Jump to content


Photo

Speculation, Theories, Discoveries About The Ban In This Thread Only


  • Please log in to reply
125 replies to this topic

#1 sosotiit

sosotiit

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Interests:Techno gadgets and espresso coffee
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 02 September 2007 - 02:33 PM

All Discussion on the bannings go in this topic:

That includes speculation, theories, and discoveries (bet lets keep it reasonable plse)


IF YOU CREATE ANY NEW TOPICS ON THE SUBJECT
An Xbox-Scene moderator will close it


Edited by sosotiit, 10 September 2007 - 11:13 PM.


#2 Devryn

Devryn

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 05:19 AM

Has anyone considered this could be a MAC address ban and not a "serial number" ban? Is there a way to spoof a MAC address to find this out?

#3 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 September 2007 - 02:16 PM

it is not a MAC address ban. they can be easily spoofed and your MAC address is different between a wired connection and a wireless connection. i also believe you can manually set your MAC address through your network settings. it IS a console ID ban. nothing more, nothing less

#4 Chrushev

Chrushev

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 222 posts

Posted 11 September 2007 - 06:04 PM

So, this number is stored somewhere right?

I cant believe in 2 years there wasnt found a way to somehow rewrite that number to a customly generated one.

#5 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 11 September 2007 - 06:25 PM

QUOTE(Chrushev @ Sep 11 2007, 01:40 PM) View Post

So, this number is stored somewhere right?

I cant believe in 2 years there wasnt found a way to somehow rewrite that number to a customly generated one.



Because it is stored in the encryptped CPU which we have no access to.... We don't even know what the number is or the format.... its just a unique identifier.

#6 Eddie_the_Hated

Eddie_the_Hated

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 530 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Modding... Duh.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 September 2007 - 09:37 PM

Speculation 'eh?

I'm betting that Microsoft are primarily banning consoles that are doing something illegal...


...


What? That not speculative enough? smile.gif

#7 partonbp

partonbp

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 September 2007 - 12:17 AM

When Does the ban actually happen

If you have a live account?
cause even if you dont have a live account it still connects to the live systems to get updates and you can message etc.

Whats it ban you from? playing on live or the whole live system?



#8 Carson92

Carson92

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:SC
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 September 2007 - 12:41 AM

QUOTE(partonbp @ Sep 23 2007, 07:53 PM) View Post

When Does the ban actually happen

If you have a live account?
cause even if you dont have a live account it still connects to the live systems to get updates and you can message etc.

Whats it ban you from? playing on live or the whole live system?


It bans your whole system

#9 Aussiegerrard

Aussiegerrard

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 October 2007 - 06:35 AM

Im not sure if this is the right thread to ask this but if someone somehow managed to sell their banned console and got a clean one would Kreon games work on it? Do you need any modding to get the Kreon games to work?

#10 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 October 2007 - 05:26 PM

QUOTE(Aussiegerrard @ Oct 5 2007, 02:11 AM) View Post

Im not sure if this is the right thread to ask this but if someone somehow managed to sell their banned console and got a clean one would Kreon games work on it? Do you need any modding to get the Kreon games to work?



As long as the banned console was still modified with an iXtreme firmware then backups can be played offline.

#11 Aussiegerrard

Aussiegerrard

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 October 2007 - 03:47 AM

yeah but can games made with kreon work on just a normal 360 straight out of the box?

#12 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 October 2007 - 05:21 PM

no, the firmware has to be flashed

#13 Spoon1337

Spoon1337

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 14 October 2007 - 01:53 PM

So no one still doesnt know how the banning happens?

Is there anyone that has had a hacked firmware on and then put an original backup firmware in then been banned? It could be a footprint.

#14 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 14 October 2007 - 05:03 PM

QUOTE(Spoon1337 @ Oct 14 2007, 09:29 AM) View Post

So no one still doesnt know how the banning happens?

Is there anyone that has had a hacked firmware on and then put an original backup firmware in then been banned? It could be a footprint.


We do know... its backups mode improperly and not reporting the correct DMI and PFI sectors to the console.

If you backup your own games using the proper tools it is essentially a non-issue for now.. (util MS changes the security again)


#15 anandr

anandr

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 19 October 2007 - 12:42 AM

gday guys,

i've read through most of the posts on this but haven't found the answers to one question:

Q) can you be banned from live if you have modified firmware but DON'T PLAY ONLINE. for instance, if i were to download an update or a demo from live with no backup disc in the drive, or from playing a backup single-player but with live connected in the background.

thanks for your help, i hope i have put this in the right forum.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users