Jump to content


Photo

Firmtool Refusing To Detect Ms28


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 13 May 2008 - 02:26 AM

so, it wouldn't detect it from the sata ports on my motherboard, but the sata ports had acted funny on previous occasions, so i assumed the ports were just broken. so, i bought a sata card, vt6421, which was recommended to me by many people. firmtool still won't recognize the ms28. im using the latest version of iprep, and the ntfs4dos method of flashing. what is going on? why won't it work?

#2 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 May 2008 - 03:06 AM

Is the VIA card recognized in windows?? Do you have the latest drivers installed??

Did you try a different PCI slot??



#3 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 13 May 2008 - 03:28 AM

yes and yes, but no, i didnt try a different pci slot. would trying a different pci slot work?

i should also mention that iprep recognized both the chipset on my motherboard, and the pci card...

Edited by joey10, 13 May 2008 - 03:44 AM.


#4 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 May 2008 - 03:49 AM

Are you using the 10 second trick?

#5 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 13 May 2008 - 05:04 AM

whats that?

#6 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 May 2008 - 06:11 AM

..sigh.. i suggest you read textbooks tutorial if you havnt already

in iPrep, did you select 'Patch MTKFLASH?

when you say it isnt detected, exactly how isnt it detected?

#7 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 13 May 2008 - 06:45 AM

yes, i checked 'patch mtkflash'. and when i say it isn't detected, when i use the 'dsam' command, and the list of devices comes up, the 360 isnt listed.

#8 Havok

Havok

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,745 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 May 2008 - 11:26 PM

First google "xbox 360 textbook" and follow the instructions for the 10 second trick.

Second.. disconnect all your other drives that you are not using.

Third.. It wont say Xbox 360 or anything.. but it should list VIA VT6421.

Its not listing that?

#9 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 13 May 2008 - 11:57 PM

or it may list it as XTREME PRI MASTER

have you tried varying the times at when you turn the 360 on?

also make sure you have the 360 pluged into port 0 of the Sata Card.

once you installed the Sata card, did you re-run iPrep in windows and select the VIA sata PCI card from the drop down menu?

Edited by scuba156, 13 May 2008 - 11:59 PM.


#10 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 12:16 AM

QUOTE(scuba156 @ May 13 2008, 04:33 PM) View Post

or it may list it as XTREME PRI MASTER

have you tried varying the times at when you turn the 360 on?

also make sure you have the 360 pluged into port 0 of the Sata Card.

once you installed the Sata card, did you re-run iPrep in windows and select the VIA sata PCI card from the drop down menu?


yea, it doesnt list either of those things you guys said. i have varied the times in which i turn the 360 on as well, no luck so far with any of the times i tried.... i did rerun iprep, it lists the card as VIA RAID Controller - 3249... im assuming thats right. ill check to see if its in port 0 of my card

#11 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 May 2008 - 12:21 AM

iPrep is listing it wrong, which is most likely causeing you problems. it should be listing it as a 6241, not a 3249. ive had this problem once and it was solved be installing the drivers that came on the CD, not the ones on the net.

if you wish, you can search for a tutorial to hex edit dosflash with the correct port of your VIA Sata card

#12 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 01:14 AM

i get an error when i try to install the drivers on the cd. it says 'install wizard cant find the proper component for the current platform'. im running vista. i downloaded the latest vista drivers for the card off the viaarena site, and it still lists it as 3249.

whats this hexediting stuff? will it be hard to do? id like to avoid it if at all possible

Edited by joey10, 14 May 2008 - 01:29 AM.


#13 scuba156

scuba156

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,036 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 14 May 2008 - 01:49 AM

hex editing is basically changing the contents of your bootable media.

your only options at the moment are:

hex edit the required files to set the correct port

install XP on a different HDD, install the drivers from the CD, and go from there

try dosflash32 to dump/flash the firmware

#14 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 01:58 AM

i cant do the XP thing at the moment.

what would you recommend, the hexedit method or dosflash method? where can i find info and tutorials on each?

#15 joey10

joey10

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 10:39 PM

buuuuuump




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users