• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Donavan25

Donavan25

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:32 PM

hello, im still kinda new to modding so forgive me if i have a stupid question. i have an original xbox v1.0 and i installed a smartxx v3 mod chip by myself. I have XBMC as my dashboard, everything works great and i love it. Now my brother wants me to mod his box. He has a v1.6 xbox and i dont want to spend the money for another chip (we are planning on keeping the default 8GB HDD in the box). Would it be possible to soft mod his box by taking his 8GB HDD and putting it into my modded box temporarily and editing the files, then return the HDD to his box??

Im not sure if it is even possible to make it happen this way. I just came up with the idea and was wondering.

#2 chorizo1

chorizo1

X-S Seraphic

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,883 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:38 PM

swapping HDD etc. is gonna be a big pain in the ass, especially because his is a 1.6 and your isn't.

Easiest way to do it is to buy a memory card (official if possible) and Splinter cell game (original).

Go to #xbins and get Krayzies Ndure v1.1 FTp it to YOUR xbox and use the M$ dash to copy it to MC and then to HIS xbox, run the installer, follow on screen directions. done.

Moving ...........

#3 cerealkillajme

cerealkillajme

X-S Messiah

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,241 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 June 2007 - 08:41 PM

Not possible. HDD are locked to the mobo with a HDDkey stored in the eeprom.

Your options:

1. Hotswap and do it 100% free. There is risk of frying the XBOX HDD and your PC mobo though.
http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=496263