Jump to content


Photo

Xbox Not Working!


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 rvwear

rvwear

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 May 2007 - 09:55 PM

Can someone help? I just got my xbox moded, and I was useing it okay yesterday, but to day when I turned it on the screen wouldn’t stay still it scrolls up and down the whole time that the xbox is on. and I can't move on pass the opening screen, has this happen to anyone? if so can you help?

#2 chorizo1

chorizo1

    X-S Seraphic

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TEXAS
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 May 2007 - 10:20 PM

sounds like you changed the region settings, get the enigma video switcher disc, and use it to set it back to your region.

#3 rvwear

rvwear

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 May 2007 - 11:42 PM

Don’t think that’s the problem, anyone else? Has this happened to anyone?

#4 theperfekt001

theperfekt001

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,044 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 May 2007 - 11:51 PM

QUOTE(rvwear @ May 22 2007, 05:18 PM) View Post

Don’t think that’s the problem

Really? Did you try the solution that chorizo1 said? Because those are the symptoms of a wrong region...

Edited by theperfekt001, 22 May 2007 - 11:54 PM.


#5 Berzerker92

Berzerker92

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Location:Muk-town
  • Interests:Modding? paintball, sports.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 May 2007 - 01:04 AM

lol. gotta love how n00bs say "thats not it" without even trying it.

#6 JSP62

JSP62

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Boston
  • Interests:Check back later
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 May 2007 - 01:38 PM

I think a better question to ask is: Other than the NTSC-PAL video problem, is there any other possible problem that it could be that would make the video screen scroll ?

Edited by JSP62, 23 May 2007 - 01:47 PM.


#7 miketaylor

miketaylor

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire, UK
  • Interests:Xbox repairer (as a hobby only)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 May 2007 - 02:57 PM

Faulty video thing on the motherboard - not likey though.

#8 sayguh

sayguh

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 May 2007 - 03:58 PM

I say try booting directly from a game disc, if he has his region settings wrong then the disc wont' work right? If it's a software problem then the disc should work fine. And if it's a hardware problem then nothing will ever work.

#9 JSP62

JSP62

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Boston
  • Interests:Check back later
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 May 2007 - 04:23 PM

QUOTE(sayguh @ May 23 2007, 11:34 AM) View Post

I say try booting directly from a game disc, if he has his region settings wrong then the disc wont' work right? If it's a software problem then the disc should work fine. And if it's a hardware problem then nothing will ever work.


According to rvwear, when an xbox game is inserted into the drive and the box turned on. The video also scrolls. So of the 3 categories you mentioned above, where do you believe this should fit? =p.

My last option is to boot the xbox with my 'boot cd' and reinstall.


#10 sayguh

sayguh

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 537 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 May 2007 - 06:19 PM

Yeah I say it never hurts to just reinstall, as long as you still keep all ur F drive and G drive (if you use G). The first thing I do is just reinstall everything if I get stuck, chip OS, bios, and dash.

#11 JSP62

JSP62

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Boston
  • Interests:Check back later
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 May 2007 - 08:26 PM

QUOTE(sayguh @ May 23 2007, 01:55 PM) View Post

Yeah I say it never hurts to just reinstall, as long as you still keep all ur F drive and G drive (if you use G). The first thing I do is just reinstall everything if I get stuck, chip OS, bios, and dash.


I was affraid someone would say that. Thank god for backups is all I can say.

#12 chorizo1

chorizo1

    X-S Seraphic

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:TEXAS
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 May 2007 - 08:59 PM

I find it better to understand a problem, and find a solution for it, instead of just re-installing everything every time you might do something that is easily fixable, and hope that it works.

I've seen more people actually mess up their xbox, by trying to redo or reinstall something when they have problems that were easily fixable.

Note: most newbies don't back anything up, making it riskier to reinstall stuff, especially on a softmod.

Edited by chorizo1, 23 May 2007 - 09:00 PM.


#13 Berzerker92

Berzerker92

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 426 posts
  • Location:Muk-town
  • Interests:Modding? paintball, sports.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 May 2007 - 02:09 AM

i learned that lesson. everything i mess something up (like 5 times now) i re-installed, bad idea 3 times i coulda just ftp'd files back over.

ive got my eeprom on my pc and another copy on a disc (ALWAYS BACK UP THE EEPROM) even if its just to the memory card

#14 KSHELLS

KSHELLS

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 92 posts
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 May 2007 - 03:58 AM

Ive had this problem once, I was play with an AID cd and changed the NTSC/PAL video setting.
the screen started scrolling even when i put the AID cd back in it styll happend I had to guess every thing since i couldnt see an change it back, took me like 20 mins..

#15 JSP62

JSP62

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Boston
  • Interests:Check back later
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 May 2007 - 03:30 PM

UPDATE: Problem solved.

The video setting was set to PAL 50Hz. My guess is that the user selected this option from an emulator menu by accident right before he shut down.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users