Jump to content


Photo

Could It Be A Codec Problem?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Movestar

Movestar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 05:21 PM

Hi guys!

Since some time my XBOX doesn't want to play more and more new movies!
I also put some new codecs from a german XBOX site on the XBMC but they didn't help me.

When I want to watch a new ripped movie (downloaded) the XBOX plays it not from the beginning and the whole movie just "jumps" and I also can hear no sound. Doesnt matter if I use the Media Player or the DVD Player... the same Problem in both of them.

I already put the newest TECH of XBMC on my XBOX and I use the XTV skin.
I use thumbnails for all my movies and i have about 80 movies in one folder.

Thats all the information I can give you and I really hope that somebody could help me out of this sad.gif

greetz


before I forget:

here are the properties of an unplayable Video File:
IPB Image

It's NOT in HD and its a simple .avi with DivX or Xvid codec...

Edited by Movestar, 15 May 2008 - 05:27 PM.


#2 Movestar

Movestar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 17 May 2008 - 06:08 PM

I can't believe that nobody has a clue...

Am I the only one with this problem? ohmy.gif

#3 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 May 2008 - 05:27 AM

Which video/audio codecs is the file using? Something like VirtualDub should be able to give you details.

Where are you playing the files from? The console's HDD? Over the network? If over the network, wired or wireless?

#4 FourTwentySmiles

FourTwentySmiles

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 616 posts
  • Location:In N. Carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 May 2008 - 07:27 AM

I guess you are the only one with this problem. My main XBMCBox has 246 movies and 40 different complete TV Series, and I have no problems like this. I also run the newest T3CH.

The only thing I see thats any different is that you added those codecs.

BTW......Admitted Downloading of Movies, Music or Xbox Games......or questions refering to them could be looked at as talks of piracy ( seeing as how you downloaded it , and not "Back-up" your LEGAL copy of said media)

These forums WILL NOT tolorate piracy in any form.....or discussions of piracy may get you banned. I'm not a site mod......but I do try to remind others.

#5 Movestar

Movestar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 25 May 2008 - 04:46 PM

OK this weekend I found some time to analyse the problem...

btw: a downloaded movie can also be a TV Rip with advertisment and this is legal, at least where I live!

Ok back to topic...

I found the problem but still no solution.
I took another harddisk and put some of the movies which didn't work on the old harddik on the other one. The TECH is the same, the skin too, no additional codecs installed and voilá, the movies work.

Now I really have no clue why the old harddik does not want to play movies, which I recently put on it. The 500GB hard disk has 200GB left and this should not be a problem.

It seems to me like there is a limit, if you put so much on it, it does not play the new added content anymore. It's for sure no file limitation it must be something with the space, the files need.

Does anybody has a solution or a clue what I could do?

#6 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 May 2008 - 02:55 AM

There's a problem with large partitions where if you attempt to copy more then 256gb onto one that hasn't been formatted with 32kb clusters (something only XBPartitioner can do), the new data (and a lot of the old!) will get corrupted during the transfer.

If you reckon that fits the bill, you should backup whatever's on the drive and format it properly.

#7 Movestar

Movestar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 26 May 2008 - 05:50 PM

Yeah that really could be the problem but are you sure that an Boot and Install DVD for XBMC where you can choose if your hard disk is larger than 300GB doesn't do this automatically...

On my 500GB drive I also have more partitions than on my 200GB drive...

#8 Bomb Bloke

Bomb Bloke

    X-S Transcendental

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,568 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tasmania (AU)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 27 May 2008 - 01:28 AM

If you created a single partition larger then 256gb, then you NEED to use XBPartitioner to format it.

If you split your partitions into segments smaller then that limit, then you don't.

#9 Movestar

Movestar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 28 May 2008 - 05:45 PM

Ok thanks for telling me why this is necessary... didn't know that.

Alright guys I am going to try this out as soon as I find time and will report if I get stuck or if it worked as it should wink.gif

#10 Movestar

Movestar

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 02 June 2008 - 04:53 PM

OK thanks a lot now its working as it should wink.gif

it was really the formatting problem wink.gif

THX for all your help




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users