Jump to content


Photo

Time For A New Pc.


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:12 AM

Well i have a POS athlon XP 2200 1.8 (o/c to 2.2) with 512mb ram on an asus A7v8x, which i have had for about 4 years now so it's time for an upgrade. This peice of crap is contantly overheating eve though i have both sides off the case, basically the entire thing is F**KED.

So It's time for a new pc, start from scratch, i'm setting myself a strict budget of 800, i have until the 28th to decide because that is when i WILL be ordering.

Ideas are as follows, this is not a rig built for gaming, it is being build for my 3d modelling work. it is a shame i wont be able to afford a fireGL workstation card but nevermind.

QUOTE


ASUS P5W DH Deluxe 105.53

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 (2.13Ghz) Socket 775 FSB1066 4MB Cache 119.67 (O/C to 3.75Ghz)

Sapphire 2600XT 256MB GDDR4 Dual DVI-I TVOut PCI-E 88.76 (mainly for it's decent price and HD output)

Hiper 580W Type-R Modular PSU SLI/CrossFire Certified - Black 79.99

Corsair 2GB DDR2 800MHz PC2 6400 XMS2 Memory Non ECC Unbuffered CL4(4 4 4 12) E.P.P. 64.99

Case. 117.49

WD SATA HD 31.54



Total so far (including shipping) 624.15

This leaves me 175.85 for watercooling and any other bit's and bobs i may require.

I've pmed Dano2ko about watercooling and i'm planning on building a dangerden kit which i should be able to do for the budget, even if it's only cooling the CPU.

In the future i would like to add a 2nd GFX card for crossfire and another 2GB of memory.

So if anyone has any ideas on how i could lower some costs, alternate components etc i would apreciate it.

p.s getting a cheaper case is NOT an option.

Cheers.

Edited by grim_d, 17 September 2007 - 12:14 AM.


#2 throwingks

throwingks

    X-S Freak

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,957 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:33 AM

I think you can do better on the video card.
It all depends on what you use your machine for.

Plus. depending on your OS, going to 4GB of RAM may not be worth it. 32bit OSes can only handle about 3 efficiently.

#3 sicknasty413

sicknasty413

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,590 posts
  • Location:Central VA
  • Interests:Modding... video games... eating... sleeping... computers... and those things we call women.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:38 AM

I have that motherboard smile.gif

#4 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:44 AM

QUOTE(throwingks @ Sep 17 2007, 01:09 AM) View Post

I think you can do better on the video card.
It all depends on what you use your machine for.

Plus. depending on your OS, going to 4GB of RAM may not be worth it. 32bit OSes can only handle about 3 efficiently.


3d modelling as mentioned, it's not a gaming rig and i simply cannot afford a workstation card they are stupidly expensive, i just want to be able to effectivly output to my hdtv. But if you have any suggestions i'm all ears.

I didnt know that about 32bit OS's, i have been out the loop for a long time, but i can always run a 64bit linux build for blender3d

Edited by grim_d, 17 September 2007 - 12:46 AM.


#5 garver

garver

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:52 AM

You may want to look at the e4300/4400 cpus. I just re O/Ced mine to 3.5@ stock volts with a 20 dollar cooler.

#6 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:57 AM

QUOTE(garver @ Sep 17 2007, 01:28 AM) View Post

You may want to look at the e4300/4400 cpus. I just re O/Ced mine to 3.5@ stock volts with a 20 dollar cooler.


i origionally looked at the 4400, but i think the extra 2mb cache, faster FSB and 250Mhz might be wortht he extra 40 quid, however i havnt totally setlled on it yet.

#7 garver

garver

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 02:12 AM

If you water cool they can hit 3.75 with a voltage increase. The biggest differnce is the 2mb cache, but I think it only helps the most in things like Folding at home. The increase in FSB only showed a 1-2% increase in overall speed. They also require better ram to overclock because of the 1333 bus to the 800 of the 4400 which could save you some more money.

Little math.

e4400
3750/10=375x2=750mhz for ram

e6420
3750/8=469x2=938mhz for ram

http://www.xbitlabs....o-e6420_11.html

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820148069 is 150 if you choose e6420

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231098 is 75 if you choose e4400


#8 gordo1111

gordo1111

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 221 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, BC
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 03:18 AM

For the video card I think a 8600gts could do better for a few bucks more. What resolution are you running at?
There's this debate going around the web of which CPU to choose. Personally I'd choose the e6420 because of the higher FSB and L2 cache.

#9 garver

garver

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 479 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 03:31 AM

Just out of curiosity...What hard drive are you going to use?

Also you dont need a 580w powersupply.
http://www.extreme.o...culatorlite.jsp

My computer uses on 410W running an
overclocked e4300@3.5
8800gts
2 sticks 1gb ram
2 HDD
1 dvd
3 fans
2 pci cards

Use that calculator to get a guess of what you need but remember amps are more important that watts. The only benifet I can see from using that powersupply is if the build is going to last for more than 3 years because as power supplys get older they lose the peak wattage.

#10 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 09:03 AM

QUOTE(garver @ Sep 17 2007, 02:48 AM) View Post

If you water cool they can hit 3.75 with a voltage increase. The biggest differnce is the 2mb cache, but I think it only helps the most in things like Folding at home. The increase in FSB only showed a 1-2% increase in overall speed. They also require better ram to overclock because of the 1333 bus to the 800 of the 4400 which could save you some more money.

