X-S Messiah

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 23 October 2007 - 12:43 AM

After seeing a few etched laptops recently, I've been thinking about getting it done myself. I like the idea of customizing my stuff and laser etching my new MBP would be a great way to make it my own and to serve as a theft deterrent at the same time.

I'm looking for ideas since I'm not really good at this sort of thing and there's lots of talented people who visit this forum. I'm mainly looking for something techy possibly mixed in with something organic like a tree or something else. My first idea was some some sort of PCB design (xbox mobo??) but i'm not sure how that would look if it covered the whole lid (maybe just a corner would be enough?).

It would have to stand the test of time and not be a fad that I'm gonna get tired of in the future.

Here are 2 that I particularly like if it's any help:
IPB Image

Link
(nice except for the flowers)

Thanks to anyone who can give me some ideas.
(BTW, it's a 17" MBP)

Phil

Edited by atomiX, 23 October 2007 - 12:45 AM.

#2 gasclown

gasclown

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,128 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 24 October 2007 - 05:45 AM

To have anything etched you will need to have it in layered, vector format. The printer/etcher will charge you to vectorise it. So, a much simpler design would be less costly. The design in the pic you showed uses ps 'brushes' that are very popular/common (to a very nice effect though IMO). That's good and bad - the good is that you could redraw it layered quite easily, the bad is that ps brushes aren't vector...

I have a feeling you are going to either take a massive learning curve or pay dearly for a design such as that. if you have a friend whose capable, it would definately pay to have them 'vectorise' your design before getting quotes for etching.

good luck