Jump to content


Photo

Was 3 Red Rings Now 2 Rings


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 desi77

desi77

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 March 2008 - 01:53 AM

hello ladies and gentlmen

can someone tell what am i doing wrong. sad.gif
i got three red rings on my xbox and i follow a tutorial ------remove xclams, drill holes, clean cup and gpu, apply sink paste,,, hook up dvd and fan turn it on

i should have got three red rings and run xbox for 15min-----turn it off and it should have been working without a problem
but insted of three i got two...............now what can some one suggest me anything please---------any help will be greatly appreciated........thanks
sad.gif

#2 Master-D

Master-D

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 55 posts
  • Location:Plovdiv - Bulgaria
  • Interests:DJ'ing , Board'ing , Play'ing , Drift'ing , .... , ....
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 12:35 PM

This is in Xbox One or Xbox 360 ?
Is this the picture of your Xbox IPB Image ?
If is this - Ring of Death . Only M$ i think can help you with this .
Is not this or this : http://video.google....2...03144&hl=en
This mean your Fan dont work ( over heating ) .

Mas

#3 desi77

desi77

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 March 2008 - 03:29 PM

i had three light after fixing it now i got two ----i know xbox is not hot but it keep giving me 2 red lights
Does no one knows?

#4 xess

xess

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Location:Scotland
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 05:57 PM

You are in the wrong forum, this is for the original xbox- you want to be in the 360 forum.
Two red lights is overheating. Make sure the fan is connected and working. Maybe you forgot to reconnect it?

#5 Alex548

Alex548

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Your mom's house
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 07:43 PM

Moved. . . .

#6 XxDUNITxX

XxDUNITxX

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 07:46 PM

loosen the screws/bolts on your cpu only a little bit.

#7 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 07:52 PM

wats the secondary error code?

#8 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 March 2008 - 10:24 PM

There is no secondary error code since it is overheating. You do not have good contact with the heatsink and your chips.

I am 100% positive you have an tiny air gap there...

(lobing on extra thermal paste doesn't help either... it should be a very thin coat.

I would play with tightening and losening the screws.. if that doesn;t work you may need to put washers in.

Without giving the exact details of the mod you need I cant really help further.

#9 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 10:43 PM

two red lights does give a secondary error code. i dont mean onscreen, but by using the sync and eject button

#10 Scan-C

Scan-C

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,569 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 11:04 PM

QUOTE(scuba156 @ Mar 15 2008, 11:19 PM) View Post

two red lights does give a secondary error code. i dont mean onscreen, but by using the sync and eject button


Not if it's overheating what is the most likely situation here. At least zephyr and falcon do not I'm not sure about xenon...

#11 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 11:07 PM

my zaphyr board does, gave me a 0011 with 2 red lights the other day (CPU over heating). if you look at the error codes explained thread, there are a few secondary error codes that are due to overheating

if you need proof that a 2 red light board does give a secondary error code (no matter what revision motherboard it is), im always happy to provide it

Edited by scuba156, 15 March 2008 - 11:10 PM.


#12 Scan-C

Scan-C

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,569 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 11:15 PM

Hm, only tested it on one zephyr board and it went straight back to 2 red lights without showing a code and I think my falcon did it too... not sure tho...
Anyway, it's overheating so time to check the contact between heatsink and C/GPU biggrin.gif

Edit:

I don't need proof smile.gif You seem pretty confident. Maybe my board was just really dead smile.gif Couldn't revive it sad.gif

Edited by Scan-C, 15 March 2008 - 11:17 PM.


#13 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 March 2008 - 11:22 PM

mine is dead too, i beleive the temp sensor has blown. it gives 2ROD at boot up with the CPU overheat error 0011. i have tried everything, even gives the same error with the CPU heatsink removed (which should give me a different secondry error). heatsinks dont get warm, and the PSU shuts off all power to the board except the 3.3V line. but anyway, this thread isnt about me

#14 desi77

desi77

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 March 2008 - 01:17 AM

well ladies and gentelmen
red lights are gone--------------after fu***King around for hours and hours i am not getting any red light but now my game freeze after 15 mins of playing...i can start up game again it will go for 14-16 mins it freeze again. help about this freezeing problem
sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

#15 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 March 2008 - 04:33 AM

Freezing means the problem is not fixed...

As the box heats up you get thermal expansion and you break the contacts again causing the box to lock up.

Some boxes can not be fixed with an xclamp replacement.

Did you use a heatgun?? You really need to reflow the solder under the chips.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users