Photo

Trying To Softmod An Xbox That May Be Chipped?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Random Username

Random Username

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 15 January 2008 - 07:25 PM

Hi, I am totally new to this and hoping for some advice. I have managed to mod one Xbox using Splintercell and the Krayzie_SC-PAL_Ndure_Installer_v1.1, but my other one is proving more complicated!

I bought it second hand in Game, it appears identical to the other box, except when I start it up it says 'Xecuter2' instead of Microsoft on the loading screen, and I can't access Live using it. I've tried many combinations of button presses to see if I can make it do anything different, but no luck. I couldn't ftp into it either, so I tried softmodding it in the same way as the other one. It works fine until it asks me to restart and remove the game, then I just get a black screen any time I turn it on. If I put the game back in, I can get into the softmod menu and remove it again. When on the softmod menu, I can ftp into the box.

Would anyone be able to explain to me what I need to do to sort out this problem? I've taken a couple of screenshots of the basic file structure via ftp (with the non working softmod installed):

IPB Image

IPB Image

The files dated Nov must be ones from the previous owner, which is why I took screenshots of those folders in particular.

Thanks smile.gif

#2 obcd

obcd

X-S Hacker

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,737 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 15 January 2008 - 09:18 PM

Hi,

it might be a Tsop flashed xbox. Probably the previous owner returned it to a somewhat normal state to sell it. Check if it plays backup games or try the Slayers rescue disk and see if it boots it. In that case, it has an altered bios, either by a modchip or by a Tsop flash.