Jump to content


Photo

Frosty's XBOX Rescue Disc v1.0 and Dual-Boot VGA Softmod v1.0


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 May 2007 - 12:36 AM

Frosty's XBOX Rescue Disc v1.0 and Dual-Boot VGA Softmod v1.0
Posted by XanTium | May 18 19:36 EST | News Category: Xbox
 
FrostyTheSnowman released 2 useful discs for the Xbox1.

* Frosty's XBOX Rescue Disc v1.0:


NOTE: This Rescue Disc REQUIRES that your XBOX is either Softmodded, Modchipped, or TSOP flashed. This disc WILL NOT WORK with an unmodified retail XBOX.
NOTE2: For softmods, you NEED to have a hard drive that is locked and has a functional 'C' drive to work.

Features:
- Supports all current Softmods, Modchips, and TSOP Flashes
- Entirely DVD based!
- Full support for ALL XBOX versions! (v1.0-v1.6b)
- Full, unrestricted FTP access to the XBOX hard drive partitions! (C,E,F,G,X,Y & Z)
- Allows full access to the REAL C drive on Softmods! (overrides ShadowC drives)
- Supports F & G Drives
- Supports Custom Partitions
- Includes DVD2XBOX and XBpartitioner(info) (both are entirely DVD based)
- Allows LOCKING and UNLOCKING of XBOX Hard Drives! (This disc will only lock and unlock hard drives with the same key as the EEPROM on the motherboard.)
- Changes 'Ring of Light' to RED to confirm the Rescue Disc is running


* Frosty's Dual-Boot VGA Softmod v1.0


NOTE: This softmod is intended ONLY for v1.0-v1.5 NTSC XBOX consoles! If you have a PAL XBOX console, you will need to use a NTSC/PAL switching utility to change your PAL XBOX to an NTSC version before you can use this softmod. (Enigmah PAL-NTSC Switcher can do this)
NOTE2: This is a softmod, not a BIOS. This softmod requires a RETAIL XBOX BIOS to run, it will NOT run with any hacked BIOSes or Modchips.

Known Bugs
- Not compatible with PAL XBOX consoles (VGA cannot be used on PAL consoles)
- Not compatible with v1.6/Xcalibur XBOX consoles
- Not compatible with 3944 BIOS consoles (Must be running Microsoft 4034 or higher)
- Not compatible with Modchips (Unless the chip is flashed with a retail BIOS)

Features
- Dual-Boot Normal/VGA (Power Button = Normal Video, Eject Button = VGA)
- 100% FULL VGA SUPPORT! ALL GAMES/APPLICATIONS ARE 100% COMPATIBLE!
- Force480p (VGA mode only, forces 480i games to run at 480p)
- ForceGPUReset (VGA mode only, fixes all 'green screen' games)
- Supports Conexant Encoders
- Supports Focus Encoders
- F & G Drive Support (LBA48)
- Custom Partition Support (Supports up to 750GB HDDs w/XBpartitioner)
- IGR Support (In-Game-Reset, done by L+R+BACK+BLACK or L+R+BACK+START)
- ShadowC Drive (Protects softmod from being damaged)
- VirtualCDROM (Allows mounting of ISOs with DriveImage Utilities(info))
- NO VirtualEEPROM (Direct writing of EEPROM, no more HDTV enabling issues!)
- EvolutionX(info) +3935 (Main Dashboard)
- Microsoft Dashboard 5960
- XBOX Media Center (T3CH Release)
- DVD-X(info)2 DVD Player (Region-Free DVD Player)
- DVD2XBOX (File Manager)


Official Site: n/a, by FrostyTheSnowman (Rescue Disc dev. thread)
Download: n/a (built with XDK)
News-Source/NFO [xbins.org]: XBOX Rescue Disc | Dual-Boot VGA Softmod




#2 juan_2006

juan_2006

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 447 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 19 May 2007 - 12:54 AM

Wow that is really nice. Too bad my both my xboxs are 1.6 sad.gif

Long live Xbox1 hacking!!

#3 karak

karak

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 19 May 2007 - 01:11 AM

I have a harddrive that I locked wrong. Now it won't unlock. Will this fix something like that?

#4 TheIrishLad

TheIrishLad

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Currently USA. (Belfast Originally)
  • Interests:Ebay, Projectors, Economics, Marketing, Entrepreneurial Ventures.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 May 2007 - 02:38 AM

Very cool, can't wait to try this out. Thanks much Frosty wink.gif

#5 chorizo1

chorizo1

    X-S Seraphic

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TEXAS
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 May 2007 - 04:39 AM

looks good, will try them out when the need arises.

beerchug.gif

#6 wire73

wire73

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 19 May 2007 - 01:35 PM

Hi,
Interested in trying it out.But went to the usual place to download it and could not find it.(only Frostys dual boot vga softmod)

Thanks

#7 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 May 2007 - 07:11 PM

You can find my Rescue Disc here in the 'usual places':

/XBOX/Console Based Applications/apps/utilities/Frostys XBOX Rescue Disc/



You can find my Dual-Boot VGA Softmod here in the 'usual places':

/XBOX/Console Based Applications/exploits/_Packages/Frostys Dual-Boot VGA Softmod/

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 19 May 2007 - 07:13 PM.


