13 replies to this topic

#1 lisek99

lisek99

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 08:15 AM

Hello everybody,

I am new to all that flashing stuff so I did not know that I should save my original firmware so it is gone. I flashed my Benq with iXtreme v1.41 x8 and it is a little bit too loud for me. So I decided to flash it again with same firmware but x5. I begin to research how to do it but unfortunately I found out that I should save my original firmware in order to do it. So my question is, can I still flesh my drive without original firmware ?

#2 rickai

rickai

X-S Young Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 08:43 AM

yes if you still have the 8x just take the key off. then put the key on the 5x and flash your benq with it

#3 lisek99

lisek99

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 09:17 AM

Ok. thatís good. One more question, why do I need to save original firmware for if I can still flash it anyway ?

#4 podger

podger

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 27 January 2008 - 10:45 AM

You should keep it so that if you ever need to restore it to it's original stock state.... It's always go to have a reference, just incase you're the first user with a new version or something.... In the case of Benq there are 5 different version already with different key locations, iXteme is based on 1 of them, but if you don't keep the original you wouldn't know which one.....

Edited by podger, 27 January 2008 - 10:47 AM.

#5 lisek99

lisek99

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 07:40 PM

Ok, so now when there is no chance to get original firmware back, can I just connect my xbox to the computer again and back up current firmware or it does not matter in the future any way because it will be useless ?

#6 podger

podger

X-S Freak

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts