Jump to content


Photo

FrostyTheSnowman and Xman954's VGA Boot Disc v1.0


  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 September 2007 - 05:33 AM

FrostyTheSnowman and Xman954's VGA Boot Disc v1.0
Posted by XanTium | September 8 00:33 EST | News Category: Xbox
 
From the readme/nfo:


This is not an official Team Xecuter release. This is an unofficial, 100% VGA-compatible release of the X2 5035 BIOS (as a boot disc) by myself (FrostyTheSnowman) and Xman954. We are not affiliated with Xecuter in any way, and this release is not supported at all by Team Xecuter.

This boot disc requires your XBOX to be modded to work. (all softmods and modchips are supported)

Version 1.0
* Supports Modchips and Softmods!
* Supports Conexant Encoders
* Supports Focus Encoders
* Supports all HD resolutions, including 480p, 720p, and 1080i.
* Supports 'green screen' games!
* Supports ALL 480i Games and Applications!

NOTE: 720p/1080i are only available when enabled in the Microsoft Dashboard.

Known Bugs:
- Not compatible with v1.6/v1.6b XBOX Consoles
- Not compatible with PAL XBOX Consoles (Switch to NTSC for VGA)
- Only works with Homemade VGA Cables in Mode 2+3 (HDTV), no other video cables or modes are supported.


Official Site: n/a, by FrostyTheSnowman and Xman954
Download: n/a (might be illegal under DMCA/EUCD)
Full Readme: xbins.org






#2 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2007 - 05:21 AM

This disc may possibly be the EASIEST way of producing native VGA on the XBOX. No flashing, no changing your mod, no dual bios setups, NOTHING needs to be changed on your XBOX to use this disc! (except adding one small file to the root of your 'E' drive, see the readme for details.)

This disc will work on ANY NTSC XBOX with ANY Softmod, Modchip, or BIOS, REGARDLESS of whether or not any of the HDTV options are enabled! (as long as it boots to d:\default.xbe first)


You can find this release under the following path in the 'usual places':

\XBOX\Console Based Applications\apps\utilities\FrostyTheSnowman and Xman954 VGA Boot Disc\


Be sure and follow the instructions in the readme before using this disc.

Enjoy!

NOTE: This boot disc only supports Homemade VGA cables with the Mode 2+3 (HDTV) setting. No other video cables are supported with this disc, because this is a 'VGA' boot disc. happy.gif

NOTE 2: This disc does not support PAL or 1.6 XBOXes.

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 08 September 2007 - 05:37 AM.


#3 andy_thedonn

andy_thedonn

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 08 September 2007 - 01:50 PM

hi

been following the progress on the vga bios for some time, but have never been successful in making a homemade vga cable, what i was wondering is if i use the component output on the xbox and use a vga adapter similar to this

http://cgi.ebay.co.u...1QQcmdZViewItem

would it work the same? my monitor does support SoG, but not sure if this type of cable would be suitable

thanks

Andy

#4 Bebel

Bebel

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2007 - 04:32 PM

Similar question to the last guy...

This looks great and I'm keen to try it. But I've been having some trouble finding information on how to build the right VGA cable, i.e. what the readme specifies:

QUOTE
- Only works with Homemade VGA Cables in Mode 2+3 (HDTV), no other video cables or modes are supported.

I just want to be sure I'm doing the right thing. Could someone provide a link to cable-building instructions, please? Here's what I was able to find so far...

Will Leeloo5's guide or this classic xbox-scene guide result in a working cable for this BIOS?

I am kind of thinking that Frosty's own guide or Textbook's guide will produce the right cable, but it'd be good to have confirmation.

(I am assuming that a component-to-VGA cable with RCA gender changers won't work, as suggested in this thread.)

Also... additional question... what if I'd like 5.1 audio? smile.gif

Maybe someone could enlighten me? TIA!

B

Edited by Bebel, 08 September 2007 - 04:44 PM.


