Jump to content


Photo

X360 And Hdmi


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 08 May 2008 - 12:33 PM

Not sure if this is the right section to post in but here goes..

Recently got a new TV - it has HDMI inputs
My xbox 360 is connected to the TV through HDMI1

I turn on my X360 - it turns on..
Then I switch to HDMI1 on the TV..
The X360 then restarts for some weird reason..

Also, if I change input in the middle of a game - and then come back to HDMI1 it will restart..

Why?


#2 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 May 2008 - 09:51 PM

im guessing you also have a hacked up AV cable pluged it to get optical sound to your rceiver.

if you do, then you will need to open up the metal sheilding on the end of the AV cable, and cut the only wire that loops back into the AV plug. that wire grounds 2 pins to tell the 360 what output to use. when HDMI is plugged in, it over rides that signal, but only if the HDMI signal is kept. if the console looses the HDMI signal from the TV, it will then default to SD/HD via the component cables and reset to make the video signal changes take effect

#3 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 08 May 2008 - 11:51 PM

Yeah, I probably shouldve mentioned that - using the AV cable for optical sound and hdmi for the tv..

Do you have any picture guides on how to open the metal shielding? biggrin.gif

Thanks for your kind help.

#4 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 10 May 2008 - 05:14 AM

there really arnt many guides for it. basically all you have to do is get a small flat head screw driver and pry the clips open. some have a bit of solder joining the metal but it ussually breaks when you pry it apart with a bit of force

#5 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 May 2008 - 12:10 AM

Sweet
IT WORKED biggrin.gif

Opened it up with my bare fingers, surprised to see that many cables ohmy.gif

Had no idea which one to cut, couldnt see if any of them looped..
But then this small one appeared, I cut that sucker and assembled the cable thingy again..

Turned on my TV, turned my x360, switched to HDMI and the x360 didnt reboot biggrin.gif

Im so happy
I owe you one thousand theoretical dollars

Thank you

#6 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 May 2008 - 01:50 PM

Alright, doing the surgery I think I killed the optical sound input somehow :S
I get no sound

sound through tv (component audio ones) works fine tho sad.gif

#7 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 21 May 2008 - 06:02 PM

get out a multimeter and check the optical ports pins. if i remember correctly, the middle and right pin should be 5V and the left is ground.

also, try a different optical cable, and possibly try another source (like a DVD player)

another thing you can check in plug in an optical cable into the 360 and turn it on. unplug the other end of the optical cable from the surround sound/TV and look into the cable. you should be able to see a red light coming through the cable

#8 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 May 2008 - 01:14 AM

I just used my PS3 with the same optical cable - no issues there
So its not the cable and I definitely ****** something up in the AV thingy ^^

Multimeter? hmm - not sure where to get one of those..

Didnt the Elite X360s get some kind of slim AV cable?
Wondering if I should buy one of those
Do you know where can I buy them and how much they are?

#9 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 23 May 2008 - 03:45 AM

yes there is a slim audio dongle for HDMI consoles. if i remember correctly there not sold seperatly. you may be able to find some on ebay though

#10 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 May 2008 - 04:45 PM

Couldnt find any that would ship to my country - I cant even find the regular(component) AV cable, on my usual goto sites so I can try again sad.gif

Edited by Huleboeren, 23 May 2008 - 04:47 PM.


#11 Rabagast

Rabagast

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 23 May 2008 - 08:34 PM

Huleboeren, try modnet.no? (i guess your .no:)

I don't understand much about opening cables, but please explain if you find it out, have same prblem

#12 Huleboeren

Huleboeren

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 May 2008 - 01:17 AM

Im from Denmark - but close smile.gif


I searched their site but couldnt find anything - do you know if they will ship to my country?
X360 AV OPTICAL ADAPTER
I believe that is the dongle that comes with the Elite ^ that solution would be much easier than fiddling with multimeters and whatnot biggrin.gif


#13 Rabagast

Rabagast

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 27 May 2008 - 02:36 AM

I can't see why not, the price is the same as far as i know to ship it to Danmark, ask smile.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users