#8 beenieman4355

beenieman4355

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 145 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 19 May 2007 - 09:16 PM

I have a softmodded XBOX using the AID 3.
Are there any advantages to using this mod and can this mod be installed over or additionally to my current config?

#9 urbigbro

urbigbro

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Close to the beach with perfect weather!
  • Interests:Modding everything to the way it should have been. Custom joystick building. Soccer!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 May 2007 - 12:49 AM

Thanks a heap Frosty!
I'm wondering will there be support for 1.6 xboxes in the future revisions of your softmod? If not, is this an issue that will probably not be able to be fixed? If so I'll just find myself a an earlier version xbox.
Thanks again! My friends and I now have uses for all those CRT monitors sitting around!

Edited by urbigbro, 21 May 2007 - 12:50 AM.


#10 Stani

Stani

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 May 2007 - 01:05 PM

QUOTE(FrostyTheSnowman @ May 19 2007, 07:47 PM) View Post

You can find my Rescue Disc here in the 'usual places':

/XBOX/Console Based Applications/apps/utilities/Frostys XBOX Rescue Disc/
You can find my Dual-Boot VGA Softmod here in the 'usual places':

/XBOX/Console Based Applications/exploits/_Packages/Frostys Dual-Boot VGA Softmod/


I search since one Hour all the Net for your Mod, but I don't find it! Please can someone post a DownloadLink?

Sorry for my bad Engilsh, I'm German biggrin.gif

#11 Stani

Stani

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 May 2007 - 04:23 PM

QUOTE(Stani @ May 29 2007, 02:41 PM) View Post

I search since one Hour all the Net for your Mod, but I don't find it! Please can someone post a DownloadLink?

Sorry for my bad Engilsh, I'm German biggrin.gif


I have it smile.gif

#12 DaMeloOne

DaMeloOne

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 29 May 2007 - 10:21 PM

where can i get this disk i cant open my ms dashboard says file not found and i cant transfer from my harddrive caue i get error code3. I have no idea where to find the slayers package. Can someone help me

#13 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 May 2007 - 08:51 PM

QUOTE(beenieman4355 @ May 19 2007, 02:52 PM) View Post

I have a softmodded XBOX using the AID 3.
Are there any advantages to using this mod and can this mod be installed over or additionally to my current config?


Honestly, I would run my softmod over AID anyday, but that is just my personal opinion.

If you decide you want to try it out, boot up your XBOX with my Rescue Disc, and then wipe your C and E drives entirely, and then transfer over the files in the 'C' and 'E' folders in my softmod to your C and E drives on your XBOX.

NOTE: You can leave your F drive alone, it will still work fine with my mod. But, be sure to back up your TDATA and UDATA folders on your E drive first so you don't lose your saves. wink.gif

QUOTE(urbigbro @ May 20 2007, 06:25 PM) View Post

Thanks a heap Frosty!
I'm wondering will there be support for 1.6 xboxes in the future revisions of your softmod? If not, is this an issue that will probably not be able to be fixed? If so I'll just find myself a an earlier version xbox.
Thanks again! My friends and I now have uses for all those CRT monitors sitting around!


At the moment, there is no support for v1.6 XBOXes, and I don't see it being possible in the future unfortunately...

Use a v1.0-v1.5 XBOX with my VGA softmod though, and you will be set. happy.gif

QUOTE(DaMeloOne @ May 29 2007, 03:57 PM) View Post

where can i get this disk i cant open my ms dashboard says file not found and i cant transfer from my harddrive caue i get error code3. I have no idea where to find the slayers package. Can someone help me


Both my Rescue Disc and my VGA Softmod are available in the 'usual places'. (a.k.a XBINS) Just hop on to google and search for 'xbins tutorial' and it will help you get where you need to go.

Once you are on the XBINS FTP server (through the above method) you can find my Rescue Disc and my VGA Softmod here:

Rescue Disc - /XBOX/Console Based Applications/apps/utilities/Frostys XBOX Rescue Disc/

VGA Softmod - /XBOX/Console Based Applications/exploits/_Packages/Frostys Dual-Boot VGA Softmod/

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 30 May 2007 - 08:57 PM.


#14 shadowmonk

shadowmonk

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 30 June 2007 - 05:02 AM

My softmodded xbox doesn't even load the xbox logo. It just sits there. Will this help?

#15 AucardThe3rd

AucardThe3rd

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 01 July 2007 - 08:02 PM

hey again Frosty, i have tried your dual boot vga softmod and it worked but I'm running into a problem, the problem is that i can't get to the ms dashboard anymore, it just freezes when i try it, and i could not completely copy over the shadowc.img to the c drive, I'm testing this mod on the original hd in the box witch is only 8gb so I'm wondering because the drive is so small, i think that theres no more room on the c drive to put that file in there and thus is causing my problem, does that sound right, or I'm i missing something?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users