Jump to content


Photo

Play Ps3 On Pc Monitor


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 eeee87

eeee87

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 15 July 2007 - 09:27 PM

I know this has probably been asked a million times but I need some help


I have a Princeton 19"
SXGA 1280X1024 max resolution
Flexible Dual input monitor,(1XAnalog RGB,1X Digital DVI)
Built in Stero Speaker

can somebody tell me what kind adapter I would need to play a PS3 on this monitor. "note" just the monitor itself, not the monitor while connected to a computer.

#2 Kr0n1k

Kr0n1k

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 233 posts
  • Location:North Port, FL
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 July 2007 - 10:02 PM

HDMI to DVI adapter, preferably one with a sound output unless you want just picture.

#3 j3y q

j3y q

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 530 posts
  • Location:home
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 July 2007 - 03:32 AM

i have a hdmi to dvi adaptor, and it doesnt work. but it may just be my moniter i have a westinghouse 22 inch lcd if someone gets it to work lmk

#4 tylerchvz

tylerchvz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 83 posts

Posted 16 July 2007 - 04:32 AM

You can use the stock A/V cable to produce the sound while the hdmi produces the picture.....

#5 eeee87

eeee87

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 July 2007 - 08:49 AM

If my monitor isn't HDCP COMPLIANT what can I do? and do you buy HDMI cables seperate from the ps3? I dont have a ps3 yet so I don't know what comes in the box. There pretty cheap on ebay so I'm buying one soon.

#6 j3y q

j3y q

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 530 posts
  • Location:home
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 July 2007 - 04:55 PM

hdmi cables dont come in the box and since you moniter isnt HDCP compliant they have thi adatpoer thats called HDFury but ive heard its expensive! like $150

#7 eeee87

eeee87

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 16 July 2007 - 05:50 PM

Ive decided to sale my Monitor and buy a hdtv. Is there a special AV cable that I would need to buy in order to play a ps3 on a 720P HDTV? I guess Im asking does the ps3 come with the red,white,and yellow plugs like the old playstation? If thats the case I would have to buy some kind of special cable to get a true HD experience on the HDTV correct? I don't want the absolute best like 1080P or some kind of supper adapter,720P will suit me just find on a 20" HDTV

#8 freesafety13

freesafety13

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 July 2007 - 05:25 AM

QUOTE(eeee87 @ Jul 16 2007, 06:26 PM) View Post

Ive decided to sale my Monitor and buy a hdtv. Is there a special AV cable that I would need to buy in order to play a ps3 on a 720P HDTV? I guess Im asking does the ps3 come with the red,white,and yellow plugs like the old playstation? If thats the case I would have to buy some kind of special cable to get a true HD experience on the HDTV correct? I don't want the absolute best like 1080P or some kind of supper adapter,720P will suit me just find on a 20" HDTV


component cables support up to 1080i. there's been rumors floating around stating that component cables can carry a 1080p signal, but never have I found someone who could prove this to me. If you want 1080p you need a hdmi cable and a tv that has an hdmi input. You will have to buy the hdmi, but whatever you do dont buy the monster cable, you're just getting ripped off. Under realistic use, you dont need a 1/4 of shielding when a 1/16 of quality shielding applied properly is necessary. You cable will not be exposed to elements the same way outdoor cable will be and anything over 1/16 is just over kill. I found hdmi cables on newegg.com for $10 including shipping.


#9 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 July 2007 - 03:11 PM

QUOTE(freesafety13 @ Jul 21 2007, 06:01 AM) View Post

component cables support up to 1080i. there's been rumors floating around stating that component cables can carry a 1080p signal, but never have I found someone who could prove this to me. If you want 1080p you need a hdmi cable and a tv that has an hdmi input. You will have to buy the hdmi, but whatever you do dont buy the monster cable, you're just getting ripped off. Under realistic use, you dont need a 1/4 of shielding when a 1/16 of quality shielding applied properly is necessary. You cable will not be exposed to elements the same way outdoor cable will be and anything over 1/16 is just over kill. I found hdmi cables on newegg.com for $10 including shipping.


component can carry 1080p but most tv's won't accept it.

#10 freesafety13

freesafety13

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 333 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 22 July 2007 - 01:14 AM

QUOTE(grim_d @ Jul 21 2007, 03:47 PM) View Post

component can carry 1080p but most tv's won't accept it.


I've heard that before from multiple sources, but have yet to find a tv that can support 1080p through a component cable. How can we verify if component cables can support a 1080p picture if no tv's support progressive scan through their component input. So, as far as I am concerned, you cannot support 1080p with component cables.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users