Jump to content


Photo

Noobs Guide To Flashing Your Bios


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#31 Good-vs-Evil

Good-vs-Evil

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 21 August 2003 - 11:25 AM

HI,

Thanx for the reply, i won't bother mucking around anymore, it works for me as is!

One thing i did notice: b4 i had the 4976 bios that came with my mod chip. Everything works perfectly. Including ghost recon island thunder. But since updating my bios to 4977 GR island thunder no longer loads. I've re-installed to my hdd, inc patches and repatched my self. basicly i've tried various methiods but i get black screen all the time. Its not too much of a problem coz i aint totally down with the game, But im just making it known this game no longer works with the updated bios. I will go back to my first bios and try the game again to see what happens.

#32 moola

moola

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 26 August 2003 - 06:47 AM

I need to upgrade my bios (going for x2 4977) and with my OpenXbox chip I thought I had to open it up an flash the old fashioned way with the PC etc... has this changed? Can I use this evox method with my lik-sang OpenXbox?

Many thanks smile.gif

#33 j051499

j051499

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 26 August 2003 - 05:27 PM

Hello All,

I need a little help here with flashing my X2. I have an Xecuter 2.0 Lite. It came pre-flashed with X2 4973 1.0. I've searched the forums and read several tutorials, and near as I can tell, I'm the first person who has asked about the following problem.

When I try to flash the bios to 4977, my Xbox triple boots, followed by flashing red/green around the eject button. Here are the steps I've taken:
1) Remove X2 mod chip from mobo
2) Remove Flash jumper from mod chip
3) Replace mod chip on mobo and reconnect all the drives and power supplies
4) Turn on Xbox
5) That's it - as soon as I hit the power button, I get the triple boot followed by alternating red/green flashing light

FYI, I've tried putting the Flash jumper back on and removing just the Bios jumper, thinking maybe my X2 was mis-labeled somehow, but the Xbox does the same thing once I start it up - it triple boots, then flashes red/green. I've also tried removing BOTH jumpers - the Flash and Bios jumpers - and I get the same triple boot. And I've tried removing just the middle jumper, which disables the mod chip, and I get the expected error that says my Xbox needs servicing (b/c my HDD isn't locked).

When I put all the jumpers back on, the Xbox works perfectly - no problems starting it whatsoever, so I know I didn't fry the chip or the mobo or anything else. I can't believe I'm the only one who's had this problem, so if someone else has experienced it, can you give me your tips on how you finally got around the triple boot?

Thank You!

#34 j051499

j051499

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 26 August 2003 - 05:52 PM

Hey, it worked. I'm not sure what I did differently - I just kept removing the mod chip from the mobo and fooling around with the jumpers, and it worked. It booted find with the flash jumper off, I flashed it to X2 4977, and it rebooted perfectly.

#35 bama51

bama51

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 29 August 2003 - 01:22 PM

Thanks for the great post. I have a quick noob question about my chameleon running evox. I want to flash my bios, but when I try it, I get an error that the flash is write protected. I have tried to put my chameleon in modes 1 and 4, and nothing changes. I understand that you can add some lines to your evox.ini to use a software control of the chip and its modes, but when I add the following lines, the choices show up, but I can't choose them.

Section "Chameleon Mode 1",ID_Chameleon_Mode_1
{
Line "Mode 1 (4x256k)"
Item "Switch To TSOP (Disable Chameleon)",ID_Chameleon_Release_D0,ID_Full_Reboot
Item "Switch To Bank 0",ID_Chameleon_Bank_0,ID_Full_Reboot
Item "Switch To Bank 1",ID_Chameleon_Bank_1,ID_Full_Reboot
Item "Switch To Bank 2",ID_Chameleon_Bank_2,ID_Full_Reboot
Item "Switch To Bank 3",ID_Chameleon_Bank_3,ID_Full_Reboot
Line "-=*-*=-"
Item "Flash Bank 0",ID_Chameleon_Bank_0,ID_Flash_Bios
Item "Flash Bank 1",ID_Chameleon_Bank_1,ID_Flash_Bios
Item "Flash Bank 2",ID_Chameleon_Bank_2,ID_Flash_Bios
Item "Flash Bank 3",ID_Chameleon_Bank_3,ID_Flash_Bios
}

Please help if you can. I really want to flash my bios to something besides what I am running.

