Jump to content


Photo

Does The 360 Keep The Time When Unplugged?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 finalman

finalman

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 202 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 24 June 2007 - 04:07 AM

Hello there just wondering does the xbox 360 have a CMOS chip and battery to keep the time when unplugged cause my 360s time resets each time it is unplugged.

#2 commandersafi

commandersafi

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,581 posts
  • Location:Houston, Texas
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 June 2007 - 04:48 AM

I'm sure that the 360 can keep the time after being unplugged for a little while, because now days most electronics can. And the Original xbox was able to, and i doubt M$ would not do the same for the 360

#3 ScrewinGates

ScrewinGates

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Location:the mnts. of western nc
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 24 June 2007 - 05:07 AM

i dont know man,every time i move mine it loses the time.before i was banned the live servers would update it,now i got to do it myself.

#4 Kirby64

Kirby64

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2007 - 05:16 AM

It doesn't keep the time when unplugged. Since live syncs automatically when you login, they didn't 'need' the feature.

If you're banned, tough luck.

#5 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 June 2007 - 06:29 AM

There is a capacitor that keeps the time but it is not a battery like on the Xbox 1. It drains after 15-30 mins.

#6 Knasen

Knasen

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 June 2007 - 10:43 AM

QUOTE(ScrewinGates @ Jun 24 2007, 06:43 AM) View Post

i dont know man,every time i move mine it loses the time.before i was banned the live servers would update it,now i got to do it myself.


I'm just curious why you even bother setting the time, afaik time doesn't really affect anything on the console, or am I wrong?!? I'm not banned but I am almost never online anyway so I guess my time is wrong all the time, I have never thought about it to be honest.


#7 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 24 June 2007 - 01:49 PM

QUOTE(Knasen @ Jun 24 2007, 11:19 AM) View Post

I'm just curious why you even bother setting the time, afaik time doesn't really affect anything on the console, or am I wrong?!? I'm not banned but I am almost never online anyway so I guess my time is wrong all the time, I have never thought about it to be honest.


The only thing I recall is that the wrong time can cause inconsistency with save games (many games use the time to determine checkpoint times) and so forth, though I could be wrong.

Edited by bucko, 24 June 2007 - 01:49 PM.


#8 batman91

batman91

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bristol, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 24 June 2007 - 01:59 PM

i just find it useful to tell the time lol
in the game jsut press the guide button, "oh its already 11" guide button again and just continue palying

#9 edwinmcdunlap

edwinmcdunlap

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,796 posts
  • Location:In front of my computer
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 25 June 2007 - 05:37 PM

QUOTE(Havok @ Jun 24 2007, 01:05 AM) View Post

There is a capacitor that keeps the time but it is not a battery like on the Xbox 1. It drains after 15-30 mins.

Yes, I believe that's how it works. Both the Xbox 1 and 360 have a capacitor. It's kinda random on how long it takes to drain, though.

Edited by edwinmcdunlap, 25 June 2007 - 05:37 PM.


#10 Legendary Badass

Legendary Badass

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 872 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 26 June 2007 - 04:12 AM

My launch PS2 knew the date by simply plugging in to power. I never had to set it. I'm confused why my 360 needs to be online to get the time right.

#11 Belfour20x

Belfour20x

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 June 2007 - 04:20 AM

QUOTE(Kirby64 @ Jun 24 2007, 12:52 AM) View Post

It doesn't keep the time when unplugged. Since live syncs automatically when you login, they didn't 'need' the feature.

If you're banned, tough luck.


My console's banned and it will still update the time after I move it.. So I'm thinking the time feature is linked directly to microsoft's internet time server the same way you can set up in windows...

Edited by Belfour20x, 26 June 2007 - 04:22 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users