Jump to content


Photo

Flahbios Problem


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:03 PM

when i get to the part where it says "DHCP Failed" i typed the address on my IE browser but it says some stupid crap like "http 404-server not found" i flashed a Xecuter 3CE about a year ago with no problems. This time its a duox2 Cromwell Edition. Is it a connection problem in my network settings?


thanks for the help.

#2 Illumi.Naughty

Illumi.Naughty

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Springfield, MO USA
  • Interests:Modding of course, computers, NORML, Juggaloism
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:14 PM

Are you trying a network flash?

BIOS disk might be easier.

Edited by Illumi.Naughty, 26 May 2007 - 07:15 PM.


#3 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:20 PM

i tried a disc too, but cant seem to get it to read it.

i downloaded the 4983 for my xbox V1.0 with DuoX2. Renamed it bios.bin added 100mb dummy file and went to nero created a data dvd since it doesnt see bin as an iso type file. Or am i supposed to make an iso file of the dummy and the bin file? Im confused its been over 2 years since i left the original xbox scene.

#4 Illumi.Naughty

Illumi.Naughty

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Springfield, MO USA
  • Interests:Modding of course, computers, NORML, Juggaloism
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:27 PM

Sounds like you are building that disk right. Use a DVD-R/RW for best results with the DVD drive.

I am searching google for you right now looking for a good reference for the network flash way of doing it.

#5 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:30 PM

k thanks. I was using the one on team-xecuters site but there tuts are out of date. (at least the cd burning ones). And so you said i dont have to make the bin and dummy file an iso?

#6 Illumi.Naughty

Illumi.Naughty

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Springfield, MO USA
  • Interests:Modding of course, computers, NORML, Juggaloism
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:34 PM

No iso.

I made a data cd with the dummy file and the bios.bin using just winXP, worked fine.

#7 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:40 PM

What bank are you switched to
network flash does not work on BANK 0
nor will trying to flash with just a bios disc

#8 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:43 PM

which one is for v1.0? cromwell or flashbios?

im guessing cromwell.




going to try another disc now. Im using a brand called Computer Essentials, and i know the drive reads them.

Edited by 10001110101, 26 May 2007 - 07:45 PM.


#9 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 May 2007 - 07:50 PM

QUOTE(10001110101 @ May 26 2007, 08:19 PM) View Post

which one is for v1.0? cromwell or flashbios?

im guessing cromwell.
going to try another disc now. Im using a brand called Computer Essentials, and i know the drive reads them.

Both
You need to be switched to Bank 1 for this to work. bank 1 is flashbios. Bank 0 is Cromwell. Cromwell has to be flashed using a linux flash app as well as a bios disc and can not be flashed with just a bios disc.
Switch to bank 1

#10 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 May 2007 - 08:02 PM

ok i actually got it to flash with the flashbios via disc. I Installed slayers evox on it somehow earlier but when i turn it on it only boots up in flashbios.



it also says when it loads up:

Flash Type: Xecuter 2(1024k)


however the file i put on it was a 256k file, what the hell?

i also did not solder the bt wire to the eject button, since i figured it didnt matter since its always going to be on. Does it have to be on there? Sorry for the double post, it wouldnt load up the image of the edit button so i couldnt find it.

Edited by 10001110101, 26 May 2007 - 07:59 PM.


#11 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 May 2007 - 08:40 PM

SHIT FUCK SQUIRREL!!!!

well i tried it again but this time i made the same file(x2 4983.06) into a 512kb size file to flash to bank 1(flashbios). Well it flashed and upon restarting it, it freaking frags, starts green,turns off, starts green, turns off, turns on flashes red/green. Well now i dont know what the hell to do since i dont have linux which you said i needed to flash it with cromwell since thats all it boots to now. Any suggestions/ideas?


this is a friends xbox im modding for him.

#12 Illumi.Naughty

Illumi.Naughty

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Springfield, MO USA
  • Interests:Modding of course, computers, NORML, Juggaloism
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 May 2007 - 08:56 PM

Chancer sounds like he'd be able to help you out alot better than I, but it sounds like you outta get whatever Linux stuff to get you going.
I am 99.9% if cromwell is all good still then boot up the xbox on bank0, then switch after cromwell loads up to bank1 and flash.
But, you better read about the BIOS size and bank sizes and such.

#13 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 26 May 2007 - 10:20 PM

You need a linux flash app to flash from bank 0. use Eurasia pro generic flash Disc (Don't ask where to get it)
You also need to make up a 512K bios disc. Use XBTool to make up the correct size bios.
Instructions are in the readme with the flash disc file.

#14 10001110101

10001110101

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 239 posts
  • Location:West United States (Colorado)
  • Interests:Playing Xbox, and PS2<br />As well as building comps.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 May 2007 - 06:31 AM

should i use the m8plus bios this time?


btw, i cant find it in the "special place". What bios do you usually use for a v1.0 xbox with a duox2?

#15 Illumi.Naughty

Illumi.Naughty

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Springfield, MO USA
  • Interests:Modding of course, computers, NORML, Juggaloism
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 May 2007 - 06:40 AM

Google "easy xbins" for a easy way to get to the usual places.

For the BIOS x2.5035 (the correct size, chancer says 512k).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users