• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 chimp7

chimp7

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 28 June 2007 - 03:01 PM

Ok, I'm a noob... this stuff is GREAT!!! I've been researching for about a week and definately want to run XBMC on an XBOX. I'm willing to flash chips/firmwares.

I can't figure out if I should just get any old XBOX and start in on it? There's so much info out there, which dvd drive is best (seems like back in the day it was samsung), which dash, IR mods, best mod chips (any that I need to stay away from? I'd prefer solderless but if I need to solder I will. I also won't be moving the XBOX around much so will solderless be ok). Is modding the cooling really necessary? I just don't know if I should get the newest version 1.6 with the new hardware or stay away from a certain version like the Thomson? Should I spend $20 and get one that needs a new dvd drive?

I keep reading stuff but it seems like it's all from 2004 and when I find newer discussion it's like it's all between people that have been doing it for years and feel like it's over my head.

I guess I'd like to hear some of your guys more recent favorites and briefly why.

THANKS!!!!!!

#2 vide0bug13

vide0bug13

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 June 2007 - 03:21 PM

HI,
+i would recomend an xbox ver 1.0-1.5, 1.6 is not as easy to mod (i have a 1.0 and 1.4)
+sammys are the best drive but is you need to to cd work that you cant do in FTP you can rig up a regular cd drive in case of emergencies.
+you can use XBMC as a dash actually, many people do, but i use avalaunch, the choice is yours(evox is big also)
+the chip i use is a xecuter 2.6 lite and solderless xapter i think i got them together for about $40 USD, works fine