Jump to content


Photo

Vga To Hdmi


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 koperownz

koperownz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 121 posts

Posted 30 June 2007 - 06:22 PM

As you all know, VGA looks like crap on LCD TVs with picture-enhancing features (in comparison to component)... simply because, TV's don't enhance a VGA picture.

Would it work if I plugged in a VGA cable from my 360, to a converter, output an HDMI cable into my TV? And if it did work... would I be able to enhance the picture (that used to be VGA and is now HDMI)?

What are your thoughts...

Edited by koperownz, 30 June 2007 - 06:23 PM.


#2 1NightStandard

1NightStandard

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 66 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 July 2007 - 04:42 AM

it's still coming out of non HDMI source so it would make a difference that you will notice.

use components

#3 twistedsymphony

twistedsymphony

    arrogant beyond belief

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Almost Canada http://solid-orange.com
  • Interests:Consoles, Computers, Cars, Arcades, Home Theater, and the modding of anything that moves.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 02 July 2007 - 01:52 PM

QUOTE(koperownz @ Jun 30 2007, 01:58 PM) View Post

What are your thoughts...


I'm fairly certain you'd be spending $200+ to get a picture that actually looks worse than Component.

http://www.lenexpo-e...productid=17114

If you really want HDMI sell your 360 and use the money to buy an Elite. Honestly you'll probably spend less overall than you would on an HDMI converter.

#4 Kr0n1k

Kr0n1k

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:North Port, FL
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 July 2007 - 10:54 PM

MS should've just released a damn HDMI cable for the thing. If it can output 1080p through component/VGA, I don't see why they can't make an HDMI cable. I know, to sell Elites, but its still bullshit.

#5 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 31 July 2007 - 11:45 PM

QUOTE(Kr0n1k @ Jul 31 2007, 11:30 PM) View Post

MS should've just released a damn HDMI cable for the thing. If it can output 1080p through component/VGA, I don't see why they can't make an HDMI cable. I know, to sell Elites, but its still bullshit.


exactly, it would remove one of the incentives to buy an elite, wheres the business sense in that?

isnt XCM making one?

#6 hamwbone

hamwbone

    X-S Hacker

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,775 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:AS SEEN ON TV
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 01 August 2007 - 01:04 AM

QUOTE(Kr0n1k @ Jul 31 2007, 05:30 PM) View Post

MS should've just released a damn HDMI cable for the thing. If it can output 1080p through component/VGA, I don't see why they can't make an HDMI cable. I know, to sell Elites, but its still bullshit.


because that 1080p comming out of the vga and component is analog. the plug probably didnt have a digital interface. hdmi is digital (it can be analog, however) alot of 1080p tvs only accept 1080p thru digital hdmi

actually i dont know if hdmi supports any analog signal at all.

Edited by hamwbone, 01 August 2007 - 01:08 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users