spillage

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,262 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 31 July 2007 - 10:04 PM

I bought from eBay a 4Gb SONY Memory Stick Duo with an adpator for a what seemed ace, 23 shipped. It all looked good to me, and having never been done before on eBay I was none the wiser. The card formatted as normal with a near 4Gb capacity. I thought I was onto a winner.

With help from BurnDown this is what I discovered and what happens in reality for those that don't know, like me 2 hours ago.
  1. The card looks brilliant. It has the right font, the right colours, the right feel etc, but no packaging.
  2. I formatted it and found a near 4Gb capacity so I was happy.
  3. I loaded two backups onto the card and found all was well. Games were seen and loadable.
  4. I'm new to the PSP so I couldn't comment on the load time from the card, but felt they were slow.
  5. All the games I tried, well the four I own and backed up played badly.
  6. Driver 76 glitches every 10 seconds or so but loads and plays fine if you overlook the stutters.
  7. Crush is more or less fine. The UMD is perfect but to be fair the card is not far behind.
  8. WRC is again pretty much normal with the odd glitch and stutter. Much slower than UMD to load.
  9. Test Drive Unlimited is the worse. It takes an age to load and stops whenever the game updates for about 20 seconds.

It turns out the card is a fake only when I try look at the information screen on the PSP. It shows Magic Gate...Unknown grr.gif

I'm going to buy an 8Gb from here now, or maybe a pair of 4Gb from here

Anyway that old saying " you get what you pay for" was driven home to me today with a large mallet. Pay attention to what you're buying and don't end up feeling a bitter plonker like me.

#2 sabbath_dude

sabbath_dude

X-S Hacker

• Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,288 posts
  • Interests:Xbox, Rock music, Beer
  • Xbox Version:v1.6c
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)