or a patched one? I'm assuming that there is still some inventory out there based off the old kernel.

Thanks !

The update came out in late early January?