6 replies to this topic

#1 Thundercleese

Thundercleese

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts

Posted 10 January 2008 - 03:36 PM

hi there guys ive got a new 360 with 0079fl. I have purchased a passkey79 (with cable and connector) and all other stuff for connect to comp. I removed the black epoxy no problem, but im stuck on the tiny soldering. I chickened out and just put it back together and its working no probs (at least no damage).

Im not very experienced in soldering but I did a little back in school, nothing this tiny. Anyways heres my questions.

1) In maximus install tut step 2 is put solder over pads?? then step 3 is remove solder from pads ? what the?
2) I see how to solder the connector like step 5 no probs, but how to get it to look like step 7 pic i have no idea.
3)Ive never desoldered, but read about it. How will it only suck up excess solder so nothing is bridged on connector, while keeping the connector properly attached and working?
4)Should i just give up and try to find someone to solder for me
5) if i do give up is anyone on here from australia that will do this for a reasonable fee? Or should i just search for an electronics shop perhaps?

Thanks for you time. Please forgive me if these answers are elsewhere, I HAVE searched and read quite a few threads similar but not exactly same questions. Ive also googled a bunch of soldering guides but none seem to have the info i require.

#2 Birdmanrsx

Birdmanrsx

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 11 January 2008 - 02:47 AM

They way I did it and I have never done any soldering that small before was i tinned all the edges on the little connector first and i scratched away some of the top of the solder on the connecter on the board and also applied flux. I then just pressed the connector to the board and just touched each pin until they were all soldered.