Jump to content


Photo

How Do I Reset The Family Timer Settings/passcode That Was Put On My 3


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 ilikemuffins000

ilikemuffins000

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 March 2008 - 05:26 AM

Many people have asked how they can reset the family timer settings and/or the passcode on their Xbox 360 console. I have the answer! No cheap tricks! Reset all passcodes and security questions with this code:

1. On the 360 dashboard, scroll over to the "System" tab.
2. On the System tab, click "Console Settings".
3. Scroll down in console settings and click "System Info".
4. When the system info box comes up type in this sequence:
LT RT X Y LB RB Y "Left Stick in" (press it in) Y Y
A box should come up and say, "Would you like to reset the console to the factory defaults?"
Click Reset and you're done!

If this doesn't work, and that's highly unlikely, call Microsoft at 1-800-4MY-XBOX (U.S.). Provide them with your registration info and they will tell you how to reset the console.

HAPPY GAMING!!! biggrin.gif

#2 gta

gta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 05 April 2008 - 03:03 PM

It didn't reset the family timer pass on my Australian 360 although it did back out of the system info screen (normally have to push B to do that). I know my password, I was just testing. Is this the same procedure MS tell people who call up? I read that they give out a unique button combo based on the 360 serial number but I've never called to confirm.

Edited by gta, 05 April 2008 - 03:04 PM.


#3 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 06 April 2008 - 10:41 AM

I tried a few combinations - what worked for me was:

LT RT X Y LB RB "left d-pad" (hold left analog stick in) "right d-pad" x2

I tried a few combinations before this one - I'd actually set the passcode myself to see if it would work and was surprised that it did!

#4 gta

gta

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 07 April 2008 - 12:25 PM

I called xbox support and they confirmed the same procedure. The code varies depending on your serial number.

Mine was LT, RT, X, Y, LB, RB, D-pad UP, A, X, A. It asked me if I wanted to reset settings when I correctly entered that combo. That code doesn't work on my other 360, so it is somewhat unique. I wonder how many support calls MS has received because parents forgot the password or the child set it without knowing what it does.

Edited by gta, 07 April 2008 - 12:41 PM.


#5 zanic77

zanic77

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 June 2008 - 01:07 AM

QUOTE(Martinchris23 @ Apr 6 2008, 11:17 AM) View Post

I tried a few combinations - what worked for me was:

LT RT X Y LB RB "left d-pad" (hold left analog stick in) "right d-pad" x2

I tried a few combinations before this one - I'd actually set the passcode myself to see if it would work and was surprised that it did!



hey .. when u do this code thing... does this reset the timer to its usual time .. or does it turn the family timer off completley

#6 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 20 June 2008 - 04:18 AM

seeing as the code to reset the family timer is COMPLETLY different on each and every console, no code in here will work except for the console it is 'linked' to

#7 Boobers

Boobers

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:none

Posted 30 June 2008 - 02:00 PM

Actually one did..

I was searching around for the 1-800 for XBOX and GOOGLE brought me to this page..

I said to myself, I said, "Self, what the hell"..

So I tried ilikemuffins000's code of:

LT RT X Y LB RB Y "Left Stick in" (press it in) Y Y

And viola'.... It took me to a screen that said, "This will reset all settings to factory default" yada yada yada and "Do you want to proceed"..

I said YES and it reset and booom... The Family Code setting was gone..

So, I am wondering if this is some sort of universal reset code... If I get time later, I am going to play with it and see if it will do it again..

B

#8 Martinchris23

Martinchris23

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,900 posts
  • Location:Scotland, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 01 July 2008 - 01:49 PM

I tried that on mine and it didn't work, hence why I tested different combinations and found it by process of elimination. There's nowhere near enough combinations to satisfy it being unique, but they'll be part of your serial number which will dictate which code it is.

I bet if everyone called MS and posted their combination onto a database, there can only be a maximum of 10,000 since the last 4 buttons will (possibly) be one of either a D-pad direction, Left or right stick 'push', or A, B, X or Y.

The fact that yours (boobers) worked as well as ilikemuffins000, means there will be a similarity in your serial number. That's my bet anyway.

It's actually a moot point since a call to MS will get you the code anyway.

Edited by Martinchris23, 01 July 2008 - 01:49 PM.


#9 Boobers

Boobers

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 686 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:none

Posted 02 July 2008 - 02:52 AM

Yea, yer right..

But anything that saves me from being on hold for 20 mins, then spending 10 mins explaining the problem, then another ten minutes trying different things that have NOTHING to do with the problem at hand and finally getting to the "tech" saying, "OK, well I guess we'll have to give you a RESET code" is a big plus in my book..

Sure would be nice if MS could just set this all up on a web page so people can go RIGHT to the solution..

I know, I know.. There are oodles of reasons against something like that.

But I can dream.. biggrin.gif


B

#10 wackykris

wackykris

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 July 2008 - 09:23 AM

HOLY SHIZZZNIZZLE i figured out mine no joke i was gonna call microsoft but they arnt open so i thought i look it up and none of those codes works so i was like hmm LT, RT, X, Y, LB, RB, Y, HOLD LEFT STICK IN AND I PUSHED X,X AND IT WAS LIKE BAM I WAS LIKE HOLY CRAPO OUT OF ALL THE POSIBLE COMBOS I GOT IT RIGHT OFF THE BAT WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT

#11 Imsohappy

Imsohappy

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 September 2009 - 03:06 PM

Wow mn i wasalo just about to give up when i tried your code and boom it orked it usaly just backd out of the system info screen butr this time it when to reset and it worked for me so thanks man thanks a lot

#12 jabee70

jabee70

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 11 December 2009 - 05:56 PM

[b]yep wackykris yours worked 4 me thanks m8 biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif smile.gif


#13 under420dog

under420dog

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Location:Lake Geneva,WI
  • Interests:anything....
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 12 December 2009 - 02:05 AM

UPDATE......

the new dash has the option to reset the console to factory defaults already...

#14 maddog0963

maddog0963

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 December 2010 - 04:42 AM

I was wondering if doing this may have caused my console to be banned? My wife purchased this console from a neighbor & when we cut it on the family timer was locked we reset it using one of the codes in the forum & now when we went to hook it to the net the console was banned. Any help would be great.

#15 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,741 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 30 December 2010 - 04:52 AM

QUOTE(maddog0963 @ Dec 29 2010, 09:42 PM) View Post

I was wondering if doing this may have caused my console to be banned? My wife purchased this console from a neighbor & when we cut it on the family timer was locked we reset it using one of the codes in the forum & now when we went to hook it to the net the console was banned. Any help would be great.

no, this wouldnt result in a ban, it was probably already banned when you bought it




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users