Jump to content


Photo

Bios Problems Smartxx Lpt 1.6b


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 30 June 2007 - 07:05 PM

Howdy everyone,

I can't a 1.6B Xbox to boot to a Dashboard with anything other than M8 1.6, doesn't work with M8plus 1.6 though. Problem with this is that it doesn't seem to be configured for the LBA 48 support, and I can't get any tool (Evtool, etc) to configure this bios (only able to configure the M8plus).

None of the X2 bios work. The latest build (5035?) either boots without video support (my plasma goes to blue screen), or the non 1.6 bioses trigger the "bios does not match hardware" message. I've tried a myriad of other bios versions with less compatible results, and all non 1.6 bioses give the "does not match hardware" message too.

How is it possible that I can only get 1 stinking bios to work on this? Somebody help me! mad.gif mad.gif

#2 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 July 2007 - 03:24 AM

Sorry for the typo, should have read "can't get a 1.6B xbox with Smartxx Lpt to..."

Guess nobody else has a clue either? Well, I got Yoshi's M8 1.6 Plus to boot, though sometimes it locks up. Still trying to get my extra 60ish GB's.

#3 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 July 2007 - 03:48 AM

Okay, sorry to hog my own topic, but now that Yoshi's 1.6+ seems to be working more often (no hardware changes or other good reasons), I notice that my free space listed on the F: is roughly twice that of the M8 1.6 bios... This is not a solder issue, as I've been running this Xbox for weeks, and no errors with the M8 other than the "missing" HDD space. M8 1.6 bios reports only 12.437.078.016 free while Yoshi's bios gives me 24.572.821.504 free. Both show 0 free on G: <----- WTF?!?!?!?

I followed the Xbox-scene sticky on determining the version of Xbox, which is where I got the idea I have a 1.6B. Installed the SmartXX after removing the pin-header according to the 1.6B instructions. SmartXX LT OPX boot menu reports the XCaliber video chipset. GAWD I HATE THIS DAMN XBOX! I like my V1.0 better. It even has a cool video chipset cooling fan. Effing MS.

"Help me, [whoever you are], you're my only hope."

#4 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 01 July 2007 - 07:13 PM

Yoshi's Bios leaves me unable to run prog's off the F:, so I gave up on it. Still can't get my GB's. Effing bloody 'ell!

#5 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 03 July 2007 - 09:35 PM

Can you boot to the MS dashboard ok in disabled mode?

How is your alternative dashboard configured? and are you naming the xbe correctly on C drive (e.g. evoxdash.xbe?) & what dash are you using?

Is your drive locked or not? (only needed for disabled mode and live).

Of course the non 1.6 X2 bioses will give you that message since non 1.6 bioses can damage the hardware (different ram timings on 1.6 box's).

Are you getting your bioses from a reliable source? (e.g. xbins?).

Have you tried to update the Smartxx OS??? http://www.smartxx.c...download_01.php

Also you must run 1.6plus variations of the bios for 1.6B support.

Did you format F and enable it in your dashboard?

Also how big is your Hard Drive?

Edited by bucko, 03 July 2007 - 09:41 PM.


#6 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 July 2007 - 08:49 PM

Yeah, Bucko to the rescue! laugh.gif

Actually, I haven't been able to boot to "Original Bios" choice under the SmartXX bios choice menu, I am able to boot to MSDashboard from EvoX.

I've tried bioses with both HDD locked, and unlocked, no change. Neither locked/unlocked allow boot to Original Bios either.

All bios options I've tried were obtained from Xbins.

I've tried updating the SmartXX OS, their website currently has v.3403. I am unable to flash this, as my chip states it's a "downgrade" from its version of 3406, and forces a reboot.

I formatted my f: via SmartXX's HDD menu initially after installing the modchip. F: is enabled, and enabling G: just reports 0 bytes free on G:

M8 1.6plus only boots to blue (MS Blue Screen of death strikes again). The only reliably booting bios I have is entitled "m8_16.bin" that I got from one of the sub directories on Xbins. What I really don't understand is why the aforementioned bios works, and the "appropriate" bioses for a 1.6B don't. What gives here?

Any help will be so very, very appreciated



Oh yeah, one last thing, Yoshi's 1.6 PLUS worked, while the non-plus does not. It doesn't read any previous data off the F:, shows an extra 13ish GB free, and still has 0 on G: . It also locks up on occasion prior to getting to EvoX.

#7 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 July 2007 - 11:47 PM

*HDD is a 200GB Maxtor.

#8 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 06 July 2007 - 04:24 PM

do you put the X2 .ini file on the root of E drive?

#9 Jeeppowr

Jeeppowr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 08:38 PM

Yessir, and when that didn't work, I tried it in C:, and F: too. Double checked all the names of the .xbe's several times, to make sure it wasn't a typo. I don't get this, hell, if it were my soldering, the chip wouldn't work with any bioses... same if it were the chip itself being bad, right? I can't find any posts with that provided any insight, usually it was something more basic.

I really don't understand why Yoshi's 1.6plus works, but the "regular" m8_1.6 non-plus works. Nor do I understand why I can't boot to the original bios without also getting this infernal blue screen lack of video.

It seems to work fine with the M8_1.6 (non-plus), other than the lack of HDD space. I just really miss the extra space.



#10 mtsaint

mtsaint

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 02 August 2007 - 08:52 AM

did you get this worked out?





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users