• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 shad0wlink

shad0wlink

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:11 AM

Hey I'm new to the whole Xbox mod chipping and stuff like that. I was wondering What would be the best mod chip for me i want to run backups and play Xbox live (Halo 2 FTW). but i also want to get a bigger hard drive (200Gb?). MY friend had one that was mod chipped and it had some kind of switch on it. Is that for turning the Chip off/On? It would also be nice if the mod chip was solder less.

Thanks guys smile.gif

#2 commandersafi

commandersafi

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,581 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2007 - 08:21 AM

QUOTE(shad0wlink @ Jun 30 2007, 02:47 AM) View Post

Hey I'm new to the whole Xbox mod chipping and stuff like that. I was wondering What would be the best mod chip for me i want to run backups and play Xbox live (Halo 2 FTW). but i also want to get a bigger hard drive (200Gb?). MY friend had one that was mod chipped and it had some kind of switch on it. Is that for turning the Chip off/On? It would also be nice if the mod chip was solder less.

Thanks guys smile.gif

The best modchip for you depends on what your willing to spend on it, in the end they all do basically the same thing its just the more expensive ones have more features. Just remember you get what you pay for.

You cant play your backups online, you can play online only if you turn off the chip. And no that doesnt mean turn on your xbox with the chip on, then loading your game from the hard drive then turning off the chip, as the hacked bios are still loaded.
So never have your chip on when you play XBL

Yes, the external switch is for turning the chip on/off, and switching bios banks and whatnot

And finally, I wouldnt recommend getting a solderless chip. They tend to loose connection and then you have to open the xbox again and reseat the chip again.