Jump to content


Photo

Assassin's Creed DVD Space Issues Fixed


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Xbox-Scene

Xbox-Scene

    Memba Numero Uno

  • Admin
  • 5,201 posts
  • Location:Yurop
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 October 2007 - 06:12 PM

Assassin's Creed DVD Space Issues Fixed
Posted by XanTium | October 22 13:12 EST | News Category: Xbox360
 
From kotaku.com.au:


During the Assassin's Creed demo down at the Australian Maritime Museum today, creative director Patrice Desilets commented on remarks he made two weeks ago on cramming all the game's data onto the Xbox 360's puny DVD format, and into the PS3's questionable memory density.

According to Desilets, his boss called him the day after the comments were made and they exchanged a few words. All Desilets was willing to say today on the Xbox 360 issue was:
"There's no problem anymore. It's gone."


Full Story: kotaku.com.au






#2 No_Name

No_Name

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,154 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 05:52 PM

If you read a little deeper, the guy was talking about fitting 5 languages on to 1 DVD.

Thats a hard thing to do when you add in game text audio, video and all that fun stuff.

It can be as other companies have shown but its tough to.

This has the abality to get blown out of proporation.

To sum it up, the game will easily fit on to a DVD-9 but fitting 5 full language version is causing them a few problems but they are getting it worked out.

#3 bucko

bucko

    Super Moderator

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,996 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 October 2007 - 06:01 PM

Ya, it's called compression.

#4 Kraptreon

Kraptreon

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:CANADA!
  • Interests:they smell like cheese but they're not they're more like frogs
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 October 2007 - 06:09 PM

Or maybe if they didn't try to cram in all this prerendered video, with todays grafics its no problem to render everything realtime.

#5 killerklan

killerklan

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 06:26 PM

QUOTE(Kraptreon @ Oct 22 2007, 06:45 PM) View Post

Or maybe if they didn't try to cram in all this prerendered video, with todays grafics its no problem to render everything realtime.

Agreed, I for one prefer using in game engine for the cut scenes the pre-rendered stuff just takes away for me personal the feel of the game.

#6 naranjo

naranjo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 06:29 PM

OR MAYBE A FLIP DVD, LIKE OLD DAYS....

#7 Bad_Ad

Bad_Ad

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 October 2007 - 06:47 PM

or localised versions?

1 language per disk x 5

#8 UltimateNinja9

UltimateNinja9

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 07:07 PM

QUOTE
According to Desilets, his boss called him the day after the comments were made and they exchanged a few words. All Desilets was willing to say today on the Xbox 360 issue was:
"There's no problem anymore. It's gone."


Sounds to me like MS exchanged a few words with his boss to get him silenced.

#9 Ranger72

Ranger72

    MOD GOD

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,805 posts
  • Location:Cumberland MD.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 October 2007 - 07:26 PM

They probably just took a few levels off the game and change the story a bit to match the smaller game.

#10 slipstream

slipstream

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 119 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 07:29 PM

QUOTE(Ranger72 @ Oct 22 2007, 08:02 PM) View Post

They probably just took a few levels off the game and change the story a bit to match the smaller game.


yes.... because THATS the most logical way to go about it.... tongue.gif

I agree with the 1 language per disc, i dont plan on playing it in every language, so why give it to me that way?

#11 Ranger72

Ranger72

    MOD GOD

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,805 posts
  • Location:Cumberland MD.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 22 October 2007 - 07:40 PM

QUOTE(slipstream @ Oct 22 2007, 08:05 PM) View Post

yes.... because THATS the most logical way to go about it.... tongue.gif

I agree with the 1 language per disc, i dont plan on playing it in every language, so why give it to me that way?



Actually yes it is. It would save time and money.

If they take it down to only one language per region then they would have to make a new master copy for each language and market each differently.

To save time and money it would have been easier to just cut a few levels and be done with it. I am sure they also cut the same levels out of the PS3 version to make each version the same.

#12 No_Name

No_Name

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,154 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 08:02 PM

QUOTE(bucko @ Oct 22 2007, 07:37 PM) View Post

Ya, it's called compression.


Compression can only do so much.

You cant really compress text, audio you can only compress so much and if they are doing fully localized audio thats still alot of files and space needed for all 5 languages.

I dount they will cut lavels from the game, too much work to fix the story and re-test the game, too much risk there.

Its possible they might cut the level of localized content or could generate more than one localized version.
They have options open to them which does not mean cutting game content.

I am sure they have a solution, the guy said it was a challenge, he did not say it was impossible.

#13 warlordship

warlordship

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 22 October 2007 - 08:09 PM

sure, it'd be EASIER to cut levels, but that is not what we wanna hear.

#14 pingrr

pingrr

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Location:Maryland
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 22 October 2007 - 08:12 PM

if all 5 languages are on one dvd it gives you the option to buy the game from some cheaper asian store.


#15 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 22 October 2007 - 08:12 PM

And you guys see why MS says "no comment" to everything...

Because this poor guy was actually honest with us consumers and probably got reamed for it..






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users