#5 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2007 - 08:15 PM

To answer the above questions:

1. Yes, Component to VGA cables do work with this boot disc if you have a Sync-on-Green monitor. (Component cables use Mode 2+3, so they work just fine. happy.gif)

2. Textbook has made a really nice tutorial for building homemade cables here: (just ignore the BIOS stuff at the end, you will be using this disc instead)

http://www.360mods.n...cle/sid=32.html

NOTE: I personally only recommend using Textbook's tutorial, because most other tutorials use Mode 1+3 (xbox-linux tutorials, etc), which is the old method, and does not work with this boot disc.

#6 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 September 2007 - 08:37 PM

3. Dolby Digital 5.1 is fully supported with Homemade Mode 2+3 VGA cables and Component to VGA cables.

Just follow the below tutorial for a simple Coaxial Digital Audio modification:

http://www.xbox-scen...ital-output.php

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 08 September 2007 - 08:38 PM.


#7 yaywoop

yaywoop

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 11:39 AM

in the readme is this:
"Example: Your dashboard path is 'e:\xbmc\xbmc.xbe', so you need to make it look like this: dash1Name = c:avalaunch.xbe"
supposed to be this?
"Example: Your dashboard path is 'e:\xbmc\xbmc.xbe', so you need to make it look like this: dash1Name = e:\xbmc\xbmc.xbe"

#8 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,997 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 04:54 PM

Nice, I maybe buying a VGA cable or something soon.

#9 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 05:37 PM

LOL! What a typo!

Yes, it should be this:

"Example: Your dashboard path is 'e:\xbmc\xbmc.xbe', so you need to make it look like this: dash1Name = e:xbmc\xbmc.xbe"

Readme on XBINS has been fixed.

#10 joesnose

joesnose

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 09 September 2007 - 05:40 PM

nevermind

Edited by joesnose, 09 September 2007 - 05:55 PM.


#11 fratslop

fratslop

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 82 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 08:27 PM

this works on cd-r as well, just replace the 1 gig dummy.bin with a smaller one.

nice release guys, way to make it even easier!

#12 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 09:03 PM

QUOTE(fratslop @ Sep 9 2007, 02:03 PM) View Post

this works on cd-r as well, just replace the 1 gig dummy.bin with a smaller one.


Yeah, we figured that the DVD-R drive compatibility was higher, so we went with that medium. But yes, you can rebuild it for CD-Rs too. (honestly, the dummy.bin isn't even necessary) biggrin.gif

QUOTE(fratslop @ Sep 9 2007, 02:03 PM) View Post

nice release guys, way to make it even easier!


I thought this was a better idea too, that way no flashing or anything is needed. Of course, you can expect a working, flashable version soon though. (within a few weeks)

Edited by FrostyTheSnowman, 09 September 2007 - 09:04 PM.


#13 joesnose

joesnose

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 09 September 2007 - 09:08 PM

ok im unsure that my monitor supports SOG, if it didnt would i still get an image but green or would i get no screen output at all? i made a VGA cable but i get nothing on my screen.

#14 FrostyTheSnowman

FrostyTheSnowman

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 10:51 PM

If you built a Sync-on-Green VGA cable, you need a Sync-on-Green monitor to use it.

If your monitor does not support Sync-on-Green, you won't see anything.

Also, are you sure you set your dashboard properly in the 'x2config.ini' file?

#15 fratslop

fratslop

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 82 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.1 (opus)

Posted 09 September 2007 - 11:00 PM

QUOTE
honestly, the dummy.bin isn't even necessary


true, however it will help those which have a drive that doesnt work too well (especially on cd-r, if the drive is compatible that is)

QUOTE
Of course, you can expect a working, flashable version soon though


sounds interesting. I have a couple banks free on my x3 so if theres anything i can do to help, feel free to let me know...

QUOTE
@joesnose/ ok im unsure that my monitor supports SOG


textbooks guide is set up step by step to eliminate any kind of problem variables...

edit: also, if you have a dashboard that has a startup sound (like xbmc) you should still be able to hear that
even if you have no video (as long as your x2config.ini is set up right like frosty said)

heres the SoG compat. list

http://playstation2-linux.com/sog.php

Edited by fratslop, 09 September 2007 - 11:03 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users