Jump to content


Photo

Xbox Freezes


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 dannygupta

dannygupta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 July 2007 - 08:34 PM

Hi,

My xbox started freezing at random spots yesterday.
I have XBMC as my dashboard, but at time it freezes as soon as it boots up(in the blob animation).
Yesterday, when it froze on the "X" logo, I pressed the eject button and it came out of the freeze.

Any ideas?

I have a v1.0 with TSOP flash. My bios is evox 2.6(eject fix).

Thanks

#2 gordo1111

gordo1111

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2007 - 08:42 PM

QUOTE(dannygupta @ Jul 23 2007, 01:10 PM) View Post

Hi,

My xbox started freezing at random spots yesterday.
I have XBMC as my dashboard, but at time it freezes as soon as it boots up(in the blob animation).
Yesterday, when it froze on the "X" logo, I pressed the eject button and it came out of the freeze.

Any ideas?

I have a v1.0 with TSOP flash. My bios is evox 2.6(eject fix).

Thanks


Evox 2.6 is ancient. Update to something like Evox M8+ or X2 5035.

#3 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2007 - 08:44 PM

DVD drive taking a dump?

#4 dannygupta

dannygupta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 July 2007 - 09:47 PM

QUOTE(Alex548 @ Jul 23 2007, 04:20 PM) View Post

DVD drive taking a dump?


Meaning something wrong with DVD drive?

NO, i dont' think so. Its running fine, but pressing the eject buttons seems to cause an interrupt which brings back teh CPU from being frozen.

#5 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2007 - 09:55 PM

^ yep, dvd drive.

U have a Philips drive? That's a common problem with those drives. The circuit board is taking a dump.

If you have a spare dvd drive, pop it in there temporarily & see if you still get the same problem.


#6 dannygupta

dannygupta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 23 July 2007 - 10:02 PM

Yup. The Dvd drive is Philips.

So it might the DVD drive, nothing to do with bios?

Also, I'm not using the DVD Drive at all, the dashboard is booting from hard drive. There is no disc in drive.

Edited by dannygupta, 23 July 2007 - 10:07 PM.


#7 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 July 2007 - 10:53 PM

It doesn't matter what you're using, the circuit board on the philips drive causes the xbox to randomly freeze (usually at startup).

Like I already said, get a hold of another dvd drive (borrow from someone if you have to) and swap them out & test your xbox again.

No, it's not your hard drive as you assume in this thread. If pressing eject button "unfreezes" your xbox, then it definitely has nothing to do with your hard drive.

Edited by Alex548, 23 July 2007 - 10:55 PM.


#8 dannygupta

dannygupta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 25 July 2007 - 05:29 PM

Ok,

I went ahead and swapped the dvd drives with a friends xbox.
So, after the swap the xbox doesn't freeze anymore. However, it did behave wierdly couple of times. When i pressed the eject button to close the drive it wouldn't respond, but after a while it responded.

After extensive testing, i couldn't get the philips drive to freeze my friends xbox though. The philips drive in his xbox works completely fine, no freezes.

I'm starting to wonder if upgrading the bios will help. I will try upgrading to latest executor bios X2-5035 and see if that makes a difference.

Thanks for the help Alex







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users