10 replies to this topic

#1 hecz

hecz

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 133 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 07:33 PM

Where can I buy the motor that moves the lens up and down? Ive seen a video of a guy replacing it with a pc cd rom but ive checked every cd rom that I have and the motor wont match.

Ive checked ebay and found nothing.

thanx.

#2 RDC

RDC

X-S Seraphic

• Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,792 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2008 - 08:13 PM

Look or post in the 360 B/S/T section of the forums. And it would be back and forth or forward/backward, the laser itself has the coils in it that are responsible for moving it up/down. wink.gif

#3 hecz

hecz

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 133 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 08:24 PM

Sorry Im not that good at english .... correct me if im wrong, U said that I wrote it wrong and the laser is the one that goes up and down?

By the way can u help? I just adjusted the lasers POT (or whatever) with a multimeter set to 20k ohm never passed the 2.8 mark and the laser just stopped moving back and forward. I have two lens and neither would move....so thats why I guessed it was the motor. What do u think?

#4 RDC

RDC

X-S Seraphic

• Head Moderators
  • 8,792 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 09:58 PM

The actual laser is what makes the lens move up/down. The Sled Motor is the one that moves the laser from the center of the disc to the outside, back and forth. Check to see that the cable for that motor is plugged in, just make sure all of them are plugged in good. If you've changed the laser you need to also check that cable, it's very easy to damage the ends of it where the contacts are and that may be why your laser isn't working.

#5 hecz

hecz

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 133 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 10:45 PM