#36 TIAGM3

TIAGM3

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 71 posts

Posted 04 September 2003 - 06:37 AM

QUOTE (nix2k @ Jul 15 2003, 11:16 PM)
-- Flash = 0x01d5,"AMD - Am29F080B",0x100000

As far as I know, anyone using X2 chips just need that line in their flash section. As for other chips, no idea, I use an X2.1 lite, and thats the line you need.

This tutorial was tits! biggrin.gif Helped me out a lot! I had to read it like 5 times though blink.gif Thanks!

#37 ninja friend

ninja friend

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2003 - 02:51 AM

Unreal7000- Just wanted to say thanks.
The thought of flashing my bios horrified me. I have heard so many stories of people turning Xboxes into paperweights because of bad flashes.
After reading your thread, I finally got up the nerve to go ahead and update to 4977... and everything went smooth as can be. Your directions were very explicit, and you made it easy to get the job done. Hell, even a complete tool like me was able to flash the bios, complete with all sorts of unecessary things like ditching the trademark logo, and modding the various colors of the boot logo.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. biggrin.gif

#38 barbapapa5800

barbapapa5800

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 10 September 2003 - 06:35 PM

great tut.

i am getting the error "filesize to big" when trying to flash a 1024k bios ( 4977).

the problem is that i don't know what kind of chip is installed.

a had my xbox modded by someone who makes his own mod chips.

therefor i don't know how big the banks are.

can i try a 512k bios whitout the risk of fu***ng it up?

or how do i find out how big the banks are?


thnx

#39 Unreal7000

Unreal7000

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Auburn, AL
  • Interests:Breakin stuff.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 12 September 2003 - 12:37 AM

Can you not ask the person who made it?
But yes 512K would be the next down. So I would assume that it would be ok to try. If you still get the same error try 256k.

Edited by Unreal7000, 12 September 2003 - 12:38 AM.


#40 barbapapa5800

barbapapa5800

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 12 September 2003 - 11:25 AM

sad.gif i tryed 512 without result.

then 256, that whas ok...

thnx for the reply...

#41 elfey1

elfey1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Sheffield, UK
  • Interests:Xbox,(or i wouldnt b here) playing music, going out.

Posted 12 September 2003 - 11:52 AM

thanx for the tutorial! i successfully flashed my Xecuter2.0Lite with the 4977 with LBA48 support. Woohoo!

beerchug.gif

#42 op_ivy

op_ivy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 14 September 2003 - 08:27 PM

i flashed my x2 pro today with 4977 and TATX_duel_debug. upon the reboot (with the switches set for the XTAT bios), the xbox would power on, then off, then on, then off again. i powered down, then rebooted with the 4977 bios and it works fine (2 and 4 on).

however, now how do i go about re-flashing the bios if i cant get the xbox to boot with only 4 on?

#43 Unreal7000

Unreal7000

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Auburn, AL
  • Interests:Breakin stuff.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 September 2003 - 08:37 PM

I thought you could flash the pro with your computer?

#44 op_ivy

op_ivy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 15 September 2003 - 01:23 PM

i guess thats my question. how do i do that?

#45 Unreal7000

Unreal7000

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Auburn, AL
  • Interests:Breakin stuff.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 16 September 2003 - 02:38 PM

Win2k/XP http://dwl.xbox-scen.../x2pro-2kxp.zip
Win9x/ME http://dwl.xbox-scen...flash/x2pro.zip




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users