Jump to content


Photo

How To Enable Save Games In Pokemon, Dbz, And Others


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 SC10-E

SC10-E

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA
  • Interests:PC Building, Xbox and wii, movies, music, other media
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 July 2007 - 10:38 PM

*NOTE*: If you are playing Pokemon Fire Red/Leaf Green, you MUST use this method, or you will not be able to continue playing your game after defeating the Elite Four. Save States WILL NOT work for continuing the game.

Some of you may have noticed that when you boot up a Pokemon game (And some other games) in XBoyAdvance (I will refer to it as XBA in this guide) that you can not save correctly. This is because of a unique memory requirement for those games that XBA and VisualBoy Advance in general do not recognize. They require a bit more memory for their saves than the standard 128K for 128K-Flash saving games.

You can, however, make a vba-over.ini file that overrides the default settings for XBA and tells it exactly how much memory to use when making a save for the specified game.

I will guide you step by step on how to do this.

Be aware that you cannot apply this fix mid-game and you must start a new game after doing it, so it is recommended that you do this before starting your game.

First off, boot XBA and go to your settings/configurations. Go to Change default directories and check to make sure the ROM that you want to save correctly is in the default ROM directory, as that is where the vba-over.ini will look.

Now, rename your ROM as needed if you have not done so already, and put it in that directory.

If you are using windows, right click and select new, and then New Text document. This is where you will put the code for the game you want to save. Here are some codes for the Pokemon games and DBZ games that need this patch.

CODE


e-Reader (U)
[PSAE]
flashSize=131072

Pokemon Ruby (U)
[AXVE]
rtcEnabled=1
flashSize=131072

Pokemon Sapphire (U)
[AXPE]
rtcEnabled=1
flashSize=131072

Pokemon FireRed (U)
[BPRE]
flashSize=131072

Pokemon LeafGreen (U)
[BPGE]
flashSize=131072

Pokemon Emerald (U)
[BPEE]
rtcEnabled=1
flashSize=131072

Dragon Ball Z - Legacy of Goku (U)
[ALGE]
saveType=1

Dragon Ball Z - Taiketsu (U)
[BDBE]
saveType=1

Dragon Ball GT - Transformation (U)
[BT4E]
saveType=1



Now, Put your needed codes into the vba-over.ini file and rename the game titles in the codes to the ones you named the roms. Don't put the file extension.

Now you have completed your vba-over.ini file. Save it and then rename it vba-over.ini if you did not already, and then put it in the root directory of your VBA emulator (meaning DO NOT put it in the roms/music/skins directory but the directory before them where your default.xbe is, for all of you slower types.)

Now go to the ROM in the game selection menu and if you haven't booted the ROM before press A, and if you have press X. This should take you to the ROM settings page.

Set 'Use Real GBA BIOS' to YES- BIOS 2. I don't think this is necessary, but alot of my GBA games seem to run better under this setting.

Set frameskip to 2 if it isn't already.

Set Flash Size to 128K.

Save type should be on Auto-Detect.

Turn on GBA Real Time clock, ESPECIALLY if you are playing Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald.

That should be it! Enjoy your correctly - saving game. cool.gif

PS - You will know if you did something wrong for Fire Red/ Leaf Green if you get the message "1M sub-circuit board not installed" after you press start at the Press start screen.

#2 VampX

VampX

    X-S Legend

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 July 2007 - 01:40 AM

Good work dude, I'm sure this will help allot of people who enjoy playing these games on their xbox.

Hey Thraxen could you put a link to this in the great answer thread?
(and while you're at it set the replies in that thread to invisible, i wish to keep my great amazing answer thread clean of replies!)

#3 SC10-E

SC10-E

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA
  • Interests:PC Building, Xbox and wii, movies, music, other media
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 July 2007 - 03:01 AM

Thanks VampX, I appreciate it. I wouldn't have been able to figure it out without your searching.

One thing though, I would like to both add and remove a couple of lines, I don't suppose you or Thraxen could allow me to do that?

On a side note, I would hope it goes into the great answer thread because I lost 4+ hours a gameplay and my Level 50+ guys. I had also captured Zapdos, Articuno, and Moltres blink.gif

EDIT: Here is proof it works, you may think it is just any screenshot but if you take a screenshot in XBA they will always be that size

IPB Image

Edited by SC10-E, 21 July 2007 - 03:09 AM.


#4 VampX

VampX

    X-S Legend

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 July 2007 - 03:31 PM

QUOTE(SC10-E @ Jul 21 2007, 04:37 AM) View Post

One thing though, I would like to both add and remove a couple of lines, I don't suppose you or Thraxen could allow me to do that?


You'd have to ask Thraxen about that, i'm not a moderator for this forum so i can't do anything mod-like here.
(which is a shame cause i would have added so much to the great answer thread, but now its just too annoying to contact a mod whenever i want to edit my thread)

#5 SC10-E

SC10-E

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA
  • Interests:PC Building, Xbox and wii, movies, music, other media
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 July 2007 - 03:56 PM

QUOTE(VampX @ Jul 21 2007, 11:07 AM) View Post

You'd have to ask Thraxen about that, i'm not a moderator for this forum so i can't do anything mod-like here.
(which is a shame cause i would have added so much to the great answer thread, but now its just too annoying to contact a mod whenever i want to edit my thread)


Oh OK I didn't know they used forum specific mods here. Well I guess I will wait for Thraxen to take a look then. smile.gif

#6 SC10-E

SC10-E

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA
  • Interests:PC Building, Xbox and wii, movies, music, other media
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 July 2007 - 11:41 PM

bump smile.gif

#7 SC10-E

SC10-E

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA
  • Interests:PC Building, Xbox and wii, movies, music, other media
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 24 July 2007 - 04:29 PM

bump?

#8 VampX

VampX

    X-S Legend

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,149 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 July 2007 - 04:41 PM

QUOTE(SC10-E @ Jul 24 2007, 06:05 PM) View Post

bump?


There's no need to bump this, send a PM to Thraxen with the url to this thread and when he has the time he will add it to the Great Answer Thread.

there are dozens of faqs in that thread, imagine if they all bumped their threads?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users