Jump to content


Photo

Someone Formated My Softmodded Box


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 stratt

stratt

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts

Posted 18 May 2007 - 04:46 PM

I have (had) a softmodded box. Somehow it got formated... it won't boot up in MS. Is there a boot disk I can use. I really don't want to go through the hassle of unlocking my retail drive and larger drive and clone them. I would rather have a bootable disk. BTW, my box will still boot game disks.

#2 gordo1111

gordo1111

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2007 - 11:59 PM

just pop in an LIVE enabled game and it'll install a fresh ms dash.
thats the closest boot disk i could think of

#3 Berzerker92

Berzerker92

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Location:Muk-town
  • Interests:Modding? paintball, sports.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 May 2007 - 02:45 AM

i think you need to have the cord pulled out too when you do it?

#4 mailtime

mailtime

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 196 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 May 2007 - 04:53 PM

I did the same thing, do you get error 09? Mine doesn't read disks though, but im getting an X3 and replacing the hdd anyways so it doesn't really matter, I just can't play it untill the chip comes in.

#5 miketaylor

miketaylor

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Interests:Xbox repairer (as a hobby only)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 May 2007 - 05:36 PM

If it's all been formatted I'm afraid there's nothing you can do.
No files on the HD, no games, no fix.

However, YOU can fix yours.
When you softmodded your xbox, you should have been told to back up your EEPROM data.
So, if you did what you were told (for a good reason) you will be able to fix your box.
If you don;t have it then you either ditch your xbox or buy a chip i'm afraid.

OK, so if you have the EEPROM then you need xbox HDM, and you need to get on Xbins and get some files (The M$ dash and a softmod dash). Use HDM (With one of the tutorials) along with the hard drive in your xbox and you should be fine. I used to do this kind of thing (formatt my xbox by 'accident') just 'cos I was like "hmm, what does this do..."!

As I say, No EEPROM, no free fix. Buy a chip then unlock the HD using the flasher...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users