Jump to content


Photo

Xlink Unable To Connect


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 August 2007 - 07:51 PM

Howdy folks,

Some help is needed.

I am unable to connect to xlink kai through xbmc. I can see games and players on my xbox (in xbmc). When I run the kai engine on my pc, i get all the sync message pop ups, so it looks like it's working, but when I try to connect in xbmc, I get a message that says my network is unreachable, and on my pc, the kai engine spits out an error message saying I should check my port forwarding. I have followed the tutorial on port forwarding (i have a belkin router), so I'm stumped. I turned off my firewall, which doesn't help.

My xbox ip is 192.168.2.11 (i set it manually)
my laptop nic ip is 192.168.2.3
my router ip is 192.168.2.1

Any ideas?

Thanks.

#2 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 August 2007 - 08:50 PM

before trying to use XBMC with kai make sure you can play online using the PC UI ..

follow these steps ..

load halo2 (or game of choice) on your xbox ..

load kai on your PC .. click the globe at the top left , navigate to an arena and play ..

after that works theirs a manual on how to setup XBMC in the download section here www.teamxlink.co.uk ..

if you get that message than your port forward didn't work .. read this .. http://www.teamxlink...pic.php?t=21240

#3 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 August 2007 - 10:01 PM

Thanks for the swift reply.

I'm clearly a moron. By "load kai on your pc" do you mean run the kai engine? If so, I'm not seeing any globes, only the little network thing in the bottom right..

#4 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 August 2007 - 10:15 PM

Scratch the last post. I am an idiot. I had not selected the "Launch UI" in kai config. Trying the rest of the stuff you sent. I'll keep you posted.

Thanks again.

J@ymz

#5 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 August 2007 - 10:28 PM

Hi again,

the UI on my pc keeps hanging when I try to go into the xbox arena. This usually happens when the xlink kai engine is running at the same time as I'm trying to connect to the internet. Any ideas?

Cheers



#6 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 August 2007 - 10:40 PM

do you get the main chat ? .. what IP did you forward to ? .. did you add the port that you forwarded to the kai config under kai port ?

#7 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 August 2007 - 10:47 PM

The ip i used in the port forwarding setup is the ip of my router - 192.168.2.1

I added port 30000 in the kai config.


#8 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 August 2007 - 11:01 PM

k you need to forward to the ip of your computer .. make sure its UDP as well ..

#9 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 August 2007 - 09:16 AM

Hi,

I tried to port forward using my pc's ip, but I get an error message on my router admin page saying that the port 30000 has already been forwarded. So I can only port forward port 30000 to one IP address. (hope that made sense..)

Cheers

#10 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 15 August 2007 - 01:26 PM

ya you can only forward a port once .. delete the other forward and just forward it to your PC IP ..



#11 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 16 August 2007 - 11:33 AM

Thanks bud.

At work now, so I'll give this a shot tonight and let you know if it works, or if I need some more hand-holding.


Cheers

J@ymz

#12 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 16 August 2007 - 06:15 PM

Hi,

No-go. I tried port forwarding using my ethernet NIC IP address (192.168.2.3) and I still get the port forwarding kai error in the bottom right of my screen. The Kai UI also hangs when I try to go into an xbox arena, and I also (sometimes) get an "invalid launch argument" error when the kai engine is launched.

Riddled with problems..

Any advice?

Cheers

p.s. I also have a wifi card on my laptop which I have disabled in order to use kai through my ethernet nic.

#13 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 16 August 2007 - 08:08 PM

kai is being blocked by something .. what firewall software do you have ?



#14 J@ymz

J@ymz

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 16 August 2007 - 08:35 PM

I have a windows firewall (disabled), McAfee (also disabled), and my Belkin Router also has a firewall (which I disabled in the setup (192.168.2.1).



#15 c-2

c-2

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,453 posts
  • Location:www.teamxlink.co.uk
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 17 August 2007 - 01:03 AM

i would try uninstalling mcafee .. once mcafee has blocked something it will continue to block it even if you 'disable' it .. comodo is a way better firewall anyway :]

http://www.personalf...all.comodo.com/




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users