Little math.

e4400
3750/10=375x2=750mhz for ram

e6420
3750/8=469x2=938mhz for ram

http://www.xbitlabs....o-e6420_11.html

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820148069 is 150 if you choose e6420

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820231098 is 75 if you choose e4400


the FSB on the 6400 is 1066 not 1333, this 6420 is the one step below the ones with 1333. However i am seriously considering going with the 4400


QUOTE(gordo1111 @ Sep 17 2007, 03:54 AM) View Post

For the video card I think a 8600gts could do better for a few bucks more. What resolution are you running at?
There's this debate going around the web of which CPU to choose. Personally I'd choose the e6420 because of the higher FSB and L2 cache.


currently 1280x1024. i looked at the 8600 but it doesnt have the HD options the ATI card does.


QUOTE(garver @ Sep 17 2007, 04:07 AM) View Post

Just out of curiosity...What hard drive are you going to use?

Also you dont need a 580w powersupply.
http://www.extreme.o...culatorlite.jsp

My computer uses on 410W running an
overclocked e4300@3.5
8800gts
2 sticks 1gb ram
2 HDD
1 dvd
3 fans
2 pci cards

Use that calculator to get a guess of what you need but remember amps are more important that watts. The only benifet I can see from using that powersupply is if the build is going to last for more than 3 years because as power supplys get older they lose the peak wattage.


well at current specs it was just under 500w from that calculator and i will be adding a good few more hard drives so i guess it's better to be safe than sorry.

Also my boot HD will be a WD caviar 160gb 7200

Edited by grim_d, 17 September 2007 - 09:22 AM.


#11 gainpresence

gainpresence

    11 herbs and spices

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,971 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 17 September 2007 - 09:38 AM

You might be interested in this:
http://forums.guru3d...ad.php?t=220942

I think you can do something similar with the 7950gx2 and the 6600gt too

Also, nVidia is probably the way to go for 3D, their cards tend to be a little more stable under that load


#12 Albino

Albino

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 739 posts
  • Location:West Yorkshire, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:16 PM

If you do end up running a linux distro so that you can have a 64bit OS, then I would stay away from ATI. A quick look around a couple of linux forums especially the gentoo one will tell you that ATI cards can be more bother than their worth. Nvidia simply have better driver support for their cards under Linux. ATI is rumored to be open sourcing their linux drivers at some point but that may be a long way off yet with all the licencing implications. If they were open sourced tomorrow I would say go with ATI but as of now for linux Nvidia is your best option.

I personally run a couple of different distros on different computers some with ATI some Nvidia, and getting dri to work on newer ati cards was a ball ache, plus if you like beryl, you cant use the fglrx drivers.

#13 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:29 PM

QUOTE(gainpresence @ Sep 17 2007, 10:14 AM) View Post

You might be interested in this:
http://forums.guru3d...ad.php?t=220942

I think you can do something similar with the 7950gx2 and the 6600gt too

Also, nVidia is probably the way to go for 3D, their cards tend to be a little more stable under that load


thats quite interesting, although i don't use 3dsmax.

i think i am going to go for a ati x1950PRO ultimate, it can be softmodded into a firegl v7xxx and for a quarter of the price, it comes in at 103

this leaves me 200 for cooling, this is what im thinking.

QUOTE


Danger Den TDX Intel 775 Block

Laing DDC-1 Ultra 18watt Pump with Plexi Reservoir Top

Black Ice Stealth GT 240 X-Flow

MCT-5 Non-Conductive Solution

Danger Den 1/2" ClearFlex 60 Tubing (5ft)

Zinc Plated Jubilee/Wormdrive Clip 12mm to 20mm (x10)



this comes to 162, but am i missing anything?

Edited by grim_d, 17 September 2007 - 04:55 PM.


#14 grim_d

grim_d

    The Grim Gopher

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,483 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Interests:enjoying life.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 September 2007 - 01:17 AM

finally got it all figured out.

going to get a x1950xt 256mb or an x1800xt 512mb and softmod it into a firegl7350. If i can get it cheap enough i will watercool it too.

Edited by grim_d, 18 September 2007 - 01:31 AM.


#15 EverestX

EverestX

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,351 posts
  • Location:FunkyTown
  • Interests:PC Gamer, Console Collector, Raging Movie & Cartoon Addict, full time nerd.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 September 2007 - 09:28 PM

Well grim, looks like you have your head around this pretty good. I'll say that I don't know jack about 3D rendering, however you might find THIS Card of interest. A friend of mine that is into rendering said it was a good deal.

As for your set up, it all looks pretty nice. On the ram side, I would really see what you can't do to get some 1066/1333 sticks with tighter timings. The timings on the sticks you have chose are just fine though. However, from personal experience I can tell you how very sad it is to find out your ram isn't fast enough to run 1:1 with your CPU overclocked. You will notice the difference between your ram FSB at 800 vs. it's ratted 1066. Running dividers can loose performance and for rendering I would venture to guess that 2gb on tight timings @ 1t will run better than loose timings @2t running 4gb. Some people dont mind the dividers and 2t's, they drive me crazy though.

That PSU you have picked it pretty nice, if you can afford it though the HX620 PSU is much more stable and has less 3/5v rail fluctuation (hyper 580 is known to over volt on the 12v rail, which for OCing can work out great in some cases.)

Just out of curiosity what case? Best of luck.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users