Jump to content


Photo

New Softmod Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 dalvenjia

dalvenjia

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Mars
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 November 2007 - 04:58 AM

First of all my thanx to all the hard working people of X-S, without them the xbox would be boring and long forgotten by now, to Krayzie for his great packages, roofus & anger for the great tool Xplorer360, the xbins crew, XboxLinux project and this great forum.

I consider this Newbie proof and easier than any tutorial I have read(so far) only because this involves no Driver modification and is as simple as Drag'n'Drop.

Lets get started

*Make sure your box is NOT a 1.6 version because you can not use other than official memory cards with that version.*Not tried myself but told so.

Just make or buy the adapter and check if your USB memory is compatible(there was a site with compatibility list but seems down: HERE) just start your xbox, then plug the stick, then go to memory, the Dashboard will automatically reformat the drive to accept savegames. So no, you do not need to format your stick before inserting it into the Xbox. Note that the Xbox does not ask for confirmation before formatting, so do not insert memory sticks with PC files unless you want the stick erased!
If you get an error saying that the memory is damaged it is incompatible.
If you get a not working correctly error the memory is compatible and formatted.

Now, with a working memory lets continue:

Get yourself a copy of Krayzie's Ndure Installer at the "Usual Place" - guide here (if you use Firefox you can get ChatZilla and FireFTP instead of mIRC and FlashFXP)

The package is in: /XBOX/Console Based Applications/exploits/_Packages/Krayzie Ndure Installer
Pick the one that matches the game you are going to use, 007: Agent Under Fire, MechAssult or Splinter Cell. I recommend Splinter Cell, because any version of that disc can be used. All copies of 007:AUF that are NOT Platinum Hits will work. MechAssult is harder to spot, ONLY Discs with part number X08-82261, X08-82262 or X08-82264 will work.

***Read Krayzie's README, included in all the packages, YOU NEED TO KNOW WHAT ARE YOU DOING.***

Now Create a New Folder in your Desktop and name it Exploit, unzip your gamesaves to the Exploit folder, you should get the 8 digits (Hex code) folders (inside the UDATA folder in the ZIP) to the Exploit folder.(I'm using Splinter Cell in the pics, MA and 007:AUF games are in a single gamesave)

Get Xplorer360(HERE)

Connect the USB memory in your PC(decline any formatting request by windows -if any-)

Open Xplorer360

Load your memory(the program searches and load any FATX formatted drive)
IPB Image

And you should get this:
IPB Image

Then select Partition0 and Drag'n'Drop the folder(Folders if using Splinter Cell) to the right section of the window.
IPB Image


Wait for the transfer and should get this:
IPB Image

Now your memory is ready, go to your xbox and copy the game save, Splinter cell users copy both "LINUX_Profile" and "Install Linux" and make sure there is no other save for splinter cell BEFORE copying to the hard drive.

Load the game :

The 007 AUF version needs to be loaded a certain way in order to get the save working otherwise it will just boot to a black screen. When you get to the load game screen DO NOT select load game but start a New one. Then when you reached the actual game (after the cutscene), hit the Start Button and select Load Game, then select the Exploited Gamesave.

For Splinter Cell: Start Game > LINUX > Then press "A" button over Checkpoints and the exploit loads.

For MechAssault: Select CAMPIGN, then RUN LINUX.

Now just follow Krayzie's on screen instructions.

Good Luck and Happy SoftModing

Dalvenjia

#2 dalvenjia

dalvenjia

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Mars
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 10 November 2007 - 12:07 AM

Got the compatibility list from Google's Cached pages, don't know if is the last one(very few entries) but you can look HERE.

Cheers

#3 pepsi_max2k

pepsi_max2k

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 15 January 2008 - 04:23 PM

QUOTE(dalvenjia @ Nov 6 2007, 04:34 AM) View Post
*Make sure your box is NOT a 1.6 version because you can not use other than official memory cards with that version.*Not tried myself but told so.


i've seen a number of places say usb sticks can be used with 1.6 (see http://www.xbox-linu...mory_Card_HOWTO ) so either that warning was a reference to Xplorer360 or it should actually work... will try myself in a few days and update.

