Jump to content


Photo

Questions!


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 carlospizza90

carlospizza90

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 18 March 2008 - 05:54 AM

i bricked my motherboard, it was a version 1.0. anyway, besides that, i was wondering if i buy another motherboard that is a version 1.0, can i use the same hard drive, or do i have to use the one that will come with it?

#2 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 March 2008 - 06:04 AM

That depends on how you were modded, and how your old drive was setup.

If you weren't modded at all, then you'll need to make an EEPROM reader in order to use your old drive.

#3 carlospizza90

carlospizza90

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 19 March 2008 - 05:56 AM

QUOTE(Bomb Bloke @ Mar 17 2008, 11:40 PM) View Post

That depends on how you were modded, and how your old drive was setup.

If you weren't modded at all, then you'll need to make an EEPROM reader in order to use your old drive.



whats is the eeporm, and how do i get it?

#4 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 March 2008 - 07:59 AM

The EEPROM is a chip on your motherboard that contains the data that makes your system "unique". This includes a special key that's used so that the HDD attached will only work with that one console.

A PC can unlock the drive then relock it to work with another system, but to do that it needs a copy of the relevant EEPROM data.

Follow the EEPROM reader link in my sig for more info on this.

Alternatively, you might be able to fix your old motherboard. What happened to it?

#5 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 19 March 2008 - 01:37 PM

I believe he flashed the TSOP with the wrong bios. A modchip would fix it.

edit:I think I'm thinking of someone else, but maybe I'm right anyway.

Edited by Movax, 19 March 2008 - 01:40 PM.


#6 carlospizza90

carlospizza90

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 20 March 2008 - 04:51 AM

QUOTE(Movax @ Mar 19 2008, 07:13 AM) View Post

I believe he flashed the TSOP with the wrong bios. A modchip would fix it.

edit:I think I'm thinking of someone else, but maybe I'm right anyway.


no i didnt even get to install the chip... i tryed soldering the D0 wire, and i forgot to add some solder to the wire it self to make it easier for me, but then when i began to solder the wrie, i lifted the iron, and the tracing came out sad.gif

#7 Movax

Movax

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 20 March 2008 - 01:28 PM

That may be fixable...what happens now?

#8 kirky1991

kirky1991

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Crawley,Uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 20 March 2008 - 02:06 PM

That is fixable, follow the D0 point back to another Via (gold hole thing) then you solder a 30awg sized piece of wire to it, which you run to the top D0. And then you can carry on as you are.

I have read that Many times and you may not even have to join the ripped trace to the top D0, You may just be able to solder to the top D0 straight away and forget about the bottom ripped one


wink.gif

#9 carlosram32

carlosram32

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 March 2008 - 05:52 AM

QUOTE(kirky1991 @ Mar 20 2008, 07:42 AM) View Post

That is fixable, follow the D0 point back to another Via (gold hole thing) then you solder a 30awg sized piece of wire to it, which you run to the top D0. And then you can carry on as you are.

I have read that Many times and you may not even have to join the ripped trace to the top D0, You may just be able to solder to the top D0 straight away and forget about the bottom ripped one
wink.gif


hey kirky, thanks but i was trying to solder it on the back of the mobo, there is no gold things, and i also tooke off the solder point.


#10 kirky1991

kirky1991

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Location:Crawley,Uk
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 March 2008 - 02:35 PM

Hi, I am sure there is, What i'll try to do is open up an xbox and have a look, take a pic then post it up with what you got to do!

#11 carlosram32

carlosram32

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 22 March 2008 - 11:22 PM

QUOTE(kirky1991 @ Mar 22 2008, 08:11 AM) View Post

Hi, I am sure there is, What i'll try to do is open up an xbox and have a look, take a pic then post it up with what you got to do!



SWEET THanks, i would greatly appreciate it a lot love.gif biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users