#4 cokefunk

cokefunk

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 January 2008 - 08:03 PM

is this an alternative to hotswapping? can it do the same?

#5 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 24 January 2008 - 11:00 AM

Hi,

it is more an alternative way of installing a gamesave exploit on your xbox.

it's purpose is identical to the hotswap method. (softmodding your xbox)

You will need an original exploitable game to make this work.

You don't need the action replay kit anymore.

regards.


#6 cokefunk

cokefunk

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 January 2008 - 08:22 PM

i see. do i need to download these gamesaves?

will i be able to do everything the softmod you hotswap with would do?

#7 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 25 January 2008 - 10:28 AM

Hi,

yes, you are able to do everything the hotswap way, and you don't need the gamsaves with the hotswap method.

the gamesave method has the advantage that you don't need to open your xbox to softmod it. You can uninstall the softmod if you need to send in the xbox for repair. All the seals at the bottom of the xbox are still intact, so you can still count on microsoft to repair the unit.

hotswapping is dangerous. It can damage your harddisk, your computer and your xbox. The ide bus is not designed for hot swapping. It has the advantage that you don't need any additional hardware to perform the mod.

It's up to you if you are willing to take the risk. Make sure the GND of your pc and the one of your xbox are properly connected together before you start the hotswap. A simple wire between the xbox metal shield and a screw of the pc case can do the job.

regards.



#8 brando56894

brando56894

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 31 January 2008 - 09:17 PM

i followed all of the directions and my thumbdrive is readable on the xbox (the saves are there i can see them) but it doesnt give me the option to copy the installer files (saves) from the thumbdrive to the HDD the only option there is delete. this isnt a problem with HDD space since there is only 5 saves on it.

#9 BenBenMan

BenBenMan

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 01 February 2008 - 03:10 AM

Nice tutorial, I did mine the same way about a year ago and it worked flawlessly. It's great not having to screw around with Action Replay's drivers. smile.gif

#10 madferit

madferit

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 01:18 PM

QUOTE(brando56894 @ Jan 31 2008, 08:53 PM) View Post

i followed all of the directions and my thumbdrive is readable on the xbox (the saves are there i can see them) but it doesnt give me the option to copy the installer files (saves) from the thumbdrive to the HDD the only option there is delete. this isnt a problem with HDD space since there is only 5 saves on it.



that's because you've got the folder selected instead of the savegame file itself, tap right on the D-Pad and you'll get the option to copy it to the HD wink.gif

#11 brando56894

brando56894

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 192 posts
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 04 February 2008 - 07:11 PM

awesome! thank you so much!

#12 gamerzhouse

gamerzhouse

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 February 2008 - 11:01 AM

can not get xplorer to work. Continue to get xplorer could not find a fatx drive. Any suggestions?

#13 Interspy24

Interspy24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 February 2008 - 06:17 AM

3 Questions

1. Does this method need a memory card for the xbox?
2. With the usb adapter (the $10 piece in the links), can an external hard drive be used with the xbox?
3. Will a harmony remote work with the xbox?

Thanks

Edited by Interspy24, 14 February 2008 - 06:18 AM.


#14 obcd

obcd

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 February 2008 - 11:09 AM

Hi,

1. No, they are using a compatible pc usb memory stick.

2. The device connected to the xbox will be reformatted with the fatx partition system. Unless you have nothing interesting on your harddisk, I wouldn't connect it to the xbox. Some might work, others won't.

3. If you are able to write an USB client driver for that remote that works on the xbox, it will work. Otherwise, it won't.

regards.

#15 Interspy24

Interspy24

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 14 February 2008 - 01:24 PM

QUOTE(obcd @ Feb 14 2008, 05:45 AM) View Post

Hi,

1. No, they are using a compatible pc usb memory stick.

2. The device connected to the xbox will be reformatted with the fatx partition system. Unless you have nothing interesting on your harddisk, I wouldn't connect it to the xbox. Some might work, others won't.

3. If you are able to write an USB client driver for that remote that works on the xbox, it will work. Otherwise, it won't.

regards.


Thanks for clarifying on the above questions. I have a large external hard drive with a lot of movies and music, so I don't want to risk losing them. I'll see if others had luck with the harmony remotes, thanks again.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users